PDA

View Full Version : Multiplayer woes on XP


Toa Tahu
01-05-2002, 12:55 AM
I can't find my IP on Windows,and you know what that means...i can't go multiplayer.(The wise) Yoda doesn't have the answer to my question,that is:how do I find my IP on Win XP?
Can anyone help me,digl?Slowbie_One?Super Moderators?

OnlyOneCanoli
01-05-2002, 01:46 AM
I never bothered looking for it in Win2k. I assume that, like Win2k, XP doesn't have 'winipcfg'. What I do is just log onto my AIM account, right click in the text box when I message someone, go to insert, and select IP address. But if you don't have AIM, I don't know. But there has to be a way.

And anyway, you can still join mp games, right?

Millions o' Monkeys
01-05-2002, 02:11 AM
yes ....but shall i suggest to get rid of xp right away and move to 2k or back to 98

Seryl Cann
01-05-2002, 02:27 AM
In Windows 2k it is 'ipconfig'. I don't know if it's the same in XP though.

OnlyOneCanoli
01-05-2002, 02:46 AM
Interesting. I put 'ipconfig' in the run box, and a small black box (I'm assuming the needed info is in there) popped up on the screen for about a quarter of a second and then dissapeared.

Damn these computers. Damn them all!

Seryl Cann
01-05-2002, 05:38 AM
It's a command line program. When you start it up it will start the command line, but when the program ends (which is right after it put the information on the screen) it shuts down the command line.
Try running 'cmd' (don't know if that works in XP) and then type 'ipconfig'

KordKelly
01-05-2002, 10:54 AM
yes it does, Seryl.

One hint, the concepts and navigation of XP is almost identical to 2000. It even tells you that in the practice exams for the MCP(Microsoft Certified Professional) exam for XP.

Just thought you'd like to know...
:max:

StarScrap
01-05-2002, 11:18 AM
I may be mistaken, but don't most multiplayer games tell you your IP when you host an IP game? I usually use the ingame servers or zone.com, so I don't know for sure, but in my experience that has always been the case.

bsbuckeye21
01-05-2002, 11:41 AM
If you're cursed like me and have to dial up, just right click on the 2 computers icon in the system tray, select status, click the details tab and it'll be at the bottom of the list.

OnlyOneCanoli
01-05-2002, 04:00 PM
Thanks for the tip. It works.

digl
01-05-2002, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by Toa Tahu
I can't find my IP on Windows,and you know what that means...i can't go multiplayer.(The wise) Yoda doesn't have the answer to my question,that is:how do I find my IP on Win XP?
Can anyone help me,digl?Slowbie_One?Super Moderators?
I could have helped you, but I was off all day :D
like someone said
run (Windows key+ R to do it quickly ;)), then type cmd, and type ipconfig
note that you can copy it from there! (like Linux :D)
use the 2nd mouse button for that

Toa Tahu
01-06-2002, 07:55 AM
First,I'd like to thank all of you for replying,and most important of all,thanks,for answering my questions!Nowwe shall all set a rendezvous,and we meet there!C'ya!