View Full Version : I got cable!

07-29-2001, 07:28 PM
I know nobady cares, but I had posted here several times that I would get cable soon, and they installed it yesterday!!
At last!Now Ill go back to MP
I have an amazing ping on some local servers of about 30ms

07-29-2001, 08:13 PM
In my old school me and my mate tried to get on Mplayer. Cause the School had dual ISDN the ping was 5m/s. We were like WOW. With my T3 i get less usually.

07-29-2001, 09:21 PM
Welcome to the wonderful world of bandwidth... :cool:

07-29-2001, 09:24 PM
Excellent Digl. Sometime you should check pings to North American or maybe Central American servers. Perhaps if the pings are good enough we can hook up for a game.

07-29-2001, 09:35 PM
Nice one DIGL, you HAD to rub it in didn't you?! :)

I have a 36k connection and I'm Proud!

I would like cable, oh well what you've never had you never miss..


07-29-2001, 10:41 PM
im annoied with my suped up 56k. college will be nice, higher speed limit...

07-29-2001, 10:55 PM
what's wrong with rubbing in? :D

I have cable, pentuim 4 1.4 GhZ, surround sound, 17inch flat screen monitor, DVD + CD burner.


sorry guys. I felt like doing that.

07-29-2001, 11:52 PM
*Stabs Jackal several times ans steals his system*

Yeah, that'll teach you! :rolleyes:

07-30-2001, 12:00 AM
i feel left out...
i only download at 250 kb/s...
and my Mhz is only 800(something)...
oh well...ill be making my own computer around christmas time... :D
digl, what games do you play?

07-30-2001, 12:20 AM
The only problem I have now is my poor HD :)
About a year or more ago I played a LOT JK, and also some Q2, but I got bored of it because of lag, and played mainly SP and UT with bots

Now I guess Ill start playing some UT, Rune, maybe CS, I dont know, Ill start trying MP in all the games I havent because of the terrible connection I had before

Ill check my ping with some North American servers, maybe I could even play in the next OWK..duh...JKII.net? championship?. I guess I just had a good idea :)

07-30-2001, 01:13 AM
JKII.net championship? Fun.

I have an awesome rig but with 56k. Pretty unfortunate. Doubtful I'll get broadband anytime soon. I will be really pissed if SWG comes out and I don't have it. I doubt that game will be very good with 56k.

07-30-2001, 05:01 PM
Im not sure if the ping I have now will be good enough to play Galaxies, and I doubt there will be a server anywhere near here

People with broadband here, do you recommend me any of those accelerators? Not only for downloads, but for navigation acceleration
They were useless with my 56k, but some people have told me that they really improve their cable connections

07-30-2001, 11:20 PM
I've got beer, and it works great!

07-31-2001, 01:58 AM
i had beer, but, i drank it all, damn kegs dissapear in two hours these days. sheesh...

07-31-2001, 06:28 PM
When the Pentium 4 2Ghz comes out in the UK im gonna get one :). With my Geforce 3, 5 speaker surround sound, 21" montior that should run JK2 nicely.

Ok.....a funny thing someone said once.....(not me by the way)....."2 speakers can produce surround sound"....how the hell is that possible??

07-31-2001, 06:30 PM
you going to custom build or go retail?

08-01-2001, 02:26 AM
its possible becaue highs travel much easier, you dont need the wattage to hear a tweeter at 1/4 mile, as you do a sub. you know lows have a taller wave...oh,were you kidding?