View Full Version : Q3 models/skins to JK2.. possible?

04-18-2002, 11:10 PM
This may be a stupid question, but is it possible to get an existing Q3A model and skin (*.pk3) and easily convert it to a JK2 .pk3 file?? They both use the Quake3 engine so it's possible right? or am I thinking too simply?

Any help, hints or critisicm welcome
Thanks guys..

04-18-2002, 11:13 PM
Quake3 player models = md3

Jedi Knight 2 player models = Ghoul2

So in other words, no, not possible currently, though someone may be able to make a convert at a later date...

04-18-2002, 11:18 PM
Thanks man.. that was quick. I just have a few cool quake3 models i would like to use in jk2.... i just have to sabre someone with voltron just once in my life.. hopefully a converter or the sdk will be out soon and i can have a crack at modelling and skinning.

04-19-2002, 12:40 AM
um, yeah JO uses .md3 files. the ghoul2 systems is just for the skeletel system. once the editing tools are released they can be transfered easily to JO. All you got to do really is just add the skeletel system.

And can somone......MAKE A SAMUS ARAN MODEL FROM METROID!!!! I would love to see Samus in all her glory. :D

04-19-2002, 03:41 AM
ummm...okay..show me the player models in md3 file format, then.


Yah, didn't think you'd find them, mate. The player models are .glm files, AKA Ghoul2. The Skeleton is a .gla file, also ghoul2.

04-19-2002, 07:45 AM
Quake 3 skin : 3 meshes
JKO skin : 1 mesh.

So you would have to put the 3 meshes together as 1 mesh.