PDA

View Full Version : Post you desktop!


matt--
01-19-2002, 08:16 PM
Well, it's been awhile since a "post your desktop" thread, so here we go! What's a forum without one of these anyway?

http://mfata.netfirms.com/images/desktop.jpg

The ad screws it up, so to view it better, go here:
http://mfata.netfirms.com/images/desktop.jpg

GonkH8er
01-19-2002, 10:10 PM
http://users.bigpond.net.au/gonk/desktop1.jpg

p4 1.9 512ram

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gonk/desktop2.jpg

p2 350 192ram

Wacky_Baccy
01-19-2002, 10:26 PM
[highly suspicious look]

Gonk, what's that "Wet Sponge" thing that you've got minimised on your taskbar in the top pic??? :eek: ;) :D :p

[highly suspicious look will continue until explanaton is offered] :D

GonkH8er
01-19-2002, 11:08 PM
Wet Sponge is a good friend of mine. I was engaged in an msn chat with him when I took the screenshot. He's the older brother of a forum goer here- Millions of Monkeys. We were having a discussion about a girl I'm meeting on Tuesday to see a movie. We were also discussing SOF2 and how he doesn't want them wasting time on JKii, when they could be perfecting SOF2.

Hows that? Be sus no more, my friend. Be sus no more :)

Wacky_Baccy
01-19-2002, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by GonkH8er
Hows that? Be sus no more, my friend. Be sus no more :)

'Kidokey :) That Porsche is damn nice, BTW. Do you own it?

KordKelly
01-19-2002, 11:48 PM
http://home.earthlink.net/~lfhensley/_images/desktop.JPG

:max:

Hello fellow Xp users;)

GonkH8er
01-20-2002, 12:08 AM
Me? I wish I owned a carerra gt :D


ahhhhh good ol scott. Brings back memories of my days of obsession with Quantum leap

Obi Kwan
01-20-2002, 12:19 AM
http://people.ne.mediaone.net/orangroove/screenhunter.jpg

The Seeker
01-20-2002, 12:25 AM
Gonk, where did you get that first planet pic. That's awsome.

StephenG
01-20-2002, 12:35 AM
Obi Kwan , i have the same desktop as u, looks as if we both have good taste eh

Wacky_Baccy
01-20-2002, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by StephenG
Obi Kwan , i have the same desktop as u, looks as if we both have good taste eh

Ditto that :) (minus the XP stuff)

Obi Kwan
01-20-2002, 01:02 AM
I used to have the thrid wallpaper offerd by LEC but changed it since the banner up top uses it and i figured i saw it enough as it is :)

rolsen
01-20-2002, 02:16 AM
Here's mine...

http://home.centurytel.net/viper004/desktop.jpg

Sounds Risky
01-23-2002, 09:54 PM
Clickie (http://www.pe.net/~shoemake/matt/images/desktop.jpg) .

GonkH8er
01-24-2002, 02:00 AM
*cough cough gehenna cough obsessed cough*

Sounds Risky
01-24-2002, 02:49 AM
What can I say, I think the game is great! I'll eventually replace it with something else though . . .

Millions o' Monkeys
01-24-2002, 04:12 AM
no i will not post my desktop...becasue frankly its embarrasing to own windows 98

oh and gehenna what may that penguin.jpg be ???? seems a tad out of place

Boba Rhett
01-24-2002, 04:16 AM
Why are you embarrassed about it?

Vagabond
01-24-2002, 07:04 AM
Jeez, Gehenna, who needs a Start menu when you're just going to dump a shortcut to every possible thing on your desktop?

GonkH8er
01-24-2002, 07:47 AM
if you think thats bad, u should see my OLD desktop :)

Sounds Risky
01-24-2002, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by Millions o' Monkeys
no i will not post my desktop...becasue frankly its embarrasing to own windows 98

oh and gehenna what may that penguin.jpg be ???? seems a tad out of place

I'm running Windows 98 . . .

As for the penguin, someone gave me a picture of a cute as hell penguin, the picture was so damn cute in fact I redrew it. And that is the file you see on my desktop.

http://www.pe.net/~shoemake/matt/images/penguin.jpg

Originally posted by Vagabond
Jeez, Gehenna, who needs a Start menu when you're just going to dump a shortcut to every possible thing on your desktop?

Hehe, actually those are just a bunch of files I haven't found a place for yet (I already have folders called stuff and stuff 2).

Obi Kwan
01-24-2002, 04:21 PM
Geez Gehenna; if my mom ever saw my desktop looking like that; she'd ground me for a week ;)

Agen
01-24-2002, 05:44 PM
If i had deent webspace nowadays i'd post but i lsot access to my old site :( (www.jedi-trooopers.co.uk)

Outlaw_Torn
01-24-2002, 07:21 PM
AHHHHH!!!!!

