PDA

View Full Version : EUREKA!!! Assimilate & Carcass mistery cracked


BloodRiot
04-23-2002, 11:00 PM
Ok i've figured out Assimilate and Carcass for compiling GLM models.

Extract the _humanoid.gla file from the assets0.pk3 file.

Carcass apparently doesnt like long filenames, so create a "base" folder on the root of your disc.

Then move the "models" folder containing the _Humanoid.gla to that "base" dir you just created.

You need to have a XSI model... move it to the X:\base\models\player\Y\ folder -> Xbeing the Drive and Y being the character name folder

copy the _humanoid to the Y folder

Also move the carcass.exe to the base folder or root... it doesnt matter. (dunno if it's necessary but I'll say so anyway)

Then open Assimilate. Go to EDIT and then Preferences. insert the file Paths for carcass.exe and the base dir(leave this one empty if the filepath is repeated - You'll get an error message saying that the file cannot be found if it does repeat)

Go to FILE and select Add file and select the _humanoid.gla in the Y folder.

Double click on the folder icon that appears below and selct "remove duplicate verts" and "make ef1-type .skin" then click ok

Go to file and save on the Y folder... it will create a .CAR file

Make sure than in the Y folder you have 3 files before compiling, and those files must have these exact names.
*Root.xsi
*Model.car
*_humanoid.gla

Then click on Build.

VOILA...you have a GLM model.

PS: I only managed to make this work on the XSI files that came with the tools. I didn't manage to do the same for my Fett model.
Still on it. I'll post more if i Crack that mistery as well.

If anyone else has already uncovered this mistery before i post this thread... Damn you for making me burn my brains :p

Update: A model from scratch MUST be assigned to the bone structure. Which is basically what me and SithLord-II are working on. After we get it done we will compile a tutorial on how to do the whole thing.

L2.0
04-23-2002, 11:06 PM
Good job Blood. Each day, more of the mystery is resolved.

ethanbv
04-23-2002, 11:11 PM
Mein Gott.

You are a friggin' master. :)

BloodRiot
04-23-2002, 11:15 PM
Well i still have to figure out what goes wrong with 3ds max built from scratch models.

I can't add my Fett model yet.

Dunno if it's a total model Screw up.. or simply there's still some work to be done with the model before i can do the glm compiling.

Well...at least it allows us to edit the Kyle and stormtrooper XSI's that come with the tools.

If anyone has any leads regarding built from scratch models lemme know ASAP.

BloodRiot
04-24-2002, 12:51 AM
Well... sithlord and I were looking into things and it seems Sith has got a pretty good theory on how it works... and it's pretty damned complicated.... it's gonna take a while.

Hope our models can still be of any good and not complete duds. Sith thinks we can still do it. Just gonna take the time needed to figure out that part.

spacermonkey
04-24-2002, 12:24 PM
blood riot was your model uvwmapped? attached to the bones? tags? etc.. ?if not then thats probally your problem I havent tried out your method yet but I'll give it a go later on. Nice work:D

BloodRiot
04-24-2002, 06:20 PM
We've nailled it down to the bone structure issue... currently working on it.

Stay tunned.

spacermonkey
04-24-2002, 06:39 PM
I tried your method but it wouldnt work for me. :confused: :mad:

Orbitšl
04-24-2002, 06:57 PM
Well I'm a newbie thru & thru when it comes to modelling.
Anyways I am curious as to whether or not these 'tools' will let us edit the Jan model (i.e. JediF) for future skinning purposes, etc?







~Orbital

A101
04-24-2002, 07:18 PM
GAH! I'm getting "Error: Vert (63) on mesh "Cube_05" has no weights", even though I've given all the verts a weight... Though I can't find the bloody Vert 63 to check if it has a wheight :swear:

Does anyone know how to specify a specific Vert to be selected? As I don't really want to go through over 1400 verts to find it...

BloodRiot
04-24-2002, 07:30 PM
It's frustrating i know... we are working on it.

Prophet
04-24-2002, 08:39 PM
I think I'll finish mapping and modelling my mesh first, before I have a crack at this. Sounds complicated, but I hope you guys will figure it out.

Octavius
04-25-2002, 01:52 AM
Thanks god, I thought I was an idiot for not being able to get my custom model to convert correctly. Damned errors!

Also a thought -- I am new to modelling, so I have been experimenting with existing md3 models trying to see how the tools work. As far as doing the modelling from scratch -- does anyone know a good place to find tutorials? Just to get my feet wet. I have basic ideas for modifying existing models, but need good references for creating things from scratch - right down to creating bones...

Yes, I know, I am a noob to it, and if someone says RTFM I am gonna go postal. I am using Gmax due to money constraints.

Also -- I noticed that there is a way to convert an md3 to glm - but I could not seem to get the animations to stick -- and when I try to get that to work - it gives me errors about the md3 only being allowed to have 1 frame...

I guess what I need is for someone to write up complete tutorials on what each of the tools do, and how to get them to work... (mainly for modelling, I don't care about JOradiant)

i.e. what is the deal with Assimilate? 1) does each model HAVE to have an XSI file in order to be able to compile it? I can compile the included Kyle model, but without the proper software, how am I supposed to get an xsi for all my models?
2) if it is not necessary to use Assimilate.exe to compile a custom model - how to you make that model use the _humanoid.gla default animations using something else like md3view.exe? I was able to get an md3 into gla format - but like I said - no animations were attached to it... hmmm....

Damn them Raven boys for releasing tools without giving us an idea how to make them work!

