PDA

View Full Version : Nostromo n50 profile?


emackn
04-08-2002, 10:52 PM
Anyone have an effective nostromo speedpad profile that they would want to share?

thanks,
emackn

waxdart
04-08-2002, 11:06 PM
I've got one, but I don't really use it anymore. Don't remember if I was using the keys for movement or the D-Pad.

I can mail it to you if you'd like. Can't say it's any _good_, but I can send it. ;)

Darth Diablo
04-09-2002, 12:23 AM
Belkin's got one on their website now. Go with the Jedi Outcast profile, not the Jedi Knight II profile. So far, it's worked well for me.

KalFalnal
04-09-2002, 04:26 AM
I've made a nostromo profile that works very well for me. Email me and I'll send it to you.

Rogue74
04-10-2002, 07:34 PM
I've got a couple too if you want them, one is for the Dark and one for Light Side.


Have any of you found a way to do a saber combo macro? Meaning stringing a series of lightsaber attack moves onto one key? I tried but it didn't work.

Taicat
04-11-2002, 12:11 AM
Interesting question, Rogue74. Hadn't thought of doing that. What you might want to do, regarding combo moves, is create an 'alias' in your autoexec.cfg file, and assign it to one of the buttons. I figure it would execute faster than assigning a keypad macro anyway.....

I looked at the Belkin provided profile, but it was just too many keys for my liking (bad memory, no dexterity on my part...hehe). Plus, I play other games with this, and remembering all the key combos was just too much for each game.

I went 'simple' with mine (I play as Light, Saber-Only).

Key Function
01 Saber On/Off
02 Force Pull
03 Forward
04 Force Push
05 Absorb
06 Crouch
07 Left
08 Back
09 Right
10 Heal

Pad Left Jump
Pad Up Scores

Mouse1 Attack
Mouse2 Alt. Attack
Whl Clk Saber Style
Wheel Prev/Next weapon (for the few times I play on non-saber-only servers

I found I had to remove the 'Handrest' that comes with this, because it was making my forearm hurt like hell! Anyone else have this prob?

I'd also be interested in seeing some other configs........:)

KalFalnal
04-11-2002, 02:02 AM
I actually made a graphic that I print and use to set up and keep track of my profiles, feel free to give it a try;
n50 Profile Template (http://nightstalkers.s5.com/n50template.jpg)

I'd appreciate any ideas on improvemnt or general feedback if you take the time to check it out :)

My JKII profile(a work in progress);

Key Function
01 Green Shift
02 Red Shift
03 Forward
04 Force Speed (Blue: Lightsaber)
05 Use (Blue: 1st/3rd person, Green: Datapad/scores)
06 Blue Shift
07 Left
08 Back
09 Right
10 LightSaber Style (Blue: Force Absorb)

Pad Left Crouch (Blue: Use Force, Green: Walk/Run, Red: Use Inv.)
Pad Right Bacta (Blue: Force Heal)
Pad Up Force Push (Blue: Next Force, Green: Binoculars, Red: Nxt. Inv.)
Pad Down Force Pull (Blue: Previous Force, Red: Prev. Inventory)

Mouse1 Attack
Mouse2 Jump
Whl Clk Alt Attack
Wheel Prev/Next weapon

My positioning of force powers and what-not is based mostly on my single player experience as I've yet to play much multiplayer ('cept for some nifty 4-way lan battles) And by "Up" on the pad I mean away from myself, right would be towards the table, etc.

Darth Diablo
04-15-2002, 03:18 PM
I've edited mine a bit too.
It's pretty simple now.
It's more for SP than MP.

1) Pull
2) Push
3) Forward
4) Speed (Shift - Lightning)
5) Heal (Shift - Grip)
6) Blue Shift
7) Strafe Left
8) Back
9) Strafe Right
10) Lightsaber toggle

D-pad
Forward - Use Item
Up - Jump
Down - Crouch
Back - Lightsaber style toggle

Jacen
04-19-2002, 04:16 PM
I just bought mine at lunch. I'll look at the setup this weekend. No one is using any weapons cycling on thiers? What about inventory? Still using keyboard?

I saw a morrowind profile that one of the devs uses that includes cycling thru weapons and spells, which is what made it seem great for this game.

Taicat
04-19-2002, 05:08 PM
Sure, you can do that.

