PDA

View Full Version : Destructible Structures


SaberPro
02-23-2002, 01:28 AM
I was wondering, can you destroy ALL the buildings you see? I mean from destroying a small pole, or cutting through a steel door (like in Episode I) to an AT-AT or a TIE Fighter....? Will the structure malfunction/move out of place or fall and will it affect the gameplay and the storyline? Can you destroy structures with your lightsaber throw?! Any ideas?

Lord Zen
02-23-2002, 01:45 AM
im hoping it would be like that..come across a door but u need a key and u cant find it any where cut ur way through. that would make the game a whole lot betta if it is gonna be like that. espescally if some1 is hiding in a mp game in and room and isnt coming out just cut ur way in...:drool:

Pogwaffle
02-23-2002, 01:50 AM
Destructable doors (and things like that) will probably be in mp. But I dont think is will in sp, it would make it too easy and sorta stuffs the purpose of puzzles.

JackTheGaffer
02-23-2002, 01:53 AM
I just want to cut off a piece of a AT-ST leg so it will fall over.

SaberPro
02-23-2002, 01:59 AM
Remember in The Empire Strikes Back? Luke threw his lightsaber up an AT-AT and the AT-AT exploded and somehow Luke recovered his lightsaber....poor :atat:

Cyclone
02-23-2002, 02:01 AM
A mapper can make certain things destructable (like how Kyle cuts into a wall in the UK trailer), but over all the answer is NO. Quake 3 engine maps are not made of destructable brushes. So you won't be able to tear up the environment. You may be able to scorch it up a bit though.

Cyclone

Brick
02-23-2002, 02:02 AM
Watch that scene again, SaberPro. Luke used his lightsaber to cut open part of the AT-AT and then he threw an explosive inside.

SaberPro
02-23-2002, 02:12 AM
Originally posted by Brick
Watch that scene again, SaberPro. Luke used his lightsaber to cut open part of the AT-AT and then he threw an explosive inside.

*Rewind*
*Play*
"Hmm...hmm...."
*Loop x15*

CaptainRAVE
02-23-2002, 05:16 AM
Originally posted by Pogwaffle
Destructable doors (and things like that) will probably be in mp. But I dont think is will in sp, it would make it too easy and sorta stuffs the purpose of puzzles.

Exactly. If there was a maze then you could just cut your own path......but in multiplayer it might be possible :D

X-Vector
02-23-2002, 07:35 AM
There is no GeoMod engine in JO, (semi-)random destruction won't be possible and locked doors will still be nuclear blast resistant locked doors if Kyle doesn't carry the appropriate key/keycard/fake fingerprint tissue/whatever.

I wouldn't go and expect JO to be all that much interactive in general, you might get disappointed since environmental interactivity doesn't seem to have been high up on Raven's priority agenda and there's only so much you can focus on in roughly 14 months of development.
I'm pretty sure the time and attention has been spent elsewhere (lightsaber combat, level design, storyline).

CaptainRAVE
02-23-2002, 07:44 AM
I dont think its an important feature anyway. There will be some things to cut down though....maybe a pole to get across a gap or something, but nothing more :(

T-Dogg
02-23-2002, 09:50 AM
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I'm all for what he said.

Agen
02-23-2002, 10:15 AM
You suck up :D

i have a good idea for the saber cutting, you're on the other side of a cliff and trying to get over to the other side, they copuld make you low on force mana or put it near the beginning of the game, you could chop off an approaching AT-ST's leg and he topples over and then you get to walk over and kill them :D
Oh yeh and there's a possibility that the AT-ST jsut falls right down into the sea and blos pup. then they would give yo usome mana for force jump :)

StormHammer
02-23-2002, 06:25 PM
I read in one of the previews that you should be able to cut through some doors and walls...but not all of them. It actually shows Kyle cutting through a wall section with the saber in the PC Gamer UK video, so it will definitely be in there. As X-Vector said...there's no GeoMod in this game. You should be able to interact with some things like cutting poles, etc., but I doubt that you can slice and dice every box or piece of furniture in a level.

Not being able to cut through some doors would actually make sense if they are magnetically shielded - like the door to the Trash Compactor in ANH. In a similar vein, some walls would be so thick that it would be impractical to cut through them anyway. If they can have the same number of destructible elements as RTCW, I'll be happy with that.

But I think proper real-time saber-slicing in the GeoMod style may have to wait for JKIII...and a different or very radically modified game engine. *hint* *hint* :)

Pedro The Hutt
02-23-2002, 07:40 PM
Lol, but that would mean that the extra lazy/unadventurous playrers would spends half an hour cutting through a thick wall that's next to a thick magnetically shielded door that needs a key to open. (altough I'm pretty sure that a small army of stormtroopers will be waiting on the other side than since that it will probably show that their end of the wall is starting to glow red and that a humming saber noise can be heard)

Silent_One
02-23-2002, 07:48 PM
*sigh* No geo-mod. :( Oh well. I can live without it. Jk2 is still going to ROCK!:D

Naphtali
02-23-2002, 07:51 PM
Since they want you to have to solve some of the puzzles, they likely wont have everything interactive, but it will still be realistic.
Im sure you will be able to cut through crates, boxes, and other things

Silent_One
02-23-2002, 07:57 PM
Original quote by Naphtali
Im sure you will be able to cut through crates, boxes, and other things
I'm positive that you can destroy these kinds of things in JO.:p

GCrusher23
02-23-2002, 08:21 PM
I don't get why they just don't put in the geo mod from red faction? It would make this game so much more fun. I mean, who wants to see a thin metal door infront of them, but the only way to open it is a key hidden in some security room? I mean, this is star wars, you'd think Raven would add a saber cutting feature.

