PDA

View Full Version : the crosshair


Tree
03-28-2002, 05:45 PM
Any way to turn that useless **** auto-aim off? Man its annoying.

Master Blaster
03-28-2002, 06:29 PM
Very, very annoying especially if yuo are playing on Master Jedi dif. And no one seems to notice the problem I've searched everything. :confused:

Krak3n
03-28-2002, 06:33 PM
In the console type

cg_dynamicCrosshair "0"

It's not really auto aim as such but is anoying.
To get the console press shift+`

Hope that helps

Krak3n

ChangKhan[RAVEN]
03-28-2002, 06:34 PM
There *is* no auto-aim. The crosshair moves and changes color to show you EXACTLY where your shot will hit... so if you're muzzle is blocked by a corner, it will indicate that rather than making you think you have a clear shot when you don't.

kwyjibo
03-28-2002, 06:59 PM
how can I change the crosshair? that's one awful crosshair, do i have to install pakscape, and delve into the pak files?

venoxile
03-28-2002, 07:25 PM
From what I've seen it truely is an ugly crosshair, ick.

Krak3n
03-28-2002, 07:25 PM
I had a look round the options and i can't see any way to change the crosshair, which seems a bit odd....just me give a round circle with a dot in the middle over them fancy ones any day :D

If you do edit the pk3 files then that will make you 'un-pure' on pure servers (cheat free servers) so the game would use default settings for stuff like the crosshair.

ChangKhan[RAVEN]
03-28-2002, 07:41 PM
you might be able to change it on the console with the cg_crosshair command (try different numbers), but I'm actually not sure if it was totally disabled or not.

Tree
03-28-2002, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by Krak3n
In the console type

cg_dynamicCrosshair "0"

It's not really auto aim as such but is anoying.
To get the console press shift+`

Hope that helps

Krak3n

Thanks

Sparklehorse23
04-11-2002, 07:02 AM
Thanks so much for posting the "cg_dynamicCrosshair" help. That auto-aim IS autoaiming, I don't care what anyone says, and it was the most ridiculously annoying thing I'd ever seen in an FPS. I hated it and would NOT play the game without turning it off. I really wish Raven had just made it an Options toggle...oh well. Now the game is playable and, uh, stuff.

Niten Ryu
04-11-2002, 07:34 AM
Yup, it's autoaiming. I was rather pissed cos I couldn't change it from options page. Good thing I've edited .cfg files before... If you know what you're doing, just open jkconfig.cfg with notepad and ignore this message "// generated by Star Wars Jedi Outcast, do not modify". You can find many interesting options like

g_saberAutoAim
g_saberAnimSpeed
g_saberMoveSpeed
g_saberRealisticCombat
g_saberAutoBlocking
g_dismemberProbabilities

Just remember what you changed (or make backup copy) and start editing :D

thrEEpaGe
04-11-2002, 12:31 PM
i hate that gay ass auto aim as well...is there any way to make it so that instead of turning off hte 3rd person crosshair when you turned off the dynamic crosshair that it would simply be a 3rd person crosshair????

creamy
04-11-2002, 12:45 PM
talking about crosshairs, is there a way to change the color of it??
its kinda stupid to have a grey crossshair in a game where most of the stuff is metal and what color is metal?? GREY!!

Graphicsgod
04-11-2002, 12:46 PM
Changing the crosshair is easy. Just open the tgas in photoshop (or a different image editor that can read masks in tgas) and then look at the masked image and change it to what ever you want. Then repak it and volia, different crosshair ;).

Creston
04-11-2002, 12:52 PM
There are also some variables in the console (do a cvarlist) that define the size and such of your crosshair, you CAN make it smaller if you want.
I don't know how it would affect the dynamic crosshair though.

Creston

freonsmurf
04-11-2002, 04:11 PM
I would give 5 ewoks for a way to change the crosshair in multiplayer!!
:syoda:

JediMouse
04-11-2002, 06:09 PM
Not that I want your Ewoks (had a bad case of Ewoks once -- was off work for weeks), but...

Use the console command (I hope I'm remembering this exactly right) cg_drawcrosshair<space># where # is something from 0 to, I think, 6. 0 turns is off, 1 is the usual one you see, and the other numbers are alternate crosshair designs.

None of them appears to be the one you see in the original screenshots, however, and none of them is any easier to see than the usual, except 2. I use it all the time now. If you want to see what 2 looks like, go to the Rodian Hunter skin page of my website, and look in the upper corner of the second picture.

www.angelfire.com/clone/jedimouse/rh.html

~JediMouse~

No, please, keep your Ewoks, really....

F**kOffRegister
04-11-2002, 06:21 PM
It doesn't autoaim? It just shows where your shot will hit, which isnt always the same place your eyes are pointing.

Taicat
04-11-2002, 06:49 PM
Here's what I've tried:

cg_crosshairSize 18
cg_drawcrosshair 9

Here is the result, which I find much easier to see and works on Pure servers. Yes, that's a white border you see around the gray box....

http://www.tekkenprime.com/jk2/xhair09.jpg