I personally use the mouse wheel for that; started that way back in my early Q2/HL days and old habits die hard!!! ;)

Jacen
04-19-2002, 05:25 PM
I think i got a repackaged one. In the manual on page 3 is a bunch of handwritten stuff on the top with various config things. Like 1 for red shift 3 is forward etc.

I don't supposed anyone elses manual has hand written stuff in it do they? Damn comp usa.

steeef
04-19-2002, 07:37 PM
so is there a good reason for not using the d-pad for forward/back/left/right? i noticed most of you use the keys instead.

Taicat
04-19-2002, 07:44 PM
Originally posted by steeef
so is there a good reason for not using the d-pad for forward/back/left/right? i noticed most of you use the keys instead.

It's more of a tactile/feel thing, imo. I found it to not be as responsive as assigning keys to movement. Then again, I've spoken with a few people who've always used sticks/pads for their FPS gaming, and they said the Dpad was fine by them....

Give it a shot, and see what you think, is the best I can come up with....

Jacen
04-19-2002, 10:27 PM
Need a little help here guys

After about ten attempts to load the thing, i finanlly got it working. Problem is , whenever i start the game with it in the usb port, my mouse is non functional. I mean it stays in the upper left corner of the jk2 load screen and won't move. If i unplug the n50, the mouse will return to normal.

When i plug the n50 in after i load the game, the entire screen goes nutso, like something is being held down. It turns in every direction.

I did get it to work properly once, that was when i disabled the virtual mouse in hardware manager, closed that, went back in, re-enabled the virtual mouse, and then loaded the game. that time only it worked. It does not work if the virtual mouse is left disabled.

SO, how can i use this thing with my current logitech mouse and not have it go haywire? Do i have a defective unit? So far i'm not to impressed with this.

Taicat
04-19-2002, 11:13 PM
Hmmm.

I don't have a USB mouse anymore, so don't know if there's a conflict.

One thing I did find was if I enabled the joystick, my mouse would flake out like yours does (in the second part of your post).

This happened AFTER I upgraded to the 2.3 drivers, btw....it worked fine with the original 2.2 drivers from the CD (I haven't tried rolling back yet....).

Try disabling the joystick in the config menu, and see what happens..........

Jacen
04-20-2002, 12:37 AM
Well, aint that a kick in the head.. You disable the joystick in order to get the joystick to work..Who woulda thunk? :)

Thanks. That seemed to work. At least it has twice now. Very odd.

Ready Wan
04-21-2002, 03:01 AM
I cant find the jedi outcast profile on their site.
I found all the other profiles...but nothing for jedi outcast or jedi knight...

can someone post a link?

Ready Wan
04-22-2002, 03:16 AM
bump

Ready Wan
04-23-2002, 09:37 PM
does anyone have this link? Still cant find it :(

Darth Diablo
04-23-2002, 09:53 PM
Here's the link for the N50 Profiles. You'll need to scroll down a little to see the profile.

Belkin N50 Profiles (http://www.belkin.com/support/tech/gameProfiles.html). Try them and edit to your liking.

Ready Wan
04-24-2002, 05:11 PM
thanks!
found them and dl'ed them.

much appreciated!

-rw

PainGod
04-24-2002, 05:37 PM
This will blow your mind, guys. Go have a look at mine:

http://www.geocities.com/dsmask_2000

Its right on the index page.

:D

Pg

Bort Fett
04-25-2002, 06:57 AM
Cool to see so many people using the n50. I used to use a key to scroll thru force powers and inv, and another key to select. But then as I progressed in the game, realised you just had to assign a seperate key for each force power. Havent tried it in mp, but think it should be good (only my lack of skill will defeat me...).

I get this problem with my usb mouse tho, not sure if its the n50 conflicting. Small problem, the mouse wheel seems to move by itself (and so changes weapons). Might just be a hyper-sensitive wheel, but bloody annoying (like when your saber shuts down and you bring up the basic gun instead in the middle of a firefight).

I dont use any profiles with the n50, I just map all the buttons on it and then change the key config in the games. Seems easier.

madrebel
04-25-2002, 01:21 PM
Bort that works, i use that too. But some games require slightly different configs than others. If you have a profile that autoloads with each game's .exe file then you get the maximum flexibility.

am i the only one that wishes he could bind one of the color mode switches to one of the dpad directions?