Angelfire terminated my site!!!!!!

And it didn't infringe any rules!!!!!!

:mad:

Outlaw_Torn
01-24-2002, 07:23 PM
wait
http://www.angelfire.com/scifi2/outlawed/JK2desktop.jpg

TheJackal
01-24-2002, 08:56 PM
Here is MY desktop (click on the link below. it's the attachement)
Gotta love my digital camera. BTW, my desktop changes all the time. However I allways make my own. I never download any.


:manny: :max: (fav LEC characters :D)

l
l
l
\/

GUNNER
01-24-2002, 09:33 PM
Here is a dumb question Jackal. What is that?:confused:

acdcfanbill
01-24-2002, 09:54 PM
fire:D

GUNNER
01-24-2002, 10:20 PM
Wow acdcfanbill, I'm not sure I could of figured out that one myself.:rolleyes:

KordKelly
01-24-2002, 11:01 PM
Nice desktop Jackal, but...ummmmm...

I thought flames weren't allowed here;)

:max:

Toa Tahu
01-25-2002, 04:14 AM
How do I post my desktop?
Heh,I have to admit that you guys have really BIG desktops...

acdcfanbill
01-25-2002, 12:47 PM
well, you know GUNNER, there are no stupid questions, only stupid people who answer stupidly...:D

Zx2
01-25-2002, 09:49 PM
i just have the jk2 logo from lucasarts site

btw, gonkh8er, in ur avatar pic:
why do u hate garbage cans?
gonks have 2 legs, ur avatar only has a stand..... and appears to be some sort of garbage bin

;)

GonkH8er
01-25-2002, 10:18 PM
Fine! I'll change it....

Roger
01-26-2002, 04:11 PM
Boring, big and a shameless plug :cool:
http://www.rogerkemp.net/images/desktop.jpg

GonkH8er
01-26-2002, 09:08 PM
Hahahahaha subliminal advertising eh Rog?

Roger
01-26-2002, 11:42 PM
Yup, subliminable, happy weekend y'all!

Off to the neighborhood bar...

Darth Bjorn
01-27-2002, 01:27 AM
Here's a link (http://home.earthlink.net/~iambiglou/Desktop.jpg) to mine.

Roger
01-30-2002, 09:47 AM
Ha,

I host that image on my own server, so it shouldn't make the board slow, maybe this page, but not the whole board...

Or am I wrong?

Imp Destroyer
02-02-2002, 08:03 AM
how do you post a desktop i'd like to know

GonkH8er
02-03-2002, 02:05 AM
Just upload a screenshot of your desktop to your own personal web space, then post the picture with the image ubb tags or a link to the picture

Broode
02-03-2002, 07:26 AM
http://broode.50megs.com/desktop.jpg

Unlike you inconsiderate bastards, i compressed mine. :p

and Jackal, if you made that, let me be the first to say YOU AM TEH WIN!!!!11

;)

Wacky_Baccy
02-03-2002, 11:15 AM
Originally posted by Broode
Unlike you inconsiderate bastards, i compressed mine. :p

How the hell did he get that past the auto-censoring?? (I wanna know!!! ;))
I thought for sure that one usually got censored???? :confused:

Does it not censor posts with pics or something??

BTW - cute desktop, Broode :)

I reckon someone forgot to re-enable it after the server move... hehe... ;)

OnlyOneCanoli
02-03-2002, 11:50 AM
http://onlyonecanoli.50megs.com/2-3.jpg

bastards

edit: I think bastards has been taken off the censored list, hehe.

xwing guy
02-03-2002, 02:11 PM
How do yall keep your desktops sp clean? Over half of mine is cluttered with shortcuts.

TheJackal
02-03-2002, 04:52 PM
I'm the type of guy who organises everything except my room. Wierd. I hate having a clutered desktop but dont mind having a messy floor. :p

bsbuckeye21
02-03-2002, 05:04 PM
Holy crap, Cannoli! What did you Ms.-Cleo-color-version say about you?!