-addition- also - I seem to remember them saying some time ago that they would be releasing tools that would let us use custom models AS WELL AS EDIT EXISTING GLM MODELS... sooo how exactly are we supposed to get these damned glm models editable? I want to have a Jan model without all that extra stuff (jacket, etc...) and can't do anything to make it work without having a way to convert exiting glm models out to another format, or at elast have a tool that allows us to import glm into gmax or otherwise...

evilhomernz
04-25-2002, 02:11 AM
i am having the EXACT SAME ISSUE as him:( im a n00b to modeling and im no were near good enoguh to make my own i do however have many ideas and the abilitys to alter existing models i would absoluly love to hear answers to octavius' quesiton coz ive asked a few times and i havnt heard any results and really realyl wann know:(

BloodRiot
04-25-2002, 02:18 AM
We can only work with what we got.

Wait for more releases.

The way to use assimilate is I described above. I too am stuck on editing the kyle and stormtrooper xsi that come with the tools.

When I find out more.. I'll post a complete tutorial.

evilhomernz
04-25-2002, 02:34 AM
thnx man you guys rock:)

seantree
04-25-2002, 02:42 AM
wonder what exactly the "makes own skeleton" option does when double clicking the gla file?? man, these tools with no docs really sucks.

BloodRiot
04-25-2002, 03:00 AM
The make own skeleton is to use with an XSI not a gla.. that option wont work with a gla.

UniKorn
04-25-2002, 06:07 AM
Bloodriot when you figured it out to import stuff from 3DSMax, can you let me know?

sithlord-II
04-25-2002, 06:32 AM
we will have the information available soon
:)

senkusha
04-25-2002, 01:56 PM
Managed to get a model in the game, sort of. Look at this to see what I mean.
http://home.earthlink.net/~senkusha/shot0002.jpg
As you can see, the origin is just a "little" screwed up at the moment. I'm trying to get that to work now. This isn't a full blown new character, I'm using the testG2Model command, but at least it's in the game. Oh, and for those that are curious, I only used the bottom half of the model, so that I wouldn't have spent hours rigging the model to the skeleton.

spacermonkey
04-25-2002, 02:02 PM
senkusha -
did you just use regular bones from max? or none at all?
how did you compile it with carcass? I cant get that thing working..

:biggs:

senkusha
04-25-2002, 02:18 PM
Yeah, I used plain bones and the skin modifier. It was a trial and error process of getting the model to compile with assimilate and carcass. I'll be writing a guide that shows what I did in the not so distant future. But I have a feeling that it'll be a general process and can't cover every error that carcass throws our way, as I haven't seen them all yet I'm sure. If you want, I can walk you through the process of what I did and see if that works for you, that way I can make sure it works and then have a tutorial that has someone else's thoughts as well.

spacermonkey
04-25-2002, 02:41 PM
yeah I'd apprecaite if you could post the steps you took. I'm sure between us all here we could work out the jist of it all.

delquar
04-26-2002, 06:40 PM
Well... i went for the easi(er) route to edit a current model (shadowtrooper) and well, i got it to be in assim. but i can't figure out how to make sure everything is there, i added nothing, just point moved some stuff. and when i makes it, it looks like kyle, is there a specifiv xsi or _humanoid for it? cause i can't find one and am quite confused

Nivoset/Delquar

emorog
05-02-2002, 09:06 PM
do NOT put _humanoid in your folder. put it in _humanoid.
that is where all our models will be looking for it and it's where your's should too. Otherwise you'd have to send your _humanoid.gla with your model and you don't want to do that.
I actually had it in the tools pack for a while, but it bloated the package by 9 MB. Look in the skinning instructions for how to extract _humanoid.gla.

sorry i didn't have time to write any guides or anything else aobut this for tools release1. (It was only intended to be for map editing) But since it took so long to get approved, i figured i'd just throw the modeling stuff in as well.

emorog
05-02-2002, 09:11 PM
my max plugin is designed to read and write xsi files using max4's built in bones and weighting.

oh, and the convert to md3 is only for static models. i.e. it won't copy animations.

UniKorn
05-03-2002, 06:48 AM
Any progress?

Spider312
05-06-2002, 12:26 AM
Well. I tried something simple. I imported the Kyle XSI model into 3DS Max 4.2. I just added a sphere to kyles head to see if I can get any model edits into a glm. No luck. I get the same error "Vert 1 on Triangle has no weight". It's pretty obvious this wont be easy, especially for the Fett model. I'll keep working, check the Q&A and let you know if I can get anything to work. Good Luck Bloodriot. I can't wait to see this guy working.

sithlord-II
05-06-2002, 05:34 AM
easiest way to deal with this: ie. what blood and i have had to do for our models

1)create model, properly sized and posed, as well as named properly (head, torso, torso_waist, etc etc... see kyle for examples... heh)
to properly size and pose it i imported kyle's XSI, deleted his mesh, then superimposed my mesh over the skeleton and tags for kyle's mesh

2)apply skin modifiers to each part of model, in order to attach the model to the bones. i recommend applying a base, flat texture to the mesh when doing this(even if you already have a full texture made, use a flat text then reapply the finished one) in order to see the weights, in solid rendered mode, not wireframe.
Add bone, edit envelope, then paint weights will do the trick. Stuff that is blue is unassigned, red is completely assigned, yellow orange etc is mixed weighting between bones.

3)apply tags etc to model as well - see kyle files for examples, i'm just using the already-made ones from kyle's root.xsi files.

4)export the model from 3d studio into XSI format, into the _humanoid.gla folder (or in the end, whichever folder will house your custom animation set, in order to apply that skeletal animation set to the mesh.)

thats to get started.
If you don't have the skin modifier applied, completely to every vertex on the mesh, including tags, caps, and mesh parts, you will simply get an error in assimilate/carcass

Spider312
05-06-2002, 02:48 PM
Excellent. Thank you.

DarthCobra
05-16-2002, 01:51 AM
*BUMP*

cause im sick of diggin for it ;)

Plz continue this discussion...