PDA

View Full Version : The blood patch + instructions


Usurper
04-22-2002, 01:22 PM
Here is a full link to the blood patch.
I did a search on google for a blood patch on German websites and found it.

http://mitglied.lycos.de/dascrat/uploads/JK2_uncut_blood.zip

I have installed it and it works wonderfully (only have tested SP)

Unzip the file and put it in your main JediKnight2 directory.
Run the exe and it will patch the files. It also makes backups of your files and creates an uninstaller if you ever want to get rid of it.

Load up SP and watch the blood fly. It is not overdone, just enough to give it a cool effect.

Also.... It creates a submenu in the Setup option called "Zensor".
Here, you can turn censor on/offf, you can change the settings for dismemberment probabilties, and you can turn on/off saber realistic combat so that you can have blood without the saber killing people by just walking near them.

Enjoy!

[Usurper]

Ex-Dragon
04-22-2002, 01:28 PM
Personally I wouldn't use that patch......lightsabers should cauterize the wound instead of causing a blood bath

LessThanJake
04-22-2002, 01:30 PM
**** "realism", go for blood yeah! thx!

Con. Snake
04-22-2002, 01:37 PM
I was more interested in the "Uncut" part...

Irimi-Ai
04-22-2002, 02:36 PM
can somone who has it installed post screenshots please? I'm at work so i can't test it, and i want to know what it looks like so i can know whether i want to download tonight when i get home.

Irimi-Ai

Usurper
04-22-2002, 05:31 PM
Here are 3 screenshots for your viewing pleasure.
#2 is my personal favorite :)

http://www.proactivedesigns.com/jk2/

Let me know what you guys think of this new mod.
Enjoy!

[Usurper]

S!TH!NAT0R
04-22-2002, 06:25 PM
Freakin' nice! Thanx for the linky and cool screenshots Usurper!;) :D :D

Zek
04-22-2002, 06:46 PM
Not bad, but be forewarned that this WILL replace game files(jk2sp.exe and jk2gamex86.dll, both of which are put in a BACKUP folder for you beforehand), and is a bit of a pain to uninstall(rename the backed up files and put them in the main folder, then delete the files placed in base directory).

In retrospect, I'm not sure jk2gamex86.dll was even there in the first place, can someone that hasn't installed this clarify for me?

Edit: Nevermind, found it. If you prefer, you can get the same files off the CD.

Irimi-Ai
04-22-2002, 07:23 PM
thanks for the pics. the effect looks a lot better than i thought it would. i still don't think i'm going to install it, though. the addition of blood is not worth the trouble of having to uninstall it every time i want to play without it. does it cause problems in MP?

Irimi-Ai

S!TH!NAT0R
04-22-2002, 07:49 PM
This is a nice little touch in the SP game. No too much and not too little. Unrealistic, but cool to see.;) -Though, the in-game sub-menu thats created is in German and the Read-Me is in German as well. Sure hope an English version becomes available:p
-Btw, I've been messing around w/ the JK][ Radient and it's pretty damn nice! -Gonna start work on a Hoth FFA map soon:D

Usurper
04-22-2002, 08:40 PM
Uninstalling is not a problem.
All you have to do is create a batch file that will automatically
restore the original files.

I am going to create one of my own.
If anyone wants it when im done, let me know.

[Usurper]

Tinny
04-22-2002, 10:31 PM
i think troopers and dark jedi have to have red blood, but hte other alien creature have ot have like green and weird blood, not goofy lookign, just alienish

Capt DirtBag
04-22-2002, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by Usurper
Uninstalling is not a problem.
All you have to do is create a batch file that will automatically
restore the original files.

I am going to create one of my own.
If anyone wants it when im done, let me know.

[Usurper]
Yes please I would like that batch file once you have created it thanks, I am abit new to this.

Irimi-Ai
04-23-2002, 12:36 AM
thanks for the offer, but not thanks. i don't think uninstalling is that big of a deal. i just don't want to have to install/uninstall the mod every time i want to play with or without it. too much of a pain. i don't think it's one that i would always have active or use. i think i'd switch a lot.

Irimi-Ai

TigerClaw
04-23-2002, 01:02 AM
Will there be a blood patch for the multiplayer?, I would like to see that in any of the multiplayer games to add more realism?

Usurper
04-23-2002, 03:44 AM
It works when you host your own game against bots or humans, but not when you connect to a server without the patch.