:p

TheJackal
02-03-2002, 05:38 PM
The famous scam artist said I'd get flithy rich by selling cheap goods to poor people... just like Wallmart :p

j/k

OnlyOneCanoli
02-03-2002, 07:20 PM
Hehe, I like it as boring as possible. ;)

Darth Bjorn
02-04-2002, 03:05 AM
Originally posted by Broode
Unlike you inconsiderate bastards, i compressed mine. :p

and Jackal, if you made that, let me be the first to say YOU AM TEH WIN!!!!11

;)

Well I not only compressed mine. But I also resized it down to 800x600, and posted it as a link. So I'm better than you! :p ;) j/k

thrEEpaGe
02-04-2002, 10:52 AM
i need to upgrade to xp blah...bah bah bah...that means copying files onto cd..bah bah bah...heh...oh well burning at 24x aint that bad....heh..THEN ill post my hella 1337 d35k70p

rolsen
02-04-2002, 12:00 PM
Originally posted by Darth Bjorn


Well I not only compressed mine. But I also resized it down to 800x600, and posted it as a link. So I'm better than you! :p ;) j/k

Heh.... I don't care if people post HUGE files directly into the forum. I'm on an OC48 connection and have plenty of bandwidth. :D

Darth Bjorn
02-04-2002, 12:46 PM
Alrighty, then. :D If nobody else cares, then neither do I. Post'em big! And post'em hard!! :D Actually, it don't make no nevermind to me, either. My cable handles it fine. :)

Silenthunter
02-04-2002, 03:30 PM
Here's mine. (I made that wallpaper :D)

http://www.webspawner.com/users/silenthuntersstuff/mydesktop.JPG

TheJackal
02-04-2002, 05:34 PM
wow


a lot of



star wars stuff there




interresting.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I dont know about anybody else here but I've never placed ANYTHING that is movie related, especially StarWars. I rather have original stuff. Simple icons. Custom wallpaper I make most of the time. etc. But no star wars stuff. Why? I dont really have a lot of control to the poses and etc. I mean if I could get a private segment with the actors and tell them what to do I'd make GREAT wallpapers. But before and after I'll need to do a one on one with Natalie Portman... well maybe more then twice. :p

darthfergie
02-04-2002, 05:54 PM
Well...this one is temporary...but still...

Uber_Saber
02-05-2002, 04:19 PM
Er, how do you post your desktop?

Uber_Saber
02-05-2002, 04:22 PM
*Smacks self*

You forgot to check the second page, you idiot!

DrIfTeR
02-05-2002, 05:54 PM
i cant post mine cause i dont have web space and am too lazy to get a free one,but mine has the killer bean!

darthfergie
02-05-2002, 09:03 PM
www.webspawner.com has leechable webspace (unlike Geocities)

Wacky_Baccy
02-05-2002, 10:23 PM
My (very tidy ;)) desktop -

http://www.webspawner.com/users/wackybaccy/my%20jk2%20desktop.jpg

Yes, I made (well, edited) it myself - with Paint, no less! ...or should I say more... ;)

Graphicsgod
02-06-2002, 05:37 PM
Hope I'm not too late.....


Click Here (http://www.angelfire.com/pr/graphicsgod2/ggods_bg.html)


Put this background together about a month ago, but never finished it. I just found this post and decided to dust it off and finish the image (before I had just the windowsXP background). It's not perfect, but I was in a hurry to post ;).

So it's my background for today, might change it tomarrow :D.

Sounds Risky
02-06-2002, 06:47 PM
Here's my updated desktop, it's been cleaned and I finally got around to making a new wallpaper.

Clickie (http://www.pe.net/~shoemake/matt/images/desktop.jpg).

Graphicsgod
02-06-2002, 07:00 PM
Lol, nice background OCH.




PS: Have you seen the "Halo warthog jump" video? If not look for my OT post.

BigWhoop
02-07-2002, 01:57 PM
http://www.powered-by-linux.de/img/Linux-Desktops/KDE-Desktop-02.png

This is my desktop (no, it is not a fuc*ing windows system :D). It is Linux, running a KDE-Desktop. A veeeery nice desktop, very comfortable, totaly themeable and so on. I love it.

BigWhoop
PS: Check this out to: http://www.powered-by-linux.de/tmp/ScummVM-Monkey2.png
This pictures shows a Linux system on my notebook, while I'm playing a LucasFilm classic game... :)

matt--
02-07-2002, 02:14 PM
What distro is that?

Yes I did post a windows desktop, but I'm also sitting next to a slackware box. I'd post a background pic, but I installed it GUI-less :nut:
:joy:

BigWhoop
02-07-2002, 03:41 PM
I am using Red Hat 7.2 on all my systems now - rock solid. Many of my friends are using Red Hat too after they saw how sweet it is. Good bye Windows! :)

BigWhoop

Sturmgewehr
02-26-2002, 01:26 AM
Mine

http://tsuba.codevault.org/masa/uberdesktop.jpg

The Truthful Liar
02-26-2002, 02:23 AM
Here's Mine :D

http://killerfxp.com/images/mydesktop.jpg

Cheers ;)

Sounds Risky
02-26-2002, 09:44 PM
Updated, again.

Clickie (http://www.pe.net/~shoemake/matt/images/desktop.jpg).