Pedro The Hutt
02-23-2002, 08:33 PM
Rather simple, it would make everything alot less adventurous.. you'd basically slice every door out of the wall or slash your way through a wall and not even bother to go exploring/adventuring to go find the key needed to open it. Wouldn't make the game much of a challenge now it? So basicaly "Oh look, a locked door, ah what the heck I'll slice my way through it" instead of"hmm.. a locked door.. I'd better go on a challenging quest to go find the key. " (and also.. the really cowardly bakas would just tunnel their way through everything just to avoid getting into any conflicts with stormtroopers and such)

StormHammer
02-23-2002, 08:36 PM
Welcome, GCrusher23. Enjoy your stay. :)

*hands over a chocolate Jedi Medallion*

Actually...have you played Red Faction? If you have...you should notice that most of the doors are actually indestructable. It is only the walls you can turn into Swiss Cheese...and then only when they let you. :(

The GeoMod, while a good idea, was not used nearly enough in that game.

I believe there would also be issues about using that tech...considering they had their own game engine, and the direct implementation of GeoMod would require licensing, etc.

That is why I suggested a radical modification...or a different engine entirely...to be able to undertake the level of environmental interaction we would all be hoping for. ;)

MrRelish
02-23-2002, 08:41 PM
They can't. It's not like you can just put a function into a game. I am a programmer and a modeler for games, and the thing is, games are LIMITED by their engines. If the engine doesn't support geo-mod, then you can't use it. you can't just put it in there. only thing to do is to HEAVILY modify the quake 3 engine, but it'd be simpler just to make your own engine because of all the changes you'd have to make in the code.

Thanks

Indy4
02-23-2002, 08:47 PM
can we make it more distructible by editing?

SEYA

StormHammer
02-23-2002, 08:50 PM
MrRelish...yeah, I'm not making clear posts tonight. That was what I meant about them using their own engine... I didn't think it was possible using Q3A or it's variants...without serious modification to the engine... ;)

Welcome to the forums, BTW... Here...

*hands over a Jedi Medallion Cookie*

I heard you don't like chocolate. ;)

Rat Boy
02-23-2002, 08:54 PM
Just be glad no one is alergic to chocolate around here. That could get messy.

Pedro The Hutt
02-23-2002, 09:06 PM
(well I'm diabetic so I can't exactly have chocolate amongst tons of other stuff hehe)

Lightlance
02-23-2002, 09:27 PM
Hello everyone, i dont know about you guys but i heard that the games designers werent bothering with the whole, finding keys to give you acsess to different areas in this game. I think this is a good thing because it can get a bit tiresome after a while. But obviously for gameplay purposes it may be necessary. What does everyone else think, are you in favour of keys or not? :cool:

jesseg88
02-23-2002, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by SaberPro
Remember in The Empire Strikes Back? Luke threw his lightsaber up an AT-AT and the AT-AT exploded and somehow Luke recovered his lightsaber....poor :atat:

Actually, he cut a hole in the AT-AT then threw a grenade in there.

Yodimus Prime
02-23-2002, 11:56 PM
yeah, i think Saberpro knows now that everyone and their twice removed cousin has told him.



Who needs a fully destructable environment anyway? I mean..



...um...



...I really can't back that up. I need a fully destructable environment. It would be a good place to take out your anger and frustration on. Ahh, i can see it now.

Chanke4252
02-24-2002, 05:18 AM
I dont really thing Geo-Mod would be fun in this game unless there were one shot kills and no saves or something to make it alot more challenging on certain fronts to make up for it. I wouldnt want to be able to blow a tunnel through a level personally, and if i could they better add alot more stuff like a more advanced stealth system, 1 shot kills, more advanced skills, etc. you cant make one part of something ultra realistic and neglect the rest of it, you have to keep them uniform in order for it to work.

GCrusher23
02-24-2002, 11:26 AM
Stormhammer, I completely agree. Red Faction doesn't use its geo mod feature enough, Halo didn't have enough maps to show off its great graphics, etc. Companies spend years making their games, and when their released, there are only a few levels or maps showing off the great engine that has been made. I mean, if you're going to make an engine that can do amazing things, use it!

What I'd like is a feature in JK2 where you have to do what Qui Gon did on the Trade Federation ship with his lightsaber. If you could cut a hole in a door, it'd be so much more fun.

CaptainRAVE
02-24-2002, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by Agen_Terminator
You suck up :D


Its just because I have such interesting posts ;)