[Usurper]

SPY_jmr1
04-23-2002, 04:01 AM
question: what happens when you join a pure server? will it toss you for impure files?

also; the germen. I managed to guess most of it, useing my really bad germen skills, but a list of the choises in the new menu(zensure) would really be helpful. I'd do it myself but I am quite bad at germen ;) a germen/english speeker would do so much better...:D

Capt DirtBag
04-23-2002, 05:40 AM
Originally posted by Usurper
It works when you host your own game against bots or humans, but not when you connect to a server without the patch.

[Usurper]
Yea I agree a english conversion would be appreciated!!

Capt DirtBag
04-23-2002, 05:43 AM
Originally posted by SPY_jmr1
question: what happens when you join a pure server? will it toss you for impure files?

also; the germen. I managed to guess most of it, useing my really bad germen skills, but a list of the choises in the new menu(zensure) would really be helpful. I'd do it myself but I am quite bad at germen ;) a germen/english speeker would do so much better...:D

Sorry ignore the quote above this post my mistake!!

I meant it for this post!!

Kurgan
04-23-2002, 06:39 AM
This is much more true to the movies, thanks for posting this!

Somebody submit it to files@jediknightii.net btw.. I'm going to bed.. ; p

D.L.
04-23-2002, 06:54 AM
I hated this patch. Whenever sabers clash the sparks were replaces with blood.

On my version anyway.

Skrig
04-23-2002, 07:28 AM
...is it possible to just have the uncut dismember effect without the blood???+ Does it work in MP???

D.L.
04-23-2002, 07:40 AM
It's not a dismemberment patch.

To enable dismemberment quicky just bring up the console (shift and ~)

Type helpusobi 1

then g_saberrealisticcombat 1

phantom_matt
04-23-2002, 08:45 AM
does the patch work in multi player?
and does the dismemberment also work in multi player.
:atat: :ewok:

CupO'Coffee
04-23-2002, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by D.L.
It's not a dismemberment patch.

To enable dismemberment quicky just bring up the console (shift and ~)

Type helpusobi 1

then g_saberrealisticcombat 1

according to Jedi Knight II .Net (http://www.jediknightii.net) the commands g_saberrealisticcombat 2 and g_saberrealisticcombat 3 have also a certain affect, one which i am not certain about at this time. i think that it increases the amount of the body parts that can be cut off, but im not sure

Usurper
04-23-2002, 02:20 PM
If some of you are having trouble getting dismemberment to work, I have created an autoexec.cfg file that goes in the base dir that will automaticly enable dismemberment, increase the probabilty of it happening, and will also disable auto-aim, i HATE auto-aim because it is too twitchy.

And NO, blood patch does not work in MP.

And the blood patch does not need translating, the menu options are pretty self explanitory.

If you really need the readme or the options translated,..go here...
Google.com has a german -> english translator.

http://www.google.com/language_tools?hl=en

[Usurper]

Usurper
04-23-2002, 03:11 PM
Capt DirtBag:

Please give me your contact info so I can send you my Blood Patch Uninstaller.

[Usurper]

SPY_jmr1
04-23-2002, 03:14 PM
Originally posted by Usurper
And the blood patch does not need translating, the menu options are pretty self explanitory.

If you really need the readme or the options translated,..go here...
Google.com has a german -> english translator.

http://www.google.com/language_tools?hl=en

[Usurper]

yes MOST of them. but not all. some of them left me saying"wtf???"

once its translated into english, it will most likely be something so simple, its stupid.

next time i go to the liberry, i will pick up a germen dictnionery(sp?) and hand translate it.(google and babble fish, are almost 100% nasty)

Kurgan
04-23-2002, 07:05 PM
fyi, I forwarded the "uninstaller" batch file to files@jediknightii.net that might be helpful to some people.

Whenever sabers clash the sparks were replaces with blood.

On my version anyway.

Oops, maybe somebody could fix that?

Usurper
04-23-2002, 07:59 PM
I have tested this out and have not experienced a problem with saber sparks turning into blood.

Please provide a screenshot if you can.

Usurper
04-23-2002, 08:11 PM
Here is a screenshot from a saber lock from my game.
I have the blood patch installed.
Everything appears to be normal.

http://proactivedesigns.com/jk2/shot0032.jpg

Capt DirtBag
04-23-2002, 11:24 PM
Originally posted by Usurper
Capt DirtBag:

Please give me your contact info so I can send you my Blood Patch Uninstaller.

[Usurper]

Usurper just go into my Profile and my email should be in there now for you, thanks for your help muchly appreciated!

Usurper
04-24-2002, 12:12 PM
I would,..but it says,..
"The email function has been disabled by the Admin"

[Usurper]