PDA

View Full Version : A command Bump Mapping?


eV_Illuminati X
04-22-2002, 03:25 PM
Is there a code to enable this?? just wondered cause u can see it in some of the lucas arts screens the earlier 1s. I just think the reflections of lighting and sabers would look sw33t :D

eV_Illuminati X
04-22-2002, 03:38 PM
for example this picture.

http://www.lucasarts.com/products/outcast/screens.jsp?num=5

CheshireKat
04-22-2002, 03:46 PM
That reflection on the floor is already possible in JO and in Q3. But they probably pulled this out due to Frame Rates. I saw some maps they were playing in the Alpha State, and they had plenty of reflective floors.

Right now I get 60 FPS, but when two characters are in front of me it drops to under 40FPS. Start adding effectls like lightning and Drain and things really get sad at that point. And though my PC is not top notch, it isn't crap either.

All they have to do is add the shader to the maps, so bump mapping would not help this at all.

eV_Illuminati X
04-22-2002, 05:30 PM
Ah ok thanks. I get about 140-170 fps @ 1280x1024 so it should be ok if they make maps using that shader thing.

eV_Illuminati X
04-22-2002, 05:40 PM
but would it be able to be made so u can have it on or off depending if ur comp can run it well? or would there be different versions of the map?