PDA

View Full Version : Plugin for Gmax?


Duncan_10158
04-23-2002, 11:51 PM
I got Gmax and that plugin from the SDK that should import and export XSI format. But it doesn't work!

Is this plugin only for 3ds max 4 and not for Gmax?

Or do i have to put this plugin in a special folder? I added a new path in customize>configure paths options to the right folder. But every startup i received an errormessage.

What did i wrong? Help me.

CheshireKat
04-24-2002, 12:55 AM
Yes, but I saw someone in the general editing forum had figured out a way around this anyways. So dig around. It's a bit confusint in there right now, so good luck!

L2.0
04-24-2002, 01:29 PM
just rename it's extension to i *think* .dle

Duncan_10158
04-24-2002, 03:38 PM
There are ways to dig around, as you say CheshireKat. Something with exporting to MD3 and load it ino the MD3-Viewer and then export to GLM. But i can't use original models and it works only one way. I also don't know, if i get problems with the animations?

It is also not posilble to rename the plugin. I tried to rename to .dle and .dlu. allway the same error.

I am far from "A New Hope", but thx for suggestions.

ShodiKGian
04-24-2002, 06:01 PM
As far as importing XSI, you can do so with Milkshape, and presumably export it to gmax. But there does not seem to be a tool for allowing exporting of XSI format ... at least that I can find. I'd be willing to write a convertion tool to take something like 3ds and convert it to XSI, but I need file specs to work from ... I don't have the time to hack the file formats from scratch.

If anyone knows of resources for fileformats like OBJ, DXF, 3DS, MS3D, and XSI let me know.

As for making 3d MAX 4 plugins work with GMAX, I saw that post somewhere, but at the time it didn't seem important. If anyone remembers how to tweak these plugins, I'd like to know because I don't want to make a convertion tool for nothing :)

Duncan_10158
04-24-2002, 09:13 PM
I tried to import XSI files to Milkshape, as you suggest Shodi, but i got a lot of crashs. The XSI files seems to be to big or are not imported correctly.

Its great to see people solving these problems. But its also weird to make a converter for 3DS to XSI and then use the original converter for XSI to GLM. there have to be an easier way.

But if only that goes, i am absolutly entusiastic for your idea.

ShodiKGian
04-25-2002, 03:29 AM
The XSI importer does work but Milkshape crashes if you don't have enough memory for the larger models.

Right now, I'm using another program to do the conversions as per my other post. It works very well actually and handles a mess of different file types. The problem with it is that it is only trial ware and the full package costs a good deal of money (worth it though for how much it does, I just have to justify it in my head to pay for it :) )

:boushh:

Duncan_10158
04-25-2002, 07:59 AM
You are right, it was a memory problem.

This other program you talking about, is it Deep Exporation? It looks very interesting in many ways but its not chep at all, as you said.