PDA

View Full Version : ChangKhan a moment of your time sir? (regarding linux servers)


madrebel
03-26-2002, 08:01 PM
Documentation?

thank you for the server.cfg file but where can i get more detail on gametypes server cvars etc.. etc.. I know all the normal Q3 stuff. But how do i set game type or sabers only no force etc... etc...

thanks for any info you have.

madrebel
03-26-2002, 08:20 PM
*bump* if anyone knows the answer to this please share a list of cvars.

if not ill figure it out later when i get off work.

madrebel
03-26-2002, 08:39 PM
*bump*

oldi1knoby
03-26-2002, 08:42 PM
I think there is a way to list all cvars but I forget how...


anyways free bump..

Demijedi
03-26-2002, 08:42 PM
STOP BUMPING

Shark747
03-26-2002, 08:45 PM
There is some info about server settings in the thread with the readme file.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=35376

Thats the thread, hopefully it has the info you are looking for. The server stuff is in the second post. If its useless then just ignore me. :D

madrebel
03-26-2002, 08:46 PM
Originally posted by Demijedi
STOP BUMPING no.

yes there is a way to list cvars. at the console type cvarlist. but since i am at work right now i cant very well do that now can i =). hmm well i suppose i havent tried that yet on my servers command line. lets try that.

digl
03-26-2002, 08:46 PM
Moved to the Dedicated Servers Forum...

madrebel
03-26-2002, 08:54 PM
ok here we go. duh i shoulda done this earlier

nostdout "0"
net_port "28070"
net_ip "localhost"
net_noudp "0"
ui_singlePlayerActive "0"
r_uiFullScreen "1"
C bot_interbreedwrite ""
C bot_interbreedcycle "20"
C bot_interbreedbots "10"
C bot_interbreedchar ""
bot_minplayers "0"
bot_challenge "0"
bot_rocketjump "1"
bot_grapple "0"
C bot_report "0"
C bot_pause "0"
bot_nochat "0"
bot_fastchat "0"
C bot_testclusters "0"
C bot_testsolid "0"
bot_testrchat "0"
bot_testichat "0"
bot_reloadcharacters "0"
C bot_thinktime "100"
bot_saveroutingcache "0"
bot_aasoptimize "0"
bot_forcewrite "0"
bot_forcereachability "0"
bot_forceclustering "0"
C bot_visualizejumppads "0"
bot_reachability "0"
bot_groundonly "1"
bot_maxdebugpolys "2"
C bot_debug "0"
C bot_developer "0"
bot_enable "1"
sv_debugserver "0"
R sv_mapChecksum ""
sv_killserver "0"
sv_padPackets "0"
sv_showloss "0"
sv_reconnectlimit "3"
A sv_master5 ""
A sv_master4 ""
A sv_master3 ""
A sv_master2 ""
sv_master1 "masterjk2.ravensoft.com"
S sv_allowDownload "0"
nextmap ""
sv_zombietime "2"
sv_timeout "200"
sv_fps "20"
sv_privatePassword ""
rconPassword ""
R sv_referencedPakNames ""
R sv_referencedPaks ""
R sv_pakNames ""
R sv_paks ""
sv_pure "1"
R sv_serverid "0"
S sv_allowAnonymous "0"
S A sv_floodProtect "1"
S A sv_maxPing "0"
S A sv_minPing "0"
S A sv_maxRate "0"
S L sv_maxclients "8"
S A sv_hostname "noname"
S sv_privateClients "0"
S R mapname "nomap"
S R protocol "15"
S sv_keywords ""
S L g_gametype "0"
S g_needpass "0"
S g_duelWeaponDisable "1"
S g_forceBasedTeams "0"
S duel_fraglimit "10"
S g_maxForceRank "6"
S g_saberLocking "1"
S g_privateDuel "1"
S g_maxHolocronCarry "3"
S timelimit "0"
S fraglimit "20"
S dmflags "0"
A vm_ui "2"
A vm_game "2"
A vm_cgame "2"
net_killdroppedfragments "0"
I net_qport "759"
showdrop "0"
showpackets "0"
username "rbettle"
arch "linux i386"
sp_show_strip "0"
A sp_language "0"
S R version "JK2MP: v1.02a linux-i386 Mar 6 2002"
A com_ignoreothertasks "0"
R com_othertasks "0"
A com_introplayed "0"
com_buildScript "0"
R cl_running "0"
R sv_running "0"
R sv_paused "0"
R cl_paused "0"
C com_cameraMode "0"
C timedemo "0"
com_speeds "0"
C viewlog "1"
C com_dropsim "0"
C com_showtrace "0"
C fixedtime "0"
C timescale "1"
logfile "0"
developer "0"
A com_blood "1"
A com_maxfps "85"
AL com_hunkMegs "64"
R dedicated "2"
I journal "0"
I fs_restrict ""
I fs_game ""
I fs_homepath ""
I fs_basegame ""
I fs_basepath "/usr/local/games/jk2"
I fs_cdpath "./jk2ded"
I fs_copyfiles "0"
fs_debug "0"
com_validateZone "0"
R sv_cheats "0"


i would still like a list of gametypes though. oh and a map list.

madrebel
03-26-2002, 08:56 PM
Originally posted by digl
Moved to the Dedicated Servers Forum... at this stage in the game dont you think moving this thread is a dumb idea. people need the nfo and they need it in the main forum :(

Vertigon
03-26-2002, 09:47 PM
It's not really fair to say "a moment of your time" and then not be specific with your questions. :-) Some quickies:

Remember you can always launch a dedicated server from the menus.

