PDA

View Full Version : Model Viewer


Eets
04-16-2002, 07:21 PM
Follow the link below to download the SOF2 Model Viewer

http://www.activision.com/games/soldieroffortune/contest/SOF2skinmod.zip

You can use this as a temporary replacement for the tool that Raven has not as of yet supplied.

Follow the link below to learn how to view JKII models on it.

http://www.jediknightii.net/edit_mpskins.shtml


Please be sure to use the JKII Model Viewer once it is released. :D

jibe
04-16-2002, 09:30 PM
I always get an error when I try to open it.. i'm in WinXP.

Eets
04-16-2002, 09:33 PM
So am I... What error are you getting?

jibe
04-16-2002, 09:39 PM
ModView.exe - Application Error

The instruction at "0x77f7e22a" referenced memory at "0x00000034". The memory could not be "read".

jibe
04-16-2002, 11:26 PM
Someone fix it plz :P

UsEr-X-
04-16-2002, 11:31 PM
Thankyou Eets'chula

UsEr-X-
04-16-2002, 11:47 PM
This was posted in a different topic by Aiee and he explains how to get the model viewer to work:

How to make it work (quoting ChangKhan in this thread:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthre...&threadid=37781


You can get it to work, here's how:

Extract the _humanoid.gla and animation.cfg following the same instructions as above (extract into the GameData/base folder and the files should appear in the directory: GameData/base/models/players/_humanoid).

Extract the models.shader file using the above instructions (extract into GameData/base. the file should appear in the dir: GameData/base/shaders).

Extract any models/players directories you want to view/modify (see above instructions).

Open ModView. Go to open a file and browse to the .glm file in the GameData/base/models/players directory of the model you want to view.

Voila!


UsEr-X-:fett:

Eets
04-17-2002, 12:59 AM
Jibe... It seems to me you're having memory troubles... Give me your system stats.

sinistervw
04-17-2002, 04:13 AM
i keep getting a file request made without initialization error of such....WTH?

WC_ToM
04-17-2002, 04:43 AM
yah im getting the same thing sin.....dunno haven't read that tut on how to get it working tho either =P

jibe
04-17-2002, 04:52 AM
700 mhz athlon, 512 mb ram, 32 mb riva tnt2 vid card, running win XP

The prog wont open no matter what I do..

enDless_Deliriu
04-18-2002, 07:21 AM
how do you get that stupid "file called without initialization" thing to go away? it's annoying and I want to view the models and stuff.

Eets
04-18-2002, 10:56 AM
I have no idea, jibe... But nice system! :D

Try unpacking all of the model files to that folder, Deliriu.

Ripp'en Rob
04-18-2002, 02:46 PM
I found that I had to place a base/models/players/jedi/*unpacked jedi.pk3(example) into the directory where the executable of the SOF2 viewer program resides in order to view JK2 models. If you set it up correctly, you will see a 'characters' folder with your 'players' folder. The Characters folder is for sof2 stuff. If this doesnt make sense, I am sorry - I just woke up! :P
:deathii:

maxiron
04-18-2002, 03:45 PM
I tried what Ripp'en Rob said and I got it to work, sorta....... well I didn't get the initialization message, but I didn't have the "_humanoid" .glm unpacked......duh :o

enDless_Deliriu
04-19-2002, 07:28 PM
it says it doesn't have the _humanoid mesh now. And when I open the _humanoid.gla thing it says that it doesn't fully work with that or something.

smeagol6566
04-20-2002, 05:09 AM
how do i edit the copy of the "model_default.skin" it says to rename files within the copy, to the file names that you saved the "redos" or "remakes" of the model out to. so, what, and how do i change it?

Darth Draugmahl
04-20-2002, 06:02 AM
I am getting probably the same error as the last fellow

R_LoadMDXM: missing animation file models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid for mesh model.glm


I have unpacked the _humanoid.gla and the animation.cfg into the _humanoid directory a few times just to be sure, I even copied a copy of that directory into itself hoping to follow the path of the error. Neither of those have fixed the problem....any ideas?

Darth Draugmahl
04-20-2002, 06:26 AM
Get's more bizarre. I extracted a number of models..Desann, Reborn, and The robless maul one all got that error, the galak_mech one works fine....supwidat?

Shaft8472
04-21-2002, 06:52 AM
Start fooling around with the shadowtrooper, it's the most easiest model. It has 6 skin files:

1. accessories.jpg
2. basic_hand.jpg
3. head.jpg
4. icon_default.jpg
5. legs.jpg
6. torso_arms.jpg

If u rename them like i said, u should also rename them within the model_default.skin file. it opens with notepad.

It looks like this:

hips,models/players/shadowtrooper/legs.tga
l_leg,models/players/shadowtrooper/legs.tga
l_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
r_leg,models/players/shadowtrooper/legs.tga
r_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
hips_torso,models/players/shadowtrooper/torso_arms.tga

etc, a few more lines.

You can see that legs.tga actually is legs.jpg (a bit strange, but nothing to obstruct you) Don'yt break your head over this, assume it's the same file. no, if u renamed legs.jpg to your new model name, it looks for example like this: legs_white.jpg (were white is the name of your model) Change the legs.tga within model_default.skin to legs_white.tga. That way it links to it.

Hope I helped u out enough, the rest is liek the tutorial written by Michael Chang Gummelt (Game Programmer: Jedi Knight II) found at http://www.jediknightii.net/edit_mpskins.shtml


Now, I have a question, does anyone know how to change one color into another? For example, if i'd like to have all types of blue (within a picture) turned into the same types of red. So that darkblue becomes darkred, and lightblue becomes lightred? i'm using Photoshop, but if u'd recommend another program, pl go right ahead.

Autero
04-21-2002, 02:39 PM
There's 2 ways you could do that in photoshop, by using selective color or by desaturating the blues and then doing a variation on the desaturated areas changing them to red. Hope this helps.

smeagol6566
04-21-2002, 09:43 PM
thanks, i was looking around in many tutorials, yet no one bothered to put what to open the file with. it could just be, and that i'm and idiot, and didn't see it. or that i'm an idiot, and should've known...either way, thanks.

Picasso
04-22-2002, 01:06 PM
Hmmm.. were can i get tutorials? plz link.. ;)

Shaft8472
04-26-2002, 06:53 AM
Originally posted by smeagol6566
it could just be, and that i'm and idiot, and didn't see it. or that i'm an idiot, and should've known...either way, thanks.

Nm, I'm a newbie myself.

I really don't know were to find any tutorials on skinning, the one I used to find what I found was at http://www.jediknightii.net/edit_mpskins.shtml That's the one I used for reference. Hope I can help u with that.


Now as for my personal question. I want to change the blue part in the blue-shadowtrooper skin, in white. And not completely. Were there was dark blue, there must now be dark-white. And were there was light-blue, there must be light-white (or just white :p)

Eets
04-26-2002, 11:04 AM
Seeing as the official model viewer was released, I'll just unsticky this thread. :D :eets:

OOBiteme
06-10-2002, 04:36 PM
:confused: I made a Goku Skin and it doesnt have pointy hair!!! What do I do to give it pointy hair (on the top)? :fett:
:deathstar