PDA

View Full Version : Miles Sound Tools - gone forever?


Dark_Ansem
09-18-2013, 11:30 AM
Miles sound tools is the only available tool which works with KOTOR sounds. unfortunately, it seems to have disappeared from the web.
Does someone still have it?

redskutter
11-09-2013, 08:17 AM
Miles sound tools is the only available tool which works with KOTOR sounds. unfortunately, it seems to have disappeared from the web.
Does someone still have it?

Yep. Click here. (http://www.mediafire.com/download/bd8gd82or2qpap6/MT32.exe)

Dark_Ansem
11-09-2013, 08:37 AM
Yep. Click here. (http://www.mediafire.com/download/bd8gd82or2qpap6/MT32.exe)

thanks!

redskutter
11-09-2013, 06:33 PM
No problem

Sith Holocron
02-04-2014, 09:29 AM
I seem to be having trouble using Miles on my Windows 7. I get an error message when attempting to open it.

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e83/scarletguard/Knights%20of%20the%20Old%20Republic/MilesFAIL1_zps8f28ed7e.png (http://s37.photobucket.com/user/scarletguard/media/Knights%20of%20the%20Old%20Republic/MilesFAIL1_zps8f28ed7e.png.html)

I can get this either just trying to play a sound file. I can also get it when try decompress one.

2. Decompression: However, sometimes I don't get that error message. I'll get a request for a codec.

Might anyone have any suggestions?

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e83/scarletguard/Knights%20of%20the%20Old%20Republic/MilesFAIL2_zps1f4cb1d0.png (http://s37.photobucket.com/user/scarletguard/media/Knights%20of%20the%20Old%20Republic/MilesFAIL2_zps1f4cb1d0.png.html)

No codec for a WAV file? Come on Miles. . . what do I need to make you work?

Dark_Ansem
02-04-2014, 02:59 PM
I guess you have already tried renaming WAV files to MP3 extension. in that way, it works for the KOTOR games bgm and produces an uncompressed WAV file.
Why this happens, however, is beyond my understanding.

Sith Holocron
02-04-2014, 03:33 PM
I have used Miles Sound Tools for years and I have never had to change the extension.

This by the way has nothing to do with my question - about how to make Miles Sound Tools stable in an Windows 7 OS environment.

Dark_Ansem
02-04-2014, 03:34 PM
I thought it did, at least for question 2.
about stability, no idea. have you tried compatibility mod and/or the XP emulation mode?

Sith Holocron
02-04-2014, 03:56 PM
OK, an update.

I've previously been trying to use the Win64 version of this but there's another folder that has what I'm guessing is the 32 bit version.

BTW, the Win64 version doesn't have a compatibility mode but the other version does. I still have to do the "change the extension bit" to get it to work but it works.

Is there work around for the codec issue so I skip the extension nonsense? Please reply if anyone does know it.

Thanks for your assistance, Dark Ansem.

By the way, here's the link (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=20968) that I used for a download of Miles Sound Tools.

Dark_Ansem
05-17-2014, 07:21 AM
thanks for the download link.