PDA

View Full Version : Disable Buildings/Display Counters


BanthaFodder
03-15-2002, 06:52 AM
Two Questions:

1. I can't get Disable Buildings to work for the Command Center and Fortress. Other buildings in the list are removed from the available to build icons but these are always there (at the requisite Tech Level)
I don't want to restrict the Tech Level, at the moment, the olny solution I can think of is to have a looping counter to destroy them as they are built. Naff. The option is there to disable them, is this a bug?

:confused:

2. Is there any way of displaying Variables in DisplayMessage or SendChat? I have also had a look at the AI and can't see anything.
I am looking for something like the countdown you get in "Commander of the Base"

TBH - that is EXACTLY what I am looking to do, as well as posting message as to who has control. I am trying to do a "version" of CotB with extra triggers and consequences.

Dagobahn Eagle
03-26-2002, 06:57 PM
1. I can't get Disable Buildings to work for the Command Center and Fortress. Other buildings in the list are removed from the available to build icons but these are always there (at the requisite Tech Level)
I don't want to restrict the Tech Level, at the moment, the olny solution I can think of is to have a looping counter to destroy them as they are built. Naff. The option is there to disable them, is this a bug?

If you're 100% sure you've disabled them and they still won't appear, then yes, it may be a bug.

2. Is there any way of displaying Variables in DisplayMessage or SendChat? I have also had a look at the AI and can't see anything.
I am looking for something like the countdown you get in "Commander of the Base"

Indirectly, yes.

Cond: P2 Accum. Attr. MiscCounter 1: Let's say '2' for amount.

Effect: Chat: Player 2 has 2 M.Counter1's.

Natopo
03-27-2002, 06:19 AM
Where do u get all this info DE?

BanthaFodder
04-03-2002, 02:47 PM
Thanks,

1. Sure they were disabled. Is there somewhere I can report the bug?

2. Yeah, I already did that but what I was trying to achive was displaying a countdown. This method means I need one for every increment I want to display. Loads of triggers... :(

Oh well, I guess all the stuff they use for King-o-the-Hill/Commander-o-the-base is internal.

Still got a reasonable scenario out of it. Each team gets a hero and they countdown only continues while the hero is in the locality of the monument.

I wanted to make keeping hold of the Command Centre vital as in, if you lose it you're history. Building new ones reduces impact.

I also wanted to stop anyone from building fortresses round the monument. Managed this a slightly different way by putting marshlands around it. Nothing can be built on that.

Cheers.