g_gametype:
0=Free For All
1=Holocron
2=Jedi Master
3=Duel
5=Team Free For All
7=Capture the Flag
8=Capture the Ysalimari

g_weaponDisable:
Nothing is disabled if set to zero. Lightsaber only if set to 65531. The number is the total of a bitfield with 16 bits, each bit representing a weapon.

g_duelWeaponDisable:
Same as above, but only when playing Duel. This is separate because we encourage Duel mode to be saber-only.

g_forcePowerDisable:
Nothing is disabled if set to zero. All force powers are disabled if set to 32767. The number is the total of a bitfield with 15 bits, each bit representing a force power.

g_forceBasedTeams:
If set to 1, then the red team must use the dark side, the blue team must use the light side.

g_maxForceRank:
Number from 0 to 7, going from Initiate to Jedi Master. The higher the rank, the more points to spend on powers.

g_maxHolocronCarry:
Defaults to 3, indicates the number of holocrons that a player can carry in Holocron mode.

g_privateDuel:
If set to 1, then the "engage_duel" key is functional in FFA and Holocron games. Sort of an "unadvertised command", you can brandish your lightsaber, target an enemy and press the key. If he receives the message and presses his engage_duel key, then you are isolated from other combatants and must duel to the death. Saber only, no force powers other than jump. This is the only time saberlock is operational in FFA or Holocron. The winner gets his health replenished and bragging rights.

g_saberLock:
If set to 1, allows saber locking while playing Duel or while in a private duel.

g_friendlySaber:
If set to 1, then team members can be hit by sabers that are idle (e.g. if you walk into a friend). It doesn't affect if the saber will hit players while swinging. Whether it does damage or not is determined by g_friendlyFire.

Many of the rest are Q3 standard.

Included Maps:
duel_bay
duel_carbon
duel_jedi
duel_pit
ffa_bespin
ffa_deathstar
ffa_imperial
ffa_ns_hideout
ffa_ns_streets
ffa_raven
ffa_yavin
ctf_bespin
ctf_imperial
ctf_ns_streets
ctf_yavin

Maps or any filename can be found by opening the PK3 file in any Zip browser.

Is that enough?

emorog
03-26-2002, 10:02 PM
just like in all other quake titles,type:
dir maps bsp

the ones that start with ctf_ are ctf maps, and so on for ffa and duel.

set g_autoMapCycle 1 to have the game automatically cycle to the next map.

madrebel
03-26-2002, 10:08 PM
doh i was just doing maplist not map list

thanks vertigon.

fyi linux cant just launch a dedicated server via the menu ;) so thats why i need to know the gametype variables.

JodoKaast
03-28-2002, 01:14 AM
What are the respective bits that correspond with the weapons? And also the force powers?

I don't know of 16 different weapons in the game, so if the weaponDisable is a 16-bit field, what do all the fields correspond with? Same thing with force powers (although, I can definitely see that there are 15 force powers).

dustoff
03-28-2002, 06:58 PM
I've got some of the bits mapped out so far, but I've got a couple of questions.

1. Is it possible you could just list the 16 bit field for us?
2. failing that, is there an easy way to print out all objects that the server has loaded? (and in use)
3. Even with only partial g_weaponDisable set, the server still
claims to be Saber Only.
4. If the value is too high, certain bots, especially TK-421 do not have a saber on gamestart, and run around with the stun baton the entire game. Is this a bug?

===

dustoff@jedi-outcast.com

dustoff
03-30-2002, 02:34 AM
Ok, I've mapped all the weapons bits for g_weaponDisable.

Some questions, though.

1. It appears impossible to disable either of the melee weapons - the stun baton and the lightsaber -- is this intentional?

2. while mapping the bits for g_forcePowerDisable, when setting this value to anything all force powers are disabled on the server -- I don't know yet whether this is client or server-side.

anyone from Raven have any comments?

The Austrian
03-30-2002, 04:43 AM
Originally posted by Vertigon

g_forcePowerDisable:
Nothing is disabled if set to zero. All force powers are disabled if set to 32767. The number is the total of a bitfield with 15 bits, each bit representing a force power.


Thanks very much- but I'm having problems here.

I'm going to quote from my other post because people seem to be reading this one instead. :) http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=36427

Actually, while this appears so its VERY hard to figure out what bit is which.

Ugh.

Best I can tell:

1- Heal
8- Push
32- Mind Trick
64- Grip
128- Lightning
256- Dark Rage
8192- Drain

Unfortunately, many of the bits also seem to disable saber throw and jump.

Anyone have others, and can anyone explain why saber throw and jump seem to be disabled when any of these bits are set?

Also, there is a bit of a bug. Setting g_forcePowerDisable to anything but "0" disables the ability to change force settings at all and indicates "Force Disabled" such that players cannot change their settings. This means they have to leave, go to a server with g_maxForceRank "7", set their settings, leave and come back. That's a pain.

This is a problem in that, at least on my server, we would like to eliminate Drain, Rage, Lightning, Heal, Grip, Protect, and Absorb, but leave Jump, all 3 Saber forces (attack, defend, throw), Push and Pull.

So is this possible? After 3 hours of experimentation I don't think it is.

Mavrick063
04-01-2002, 01:06 AM
Care to share that server.cfg file I have a self made home brew one and i'm sure it's not optimal seen as the ping rates are so eratic. My e-mail address is mavrick@loserpunks.net thanks in advance.. ;) (Notice mavrick has no E in it)



Originally posted by madrebel
Documentation?

thank you for the server.cfg file but where can i get more detail on gametypes server cvars etc.. etc.. I know all the normal Q3 stuff. But how do i set game type or sabers only no force etc... etc...

thanks for any info you have.

geronimo27
04-05-2002, 08:39 AM
Can anyone list out the the bitcode mappings for the weapons?