PDA

View Full Version : Level editing in JK2?


Moomin
04-05-2002, 08:38 AM
How exactly do i go about making a map in JK2. I asume at the moment that you have to use the Q3 editer GTKRadient, but if i make a level in that, how do i convert it into JK2 and make it playable in JK2?

When the SDK come out will there be an actual JK2 level editer or will it juts use Radient?

sinoth
04-07-2002, 06:36 AM
As far as I've heard, Raven is about to release a level editor for JO based on Q3Radiant, so if you wanted to get a jump start, learn it first. As far as currently playing levels in JK2.. don't know exactly, but I havn't seen any original maps out yet.

NI Knight of Ni
04-08-2002, 07:40 PM
Because the application will be only a Modification or Plugin for Radient, its no problem to Pre Fabricate (Prefab) files like ships or rooms or anything you like in the Q3A Editor. Obviously there would only be an issue with the textures.

Simply dont texture it completely or dont texture it at all untill the JKO Radient becomes available.

Then just export as a prefab or .map file and open it with the other editor and begin to texture it.

If you did pre texture it to see how the level looks, and you were very consistant. Just so you know, you could open up the .map file for the map, and do a find and replace in MS Word or equivelant and for example if your main wall texture was

textures/base_wall/wall_grey.tga in quake (make beleave file)

just replace it with the path of the prefered Jedi Knight file.

If you have any more questions please send me a private message.

UniKorn
04-10-2002, 05:34 AM
Actually that is not needed, I wrote a thread on how to set up gtkradiant for jk2. The only thing you can't do is compile it for jk2, but you can test it in quake 3.

Vorax
04-11-2002, 08:13 PM
Also, you don't need to replace textures by opening the map file, use the 'texture find/replace' function in the textures menu :)

- Vorax

Dorvo
04-15-2002, 10:40 PM
Unikorn, you should put Snerd to work on this. I'm sure he could use the work. ;)

Lucreto
04-16-2002, 12:09 AM
I hope they make a editor soon so i can mess around with it and try and make a cool level easy not likethe ways you have to do it right now

UniKorn
04-17-2002, 07:57 AM
Hehe, I'm gonna leave TheSnerd alone for a while, once the sdk is released I'm sure that he can use the reserve he is building up right now.

UniKorn,
the merciless Status Report Requester :D