PDA

View Full Version : Whoa that worked nicely!


Rogue15
03-19-2002, 01:58 PM
I played as trade federation against computer...

Just upgrade AATs and Destroyer Droids, i beat 3 computer opponents that way. Even though they had air support, the mechs and droidekas take out buildings pretty fast. I had 15 of each. The Naboo were smart tho...they built a bunch of different bases instead of in just one area, that's what i usually do...but what's up with all the stupid power cores?!!? that carbon would be better off used elsewhere...

Chessack
03-19-2002, 02:55 PM
The computer definitely builds too many power cores. A few redundant ones in the heart of your village are one thing... having them every 5 or 6 map squares like weeds out in no-man's land is something else. I'm not sure why it does that, but the AI could definitely use a tweak in that direction, come expansion pack time, to get it to stop doing this.

Rogue15
03-19-2002, 05:22 PM
I think it does serve a purpose tho....I remember that one game i played vs. the gungans and they built all across the top of the map, i guess the power cores are something they put down first before they put down anymore buildings...pretty lame to overestimate their time on the battleground before being wiped out!

Gaming Nut
03-19-2002, 09:06 PM
Yeah most of the time they will build around those power cores given time adn ahving them their is not a bad idea if you have as much carbon as you need which they do. What I hate is the dumbass building 150 units and putting them in circle around the fortress it only seems to do it in DM but it's so dumb and annoying.

LSF_Ewok
03-20-2002, 02:52 AM
yeah they do build alot of power cores but if u dont pay attention it looks scary on the map :ewok:

Rogue15
03-20-2002, 09:53 AM
they'd be better off buiilding sensor posts....

LSF_Ewok
03-21-2002, 02:35 PM
yeah they would be better building scensor posts.
:atat: :deathii: :ewok:

Artorius
03-26-2002, 06:22 PM
They'd be better off building anything else. The power core by itself doesn't do anything. A troop center, even an unpowered one, causes a little havoc and I think costs less.

And why does it build so many command centers right next to each other? If they used them for defensive purposes that would be one thing, but they don't really.

If they just put those extra builders to work they'd be more effective.

Speaking of which, does anyone else occasionally come across a computer player that is doing absolutely nothing? Sometimes in a 5 or 6 player game I find one of the computer players will just stop. All of its workers will be found standing still, it hasn't built anything beyond tech 1 or 2 or advanced.

Chessack
03-27-2002, 03:03 PM
That used to happen in AoE 1, but I've never seen it in AoK or in GB.

_HaZeKniGhT
03-27-2002, 11:41 PM
Yea, everyone knows that DDs FU(fully upgraded) can't wipe out multiple players. Its a very cheap strat and I hope the LA fixes this flaw in the X-Pac.

TheMadDoofer
03-29-2002, 01:47 PM
I palyed a GB 5 player map on moderate and the cyan colored computer never got past Tech level 1! All he had were a few carbon gatherers and 4 trooper recruits. I hope they fic this in the x-pack.

:fett:

Gaming Nut
03-30-2002, 03:20 AM
Was he trade fed and was all tech on? trade fed go's retard when it has to build hosues it's just not in it's AI.

_HaZeKniGhT
03-31-2002, 12:15 PM
All tech is so cheap.

Supreme Warlord
04-02-2002, 01:35 PM
Yeah right! Jedi are not and upgrades in Tech four are not. Kiss my wookie! I always wanted to say that :D

Artorius
04-02-2002, 02:11 PM
That's funny because whenever I play against TF it builds dozens of Command Centers. They take the place of 3 or 4 houses, so you'd think it would work out.

TF builds houses in the Gungan Campaign. I don't know if it needs them but they're there. Come to think of it, maybe it starts with the houses.

For a challenge try Deathmatch against the Trade Fed. The computer has enough food to build as many workers as it wants, doesn't have to fuss about with houses, and has ore to build five or more shielded fortresses right on top of your base.

Luckily it doesn't, deciding instead to erect power cores all over the map so you can still win!

I gotta start playing humans...

Supreme Warlord
04-02-2002, 02:22 PM
Same results unfortuntaley....if u play against humans...:)