PDA

View Full Version : Ghost Recon


Kylilin
02-02-2002, 12:36 PM
does anyone here play Ghost Recon?

Darth Simpson
02-02-2002, 01:38 PM
I've only tried the demo, which ran incredibly slow on my system, around 15 fps. And that's on a 1.33Ghz / GeForce 3 PC. I found it pretty strange.

I'm not picking up the full version before I'm certain it will run satisfactory.

SL_Ki-Adi-Mundi
02-02-2002, 01:57 PM
From my experiance, a lot of demos run like that. So it wasn't just you Darth. The actual game would probably run just fine on your comp.

Never played the game or demo myself. :p

OnlyOneCanoli
02-02-2002, 02:49 PM
Simpson, same here. But if you turn the shadows down to the level just above no shadows, it should run okay.

I got the full version for my birthday two months ago. But I also got RTCW and some other games that I enjoyed playing, so I still haven't gotten around to playing it. And it looks like MoH, DAoC, and JKII will keep me occupied for a while too.

SL_Ki-Adi-Mundi
02-02-2002, 04:15 PM
Ewww... you've got Dark Ages of Camelot? :barf: *shudders*

Millions o' Monkeys
02-02-2002, 05:11 PM
Originally posted by SL_Ki-Adi-Mundi
Ewww... you've got Dark Ages of Camelot ? :barf: *shudders*

dont swaer in my presence :)

OnlyOneCanoli
02-02-2002, 09:11 PM
Why, you didn't like it? I think it's a great game.

darthfergie
02-02-2002, 10:24 PM
GHOST RECON ROCKS!!!

I love the game. Multiplay is awesome and so is Single Play. The only thing that needs to be done(and fast) is the release of a Mod Utility for the game. It needs new skins, options, etc. TO make it one of the greats...

(BTW, Ghost Recon was voted PCGamer Game of The Year)

Darth Simpson
02-03-2002, 05:01 AM
Thanks for the info guys, I think some of my friends has Ghost Recon. Guess I'll try that on my PC, and if it runs at an acceptable speed, I'll buy it.

Broode
02-03-2002, 07:02 AM
Its a great game, I got it for christmas, but its INCREDIBLY buggy. I can't pass the 6th level because my computer keeps restarting 5 mins into the game.

oh and darthfergie, there is already an option for mods, and theres already a few out. At the main menu, go into options, then click mods. If you have any they can be activated and deactivated with relative ease here.

Kylilin
02-03-2002, 09:56 AM
if you are looking for mods, you should checkout this site:
http://extrememodz.tripod.com

xwing guy
02-03-2002, 01:55 PM
Do the mods work with the demo? The thing I don't like about GR is it's not like SOF or Quake, you can't go around killing stuff all the time, instead you have to sneak around and stuff, but I got a friend who has it and he says there's more actual fighting later on in the game and less sneaking around.

darthfergie
02-03-2002, 02:35 PM
Originally posted by Broode
Its a great game, I got it for christmas, but its INCREDIBLY buggy. I can't pass the 6th level because my computer keeps restarting 5 mins into the game.

oh and darthfergie, there is already an option for mods, and theres already a few out. At the main menu, go into options, then click mods. If you have any they can be activated and deactivated with relative ease here.

I was talking about an easy to use mod maker like those that are included with Quake III and those made for Half-Life. The ones that have been made now probably were done useing their own editor, but with an editor included it would open up the modding community at least 20 fold...

WD_ToRMeNt
02-03-2002, 07:54 PM
I have Ghost Recon and I play it online with a few other WDs. I must say that it does rock. I've been wanting a realistic infantry sim for a while and GR is just that.

Lt. Durden
02-06-2002, 02:09 PM
Yeah! Ghost Recon is superb! Get the gunslingers realism mod, it's insane! www.sealz.com or something. Anyways, I have a pIII 500 w/640 ram and a Geforce 3. It runs very playable at 1280X1024, full details. Awesome game. Does need more modability though.