PDA

View Full Version : Computer question


The Seeker
01-31-2002, 01:41 PM
I have had my computer for two years, and have never given it a thorough cleaning. Best Buy says they would charge $60 to clean my entire system printer, monitor, computer, everything, so I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to get all the dust out of my system, and just clean it up all around, and save me $60.

Thanks.

OnlyOneCanoli
01-31-2002, 01:48 PM
I use a normal cloth for dusting off all the external parts.

As for the inside, I use compressed air to blow the dust out. You can probably buy a can for about $3 at your local hardware store. That's just the way I do it, I'm sure there are better and more effective ways out there.

Darth Simpson
01-31-2002, 03:19 PM
Compressed air should probably work. Just open the case, and make sure the power cable is unplugged. Don't use anything wet, or apply too much pressure on any of the parts, and you should be all fine.

You might have to take out a few of the expansion cards, like your video / sound card to clean between them, but that's a rather simple job, and it won't require you to re-install any drivers or anything if you insert them into the same slot they were before.

$60 is far too much for such a simple job.

The Seeker
01-31-2002, 04:11 PM
I thought compressed air might do the trick. Thanks for the confirmation.

Darth_Lando
01-31-2002, 04:41 PM
DO NOT GET COMPRESSED AIR!

Get a compressed gas used for specifically cleaning electronics.

Compressed air can condensate on electrical components and as you no water and electricity isn't the computer geeks favorite combo.

I wouldn't pay $60 for Best Buy to do it though. You can do it your self for $5 to $10 max.

Use that $55 you saved something really important like an upgrade. :D

Wacky_Baccy
01-31-2002, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by JediKnight_114
Best Buy says they would charge $60 to clean my entire system printer, monitor, computer, everything....

If, by that, you/they mean the interior of of the monitor, then that's where the cost will be from -

DO NOT OPEN YOUR MONITOR CASE UNDER ANY CIRMUMSTANCES - EVEN IF IT IS UNPLUGGED!

There are very high voltages involved, and unless you are a qualified engineer in that area (which I doubt, as you've mentioned that you're only 18-ish) do not even think about it!!!

[/important warning]

Sorry if you knew that already :)

The rest of it you could do, no trouble :)

bsbuckeye21
01-31-2002, 05:23 PM
Originally posted by Darth Simpson
Just open the case, and make sure the power cable is unplugged. Don't use anything wet, or apply too much pressure on any of the parts, and you should be all fine.

Dunno for sure, but I've heard that you should leave your box plugged in to keep it grounded.

I haven't had any problems with the compressed air. Just be sure that you keep the nozzle level and don't tilt it, or else you will get the darn cold liquid in there!

The Seeker
01-31-2002, 05:37 PM
Originally posted by Darth_Lando
DO NOT GET COMPRESSED AIR!

Get a compressed gas used for specifically cleaning electronics.

Compressed air can condensate on electrical components and as you no water and electricity isn't the computer geeks favorite combo.

I wouldn't pay $60 for Best Buy to do it though. You can do it your self for $5 to $10 max.

Use that $55 you saved something really important like an upgrade. :D

So, where would I get this compressed gas for specifically cleaning electronics?

Wacky_Baccy
01-31-2002, 05:55 PM
Originally posted by bsbuckeye21
Dunno for sure, but I've heard that you should leave your box plugged in to keep it grounded.

Yes, that's right, and you must also make sure that you and the chassis are equalised (no P.D. - therefore no spark to kill components :)) by either always being in contact with some part of the chassis (which should be earthed) when handling components, or by using a wriststrap (I prefer the non-wrist-strap approach, but it's up to you :))

And also, if you have a pet, make sure it cannot get in to the room where you are working on your PC - their fur can be loaded with static... :lightning

I couldn't tell you where to get the compressed gas from in th US, because I don't know the names of the relevant stores :( ...I'm sure that someone will be able to tell you, though :)

OnlyOneCanoli
01-31-2002, 08:07 PM
True about the compressed air. You have to be careful. I get mine at BJ's (it's a superstore with wholesale items, similar to Costco or Sam's).

GUNNER
01-31-2002, 08:21 PM
what about vacuming out some of the dust bunnies? I vacuumed out my parents case with out any problems. Just dont jab the nozzle inbetween any cards.

Now a good way to keep from haveing dust get in your case would be to get an addtronics case.. They have intake filters on them. I just pull my front cover and clean the filter.

You can also make your own filter.. Just cut up some panty house and put it either behind or in front of your intake fan, just make sure if it's in front that it can't get sucked into the blades.:D

gamebooger
01-31-2002, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by GUNNER
what about vacuming out some of the dust bunnies
I've done that but since it won't get all the dust then you could save time just by using the compressed air/gas.

GUNNER
01-31-2002, 08:35 PM
I'll go along with that. :)

KordKelly
01-31-2002, 09:16 PM
Now, as I remember from my A+ classes...



Compressed air is fine, as long as:

A) You first "squirt" the can in the air, away from the case. This expells all moisture from the can.

B) you hold the can level and use short, controlled bursts.

NEVER, and I mean N-E-V-E-R vacuum out the inside of the case. Vacuums release an electro-static discharge(ESD) that can fry your processor and all other components.

It is a good idea to leave the computer plugged in, but turn the power switch OFF(the black toggle switch on the back of your case) Today's ATX boards, especially those who support Advanced Power Management(APM) always have power(5VDC) running through them when power is connected to the computer. Don't believe me?

A)Open your case(with the computer powered down) and look at the little red light on your motherboard.

B)See it glowing red? Light on: Power there. Don't try to install or the card'll fry.

Now, there is no better ground than your electrical outlet, but power on is baaaaaaad.

Make sure you're well grounded whenever you touch anything inside your case. Remember, static electricity is poison to computer parts.
It only takes a ESD of 30V to fry a component, but you and I can't feel anything less than 3,000 volts.
As an example: ever "zap" someone after you've shuffled your feet across a carpet? That charge averages from 15,000-25,000V!!!


(source: "All-in-One A+ Certification" 3rd. Edition, By Michael Meyers)


Bottom line: Be careful and use some common sense and you'll be fine;)

:max:

The Seeker
01-31-2002, 09:25 PM
Thanks to all. I think that I can handle this stuff now. It seems that everytime that I think I'll have to pay Best Buy to do something that I though would be complicated, I find out that it really isn't at all. So, thanks again.

The Seeker
01-31-2002, 09:30 PM
One more question. My printer for the past two ink cartriges have been printing really faintly and sketchy. It is only with my black cartrige, and I have followed all the instructions for cleaning and aligning them to straighten it out, but nothing works. Anyone know what the problem could be, and how I could fix it. Would just cleaning the printer fix it, and if so, do I clean that the same way as the computer?

KordKelly
01-31-2002, 09:45 PM
what type of printer is it?

Bartolo_JCS
01-31-2002, 10:00 PM
if you do open it use one hand to clean it so in case it decides to shock you it doesn't go through your heart...

hey, that's reality :jawa

The Seeker
01-31-2002, 10:36 PM
It's a Compaq IJ750

acdcfanbill
02-01-2002, 12:27 AM
i like to put my tounge on capacitors... :explode:

Millions o' Monkeys
02-01-2002, 04:26 AM
Originally posted by JediKnight_114
It's a Compaq IJ750


ok well d oyou know if the printer head is in the printer or part of the cartridge when you buy it....if its part of the cartridge. then you should simply buy a new cartridge.

however if the print head is inside the printer you may have to get it fixed by a professional.

But about your first question, if you want to clean everything thouroghly then theres always the option of taking everything out then cleaning all the parts seperately with a small brush or something like that