Kylilin
02-27-2002, 12:33 AM
well since the Print Screen button seems not to be working, 'll just post the picture I have on my desktop currently...you may have to enter this URL in your browser manually for it to work

http://kylilin.tripod.com/Art5836.jpg

error
03-02-2002, 07:41 AM
Hehe, you guys on Angelfire, Tripod, or Geocities gotta remember to change the pictures extension to a *.txt name.

http://www.geocities.com/damnmeat666/errordesktop.txt

OnlyOneCanoli
03-02-2002, 08:30 AM
Here's my latest. A bit more interesting than the last.

http://onlyonecanoli.50megs.com/march2.jpg

TheJackal
03-02-2002, 10:15 AM
Here's my new desktop and my new avatar.

http://www.jediknightii.net/_jackal/jackals_desktop copy.jpg

rolsen
03-02-2002, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by TheJackal
Here's my new desktop and my new avatar.

Looking good!

Maynard
03-04-2002, 04:27 PM
Desktop (http://www.angelfire.com/or2/pioneerroofers/desktop.html)

Athlon 950,(OC'D to 1.04ghz), 256mb RAM, GeForce 256 (OC'D 140mhz core, 351mhz mem freq)

OnlyOneCanoli
03-04-2002, 05:09 PM
TOOL!

Maynard
03-04-2002, 05:16 PM
YES! Fellow fanatic??? :thumbsup:

StormHammer
03-04-2002, 07:58 PM
Here's my (cluttered) desktop...

http://www.storm.hammer.btinternet.co.uk/SHDesk.jpg

I've been a bit busy playing a few games. :D

OnlyOneCanoli
03-04-2002, 08:43 PM
Uhh, wow. You could say that. ;)

darthfergie
03-04-2002, 08:56 PM
And I thought I had a cluttered desktop:eek:
Gee...Lots of classic games in there too...I don't think DF original will work on my comp now. Or if it does then it's a hassle because DOS games can occasionally screw up windows REALLY well...

StormHammer
03-04-2002, 09:51 PM
It probably depends on your OS. I'm running Win98SE, and I had no problems getting DF to run at all. The sound might glitch now and again, but it's a small price to pay...

There are actually a few missing that just wouldn't run very well...

1. Lands Of Lore 1 - won't run at all. Pity, I enjoyed that game.
2. Lands Of Lore 2 - runs, but I can't be bothered with it at the moment.
3. MS Golf - lost the disk. :D
4. Klingon Honour Guard - killed my system before, so I gave it to a friend. (cruel, aren't I? :D )
5. Tomb Raider - hated the controls, so I gave it to my niece...
6. Tomb Raider II - gave it to a friend
7. Daggerfall - gave it to a friend
8. Duke Nukem 3D - corrupted disks, dammit! :mad:
9. Monkey Island II - lost a disk - and the code breaker - but I doubt it would have worked anyway... :(
10. Eye of The Beholder III - is too stupid to realise there is plenty of memory available - but it was the worst of the series, so I'm not worried about reinstalling it anyway. :p
11. Ultima Underworld II - had a problem last time I tried to install it...maybe one of the floppy disks is corrupt. :(
12. Betrayal at Krondor also has issues at the moment, but I had it running before, so I probably need to tweak the DOS session settings again...
13. Haven't tried reinstalling Malice for Quake yet...
14. Daikatana - hmmmm...maybe it should RIP...

Good job I've got a 40Gb drive... :D

Especially with all the titles I want to add this year... :eek:

Kurgan
03-05-2002, 09:27 AM
So much for compressing images... 'bout time though guys...

WinXP = eViL!!!!!!

Rogue15
03-05-2002, 09:56 AM
I'll put mine up in a few weeks...has something to do with a project I'm working on...

rolsen
03-17-2002, 06:30 PM
Well, I thought I'd drag up this old thread in order to display my new desktop. Click here to see the full image:

http://home.centurytel.net/viper004/newdesktop.jpg

http://home.centurytel.net/viper004/newdesktopsml.jpg

[sico]
03-17-2002, 07:58 PM
http://members.optushome.com.au/phillj11/Desktop.jpg

G0SP0DAR
03-17-2002, 10:25 PM
I took a classic theme and did a bit of tweaking. First off, I grabbed the 1600*1200 logo wallpaper, and then painstakingly used paint.exe to edit out that ugly URL. Then I set it as my desktop in Windows XP, which automatically stretched the image to 2048*1536. I'm running 2048*1536 thanks to XP's option to ignore monitor limitations. On an 18" display, this kicks more @$$ than you could possibly imagine.

G0SP0DAR has attached the following image:
http://www.geocities.com/g0sp0dar/desktop.jpg
(http://www.geocities.com/g0sp0dar/desktop.jpg)

Lightsaberboy
02-10-2003, 11:03 PM
http://lightsaberboy.freewebspace.com/desktop2.JPG