PDA

View Full Version : Problem with the new video


Indy3
06-12-2001, 09:02 PM
I have 56k and I download it by right clicking and pushing save target and when i watched it it was really bad quality. Why is that? and I have a very good computer and I have the newly updated windows media player.
Does everybody has this problem?
thanks

Boba Rhett
06-12-2001, 09:10 PM
Well of course it looks bad. How do you expect them to cram 5 minutes of video into a 1.3mb file? :rolleyes: Go dl the hi res version if the low res isn't good enough for you.

Indy3
06-12-2001, 09:13 PM
its the exact same quality.I couldnt find a difference between them. My opinion i really couldnt see anything. If anybody saw or has a very good quality one or that is good or he knows how to fix it tell me.
thanks

Indy3
06-12-2001, 09:15 PM
forget it the high res is better. But still i wish it was quicktime and that has quality of trailers or just good.
seya
ps: why didnt they ask abot editing

Boba Rhett
06-12-2001, 09:19 PM
It would be like 25mb if they made it trailer quality. They didn't ask about editing because the interviewer didn't even know the name of the game. lol. :D

Indy3
06-12-2001, 09:25 PM
so what if that was 25 megs and it was trailer quality I would defintitly download it. Is it possible to changle that high-res file to a trailer quality file?
thanks

CaptainRAVE
06-12-2001, 09:25 PM
At least u can download it....i have to stream it!!!!!

Boba Rhett
06-12-2001, 09:38 PM
What do you mean, "so what" most people, "with 56k connections" don't want to spend 3 hours of there time dling something.

How the hell do you propose someone change a poor quality video into a high quality video?
It's like turning toast back into bread. :p

Seryl Cann
06-12-2001, 09:43 PM
This isn't a trailer... this is a video made with a (probably cheap) camera from a computer monitor. It is better quality than I expected.

bsbuckeye21
06-12-2001, 09:47 PM
Originally posted by CaptainRAVE:
<STRONG>At least u can download it....i have to stream it!!!!!</STRONG>

Huh? Just right click and select "Save Target As..." or use a 3rd party program to download it like GetRight.

wardz
06-12-2001, 09:57 PM
Indy, I spent ALL night downloading the Obiwan trailer (for the xbox) because my connection is only 36k. ALL NIGHT! This was fine, especially to get over 4 minutes worth was a bonus. I was expecting like 1 minute max..

wardz

SithTexasDeath
06-12-2001, 11:33 PM
First off all 56kers quit whining and get a faster connection .Becuase when jk2 comes oout your gonna wish you did. All ping brother. Second there should be a low med high. Whats availble to every one is a meduim hence its 3 megs.!!!!It looks pretty good for what they have only done in 3 months!!!!!
Keep up the good work Raven :)

Boba Rhett
06-13-2001, 12:56 AM
Instead of blurting stuff out you have taken the time to realize that maybe some of us can't get a faster connection were we are at.

Aragorn
06-13-2001, 01:04 AM
That's almost funny! In my country I need a fortune just for ISDN, let alone cable connection...

matt--
06-13-2001, 01:20 AM
How much in USD? Over here in Jersey, I get optimum online cable for $30/month.

GonkH8er
06-13-2001, 01:42 AM
pity we dont all live in jersey then, eh?

matt--
06-13-2001, 01:52 AM
I'm sorry. :( :( :(

Aragorn
06-13-2001, 02:13 AM
Somewere between 35-40 USD for ISDN 128...
IMO it's not woth it...

ZeroXcape
06-14-2001, 05:06 AM
Originally posted by Boba Rhett:
<STRONG>It would be like 25mb if they made it trailer quality. They didn't ask about editing because the interviewer didn't even know the name of the game. lol. :D</STRONG>

Hehehehe, that made me start laughing out loud ;)

ed_silvergun
06-14-2001, 12:22 PM
Yeah, you Yanks :) have to realise that over here in the UK we have this sh**ty little company called BT who control our entire telephony service. Apparently it is beyond them to get ADSL or cable services sorted out properly. I can't get ADSL because I live "a few metres too far away from the exchange". :mad: Even if I could, it would cost me about US$140 for installation and then about US$40 per month from then on. And that sort of cash I just can't afford. :(

wardz
06-14-2001, 05:13 PM
ed, ****ty is an understatement.

BTW, you yanks are about to buy TONS of shares in BT cos they are skint.

DON'T! I want them to suffer!


wardz

CaptainRAVE
06-14-2001, 06:22 PM
Youd think being an interviewer youd have to know some background to the game. By forgetting the name it just showed how little thought had gone into the interview. My mum could have probably done better!

Archie
06-19-2001, 04:01 PM
Cable's always a good option in the UK if you happen to live in the right area. And Blueyonder is now only 25 a month...

ed_silvergun
06-19-2001, 04:41 PM
How much is installation and set-up?

StormHammer
06-19-2001, 09:25 PM
Well, Blueyonder doesn't even mention Wales, let alone any particular city of Wales. I've no doubt the same is true of all other providers. I know NTL doesn't offer broadband here either, or BT. They all focus around the largest population areas in England and Scotland, and it sux, IMO.

I don't expect to see broadband in my area for at least another 5 years, and I've no doubt at all that it will be an inferior product compared to what the rest of the UK will have by then. The only real option would be to move, or simply give up on broadband access. :mad:

I guess I'll be playing a lot of SP games in the near future, and continue to rely on PC game mags for large video clips, patches, demos and the like. :(

[ June 19, 2001: Message edited by: StormHammer ]

Darth Simpson
06-20-2001, 02:43 AM
I'm finally getting cable when I return to Norway. I can't wait.

I think I have to pay around $25 a month for it, or $300 a year. That's not too bad.

ed_silvergun
06-20-2001, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by StormHammer:
<STRONG>I know NTL doesn't offer broadband here either, or BT. They all focus around the largest population areas in England and Scotland, and it sux, IMO.</STRONG>

Well, I live in possibly the largest population area in England - the south-east, and I can't get broadband. :mad: