PDA

View Full Version : JOMap - Quake3 BSP Conversion Tool


UGG
04-18-2002, 11:02 AM
HAHAHA! Raven just got 0wNed! Check it! :cool:
http://ugg.codealliance.ca/jomap/

Forgive my shamless gloating, but I'm very happy that I got this to work. :D

Sorry if you have to reinstall Outcast to a quake directory, but don't blame me. Blame whoever put that silly check into q3map!

Ok, get to it! ;) I want to hear what works and what doesn't. I'm probably going to hear a lot of what doesn't work. :(

The Truthful Liar
04-18-2002, 11:05 AM
I'll take a pass. I'm going to wait for the 'real' tools to come out. Just so I avoid troublesome aggrevations on getting this JOmap thing to work, because it's not worth it.

The Truthful Liar
04-18-2002, 11:11 AM
Oh, but it does sound cool - for someone who want's to bother with it ;)

phZ
04-18-2002, 11:12 AM
it works yahhoo =)
just tried a map i created and everything seems to work.

thnx for the link.

Update:
-water doesnt work
-the patch mesh architecture is screwed up
-all the textures are too small (->Readme)

Tems
04-18-2002, 01:37 PM
ill try it. i need to get spacial ideas. thanks.

-Tems

Tems
04-18-2002, 01:56 PM
ok i just gave it a whirl. i didnt get any q3map errors. heres what happened. all of my cyls disappeared. the caps stayed. the cyls that were closed off in domes turned into 2-dimensional crescents.

i know youre not asking for bug reports. this is more for people who want to try it.

personally it helped me a great deal becausei was able to get an idea of the massive scale differences between quake3 and jk2.

nice tool.

-Tems

UGG
04-18-2002, 03:03 PM
Yeah, I thought there would be many problems. Raven made a lot of changes to the BSP format. I doubt that I'll get it working perfectly before they release the editor. It's just a toy really. :)

Thanks guys! :) That's pretty interesting news about the cylinders. I didn't expect that at all. I thought the lighting and shaders would be the big problem areas.

There is another thread running at Massassi if your interested. BoBo_Fett even got Canyon Oasis to load, with the help of dr0id's JKImport plugin, of course! :)
http://forums.massassi.net/html/Forum17/HTML/000178.html

flumpdumpy
04-18-2002, 03:34 PM
Sorry, this is slightly off topic but does anyone have Droid's converter. His web page seems to be down and I would like to get it.

Jafo
04-18-2002, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by AB_Legion
I'll take a pass. I'm going to wait for the 'real' tools to come out. Just so I avoid troublesome aggrevations on getting this JOmap thing to work, because it's not worth it.

The short story is I agree. Ive got nothing positive too say so I'll just let it simmer.

http://www.map-center.com
http://www.qeradiant.com
http://jk2ed.jediknightii.net

UniKorn
04-19-2002, 07:12 AM
I'm just gonna use it to test how my map "feels".