PDA

View Full Version : Force Commander


kyle_katarn
04-18-2001, 01:39 PM
I got an AMD K6-2 350MHz, 32MB RAM and 3DFX Voodoo 3 2000 AGP, can anyone tell me if Force Commander would be playable on that if everything was turned down/off?



------------------
"You cannot escape your destiny"

Garindan
04-18-2001, 02:12 PM
not with that ram. i can't even play it on my 64 megabyte machine (you need 65+ megs). Go to the store and buy a 64 meg pack and force commander, and you'll be fine. it also requires 3d accellerator, but which game doesn't?

Rogue9
04-18-2001, 04:01 PM
Jedi Knight Doesn't http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/biggrin.gif

Garindan
04-18-2001, 05:21 PM
so what!!!!!! He asked about force commander, not some outdated game.

Garindan
04-18-2001, 05:21 PM
and he already has jedi knight, look at his name! DUH!!!!!!

Pedro The Hutt
04-18-2001, 08:19 PM
He could also have the original Dark Forces http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/biggrin.gif

------------------
No!
I am your father.

Boba Rhett
04-18-2001, 08:55 PM
I have it running on a k6-2 450 with 56 mb of ram and an 8mb card so it might run on your system considering you have a voodoo 3.

P.S. It sure is funny how an outdated game still has a bigger community then a new one....

------------------

I calculated the odds that this would work versus the odds that I was doing something incredibly stupid...and I went ahead anyway.

oninosensi
04-18-2001, 09:14 PM
Jedi Knight might be out dated, but it is more fun. And editablity helps too!

------------------
Master of Demons, Defender of Underworlds

Garindan
04-18-2001, 10:57 PM
but still. I think i'll stick with Mots. http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/biggrin.gif i had you fooled a second time around!!!!! AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAA!!!!!

oninosensi
04-19-2001, 01:17 AM
For your information- I include MoTS with JK- they are almost the same game anyway.

------------------
Master of Demons, Defender of Underworlds

oninosensi
04-19-2001, 01:18 AM
For your information- I include MoTS with JK- they are almost the same game anyway.

And both better than Force Commander. :P

------------------
Master of Demons, Defender of Underworlds

Garindan
04-19-2001, 12:14 PM
not really the same, in mots you kill more pirates and thugs than imperials. You get the lightsaber from the beginning, there's people on your side, there's more dialogue, and there's colored lighting. So, here's my favorite games in order:

Force Commander
X-Wing Alliance
Mysteries of the Sith
Battle for Naboo
Shadows of the Empire (i'm so good at it!!!)
Rogue Squadron
Jedi Knight
Rebellion

Chiles4
04-19-2001, 06:50 PM
Kyle, even with more ram it'll be hard to play FoCom on a K62-350. You'll have to play at 640, with Fog all the way up and LOD all the way down, i.e. all settings at minimum and it still may chop.

Force Commander ROCKS!!!! (but so does JK)

Jedi_Prophecy
04-19-2001, 06:54 PM
Battle for Naboo is not that good. Garindan, I thought you only had the demo. First level in the full game is baaaaddd. Especially with my graphics card!!! All I can see is the pilots head and the laser blasts when I shoot. And in space I can't see the Naboo starfighter; just the pilot's head!!!!!

Garindan
04-19-2001, 09:27 PM
i got the demo only. ok, here are my specs:

63 megs of Ram
600+ mhz
Compaq Presario
DirectX 8.0a (it didn't ruin my computer http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/biggrin.gif)

i guess i'll just keep adding money to my savings account until battlegrounds or bounty hunter comes out.

Kurgan
04-19-2001, 10:02 PM
UT and Starcraft don't require a 3d accelerator...

What about Diablo 2?

Anyway, you can't really compare JK to Force Commander IMHO. The only similarity is that they're both LEC games with a Star Wars theme. Other than that, they're completely different.

Kurgan

[This message has been edited by Kurgan (edited April 19, 2001).]