PDA

View Full Version : Loading times....


Shamrock
03-27-2002, 03:16 PM
Nice game. I'm not gonna put what i think of it, coz i want to talk about loading times. They really are bad. It takes what seems a year to load up a single player level. Then multi-player levels take longer. Even just loading your last save when you die takes a while. I'm suprised they don't load to start loading. It really does slow it down and i get frustrated. You can go have a cup of coffee while you wait. There you have it.

Rogue15
03-27-2002, 03:22 PM
DAMN.

TUS_Tomcat
03-27-2002, 03:28 PM
You dont know his system specs (yet) :)

rr12
03-27-2002, 03:30 PM
Please tell me in mins how long and what is spec of your machine.
Surely there is a quick save and load like in wolfentein?

Hopefuly it doesnt have as long loading times as C&C Renegade.
(which was a pile of crap)

Aik
03-27-2002, 03:32 PM
On my P4 1.9 Ghz they load on the fly

madrebel
03-27-2002, 03:44 PM
Originally posted by Aik
On my P4 1.9 Ghz they load on the fly i call BS. on my 1.7ghz athlon and RAID0 768megs ddr setup save games take awhile to load.

quick loads and quick saves are real fast. But loading a full save game takes a long damn time

rr12
03-27-2002, 03:48 PM
as long as there is a quick save and load i dont mind.
Just that in C&C Renegade it was a 2 min load if you died. No quick load.

Fin
03-27-2002, 03:48 PM
(at least on my system)
I think this is linked to the texture quality you choose in setup.
With texture quality at "very high" a lvl takes from 2 to 3 minutes to load. On "low" quality it takes 20 secs.

Shamrock
03-27-2002, 04:51 PM
Hmm, I knew i shoulda put them down.

1200mhz Athlon
Hercules Prophet 3 (Geforce 3 Ti200)
256mb ram
Windows 98

I do have everything FULL in graphics, but i do in Medal Of Honor which is also uses a Quake 3 engine and loads much quicker. And the the time it takes is usually 1min + for levels and 30secs for a quick load.

Fin, u seem to be far in the single-player. I'm stuck and could use some help. Its probably something really simple but ill say anyway...

**SPOILER ALERT**
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Mission 2 the Mining colony one. I have killed everyone so far i have met, and the place is a ghost town. The place where the ships stop and there is a fried R2 unit, well i have shut off whatever was happening there. Now the objective is still to cripple the mining op. and i don't know what else to do. The electified track doesn't seem to do much, and i can't find a way to jump on the ships at all. There is a locked door in the main underground bit with all the boxes of green crystals. Any ideas? If this is too vague just tell me. Thanks.

Minimaul
03-27-2002, 04:59 PM
Originally posted by Shamrock


**SPOILER ALERT**

Mission 2 the Mining colony one. I have killed everyone so far i have met, and the place is a ghost town. The place where the ships stop and there is a fried R2 unit, well i have shut off whatever was happening there. Now the objective is still to cripple the mining op. and i don't know what else to do. The electified track doesn't seem to do much, and i can't find a way to jump on the ships at all. There is a locked door in the main underground bit with all the boxes of green crystals. Any ideas? If this is too vague just tell me. Thanks.


Do this:




Go into the room where the mining cart is. You shot and broke everything in the room below right? The room where the heat thing is (the stuff that kills you). Go into the room where the cart is, when it's in there. There are some things in there that you can jump on , it's black ,and by the opisite door. Jump onto it, jump onto the cart. Ride the Mining cart out. After you make the turn, jump off. The rest is up to you.

Shamrock
03-27-2002, 05:02 PM
Ah, cheers. :D

When you find them out these things are so simple.

Shark747
03-27-2002, 05:06 PM
Try turning down some of your graphics settings. I know that very high texture detail slows down some vid cards but once its on High its fine. I remember ChangKhan stating that if the loading times are too long then your graphic settings are too high.

madrebel
03-27-2002, 06:55 PM
Originally posted by Shark747
Try turning down some of your graphics settings. I know that very high texture detail slows down some vid cards but once its on High its fine. I remember ChangKhan stating that if the loading times are too long then your graphic settings are too high. i have a gf4 ti 4600. so far i havent been able to set the graphics "too high" yet ;) and it still takes a long time to load save games.

Shark747
03-27-2002, 07:00 PM
Well...I'd have to say the levels take a long time to load then. lol, Of course it may depend on RAM and cpu as well.

TUS_Tomcat
03-27-2002, 07:03 PM
indeed Changkhan himself said long load times is cause of maximum texture detail... Those textures are big and detailed... So its your call, you want the uber detail or faster loading?

:)

Makkoan
03-27-2002, 07:04 PM
Uber detail all the way ;)

Calen
03-27-2002, 07:54 PM
that's pretty sad, load times was one of many things that jk was really good in.... long load at the start of the level then quick load quick as f_ckin anakin podracin :rolleyes:

madrebel
03-27-2002, 08:30 PM
Originally posted by Calen
that's pretty sad, load times was one of many things that jk was really good in.... long load at the start of the level then quick load quick as f_ckin anakin podracin :rolleyes: quick saves n quick loads are fast. but fresh levels or fresh loaded save games(new textures) are quite slow.