View Full Version : Superman cape screenshots

04-25-2002, 01:25 AM
Well here we are, finaly got the bloody thing to work,
As you can see the polycount on this is low but never the less it does look good.

Will be released tommorow

Comments welcome




04-25-2002, 01:29 AM
wow! i didnt know superman had a fro! ;)

but seriously, that is REALLY good. great job (xpecially the saber!) keep it up!

Cmdr. Antilles
04-25-2002, 01:31 AM
Looks realy good, man! :)

One thing... the cape is REALLY red compared the to washed out look of his... underwear... Is that what you were going for?

Either way, excellent skin!

04-25-2002, 01:33 AM
Hey man,

That looks excellent! I like the saber!

04-25-2002, 01:35 AM
cheers m8 .....Well the saber was an added extra to make him just abit more special, but the big deal was the cape ....everyone wanted a cape for him,

but i wanted to make the cape look extra curvy,

Mr. Spanky
04-25-2002, 01:57 AM
Was the cape skin from a custom Freedom Force skin? Looks great!

04-25-2002, 01:58 AM

ok we gotta talk.. how in blazes did you managed to put that model in game?

Using max 4 with the import/export plugin provided by Raven... even if u just import the model..then export it without any changes... the model wont compile in assimilate.

Could you please tell me and sith how in blazes you did that?
We are both stumped here.

04-25-2002, 02:11 AM
yeh i used a custom freedom force skin ....

How did i do it
okay i designed the cape in lightwave 7.0 then imported to 3ds
then opened up in 3dmax used the export to md3 somthing like that, then loaded it up in MD3View.exe then once loaded up exported to glm and then, loaded up my superman, Lando as a default, and attached to cape to the model saved as a glm so then the model had'nt changed i just added somthing on to it, hence the low polycount for the cape replace the Lando default to the new default skin ....then added the skin to the model folder and showed the default skin where to put the cape skin and ...................Done.


04-25-2002, 02:27 AM
but is it an edited model or just an accessorie?

I'm not following what you meant.. or just didnt understand..sorry.

04-25-2002, 02:34 AM
no its a new model m8
with a new super cape.jpg texture

listen all you have to do is make sure that the model knows where to look for the skin.

in the model_default_super.skin you have texture paths,
all i did was added in this


i and saved it and done worked first time lol yeh right
okay then the 100th time.


04-25-2002, 02:54 AM
hey m8 bloodriot was saying (coz he is doing a awsoem fett model) anyways he was asking ifthe WHOLE MODEL (superman and all) is an altered model not jsut the cape as in did you get the lando MODEL out and change HIM or jsut do a model for the cape?

04-25-2002, 02:58 AM
yes its a new cape ...Lando stays the same

you have to do that otherwise the game itself reads from the


notices a file etc wrong with the model, i guess the game would crash, Well actauly saying that it did a few times,

04-25-2002, 03:08 AM
argh, I've been battling with puting my model in the game for hours.. does this mean its not possible? because it defaults back to kyle when i try to load my model.

04-25-2002, 03:11 AM
if ya send it to me i'll try to get it in the game for ya

my e.mail address is Lovetttony@hotmail.com

04-25-2002, 03:12 AM
cool, sending now
its only 1 frame for now so just wanting to see if i can get it in before animating it :)

04-25-2002, 03:13 AM
no probs

04-25-2002, 04:17 AM
Lovett, Are you saying that you can get a New Player Model Into JO?

I read everything, but you lost the hell out of me.

I heard someone had gotten some models in, but never heard from the guy again.

Please tell me you figured it out, and that it's simple...

04-25-2002, 07:23 AM

I was using your skin last night and I saw 2 problems with it.

1) When using the skin myself, ol' Supes has no neck. You could see the saber through the gap where his neck was supposed to be.

2) When used as a bot, all I got was Lando in regular clothes with some red underwear on. Amsuing sure, but a bug for definite.

Good work altogether. I'll 100% be upgrading when you release this.

04-25-2002, 08:08 AM
The whole in the neck has gone now hence the cape being there

04-25-2002, 11:24 AM
Bumpety bump:D

04-25-2002, 11:47 AM
Nice work, I'm glad you pushed yourself. Aren't you glad that you can release it now instead of the first version you had?

Project Lead / Mapper 4 Wired Lamp Studios

04-25-2002, 11:55 AM
yeh thanx m8

If you keep trying you can acomplish anything,

Evan Nash
04-25-2002, 01:39 PM
Hey man.

Just curious.

How come your Superman has ornage tights and boots? Make it red like the cape. =)

04-25-2002, 03:08 PM
I just wonder if you can make him fly on real??

Like the jetpack in jk 1 dark forces 2 that someone did

That should be very cool!!! :)

04-25-2002, 03:18 PM
ha well i just passed him over to single player lol looks good on the ladder duel level, Added the music from the superman movie,
and a taunt,

i thought about trying to get him to fly, but then i thought slow gravity down and jump and you clearly see him flying just he dont come down for ages


04-25-2002, 03:29 PM
I don't think he should be able to fly.

Once Force Jump is at full, it's fine.

Cannot wait for this skin.

Will it be a combined download (saber and skin) or seperate?

04-25-2002, 03:31 PM
it will be everything in one pk3

04-25-2002, 06:20 PM
hope it comes out soon!

04-29-2002, 02:19 PM
I just wonder if you have finished it Yet??

You said it shold be out tommorow (26 april now it is 29 april)

is it out yet or do you have trouble with the cape??

if its out were can i get it??:D

04-29-2002, 02:26 PM
The cape will be available soon, i have been busy working so not much time to spare but im working on a skeleton for the cape so when the wind hits it or you jump then the cape moves and waves about.


04-30-2002, 05:46 AM
I remeber in the other thread you said something about the supers saber being a seperate and new saber in the game. if so how did you do that or did i just read it wrong ?


04-30-2002, 02:31 PM
ahh yes my super saber ......im trying to do what you said make it a seperate saber now this can be done in 2 diffrent ways ...make a seperate folder called super cape then put everything from the main saber folder into my super saber folder then pack it into a pk3 file then load and what you should see there is ten diffrent sabers all the same 5 from default and an extra 5 for super saber


04-30-2002, 09:47 PM
Dude . . .I had a GREAT idea. How about instead of saying it will be out tomorrow and then not releasing it "tomorrow" . . . how about you try this, don't set a release date until you can actually release it on time. I don't know about everyone else but I think that is a good idea.

04-30-2002, 10:07 PM
Amzing work !! You seem to really know your stuff!

I am a newbie skinner myself, and have ran into a couple nasty problems...if I were to send a .pk3 or 2 to ya would you possibly please help me fix them on your off time? If not whatever, no biggy, just trying to get my skins off the ground.

04-30-2002, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by D.L.
I don't think he should be able to fly.

Once Force Jump is at full, it's fine.

Cannot wait for this skin.

Will it be a combined download (saber and skin) or seperate?

As I recall the very original Superman character couldn't fly, he could just simply leap like with force jump.


Rabid Jawa
04-30-2002, 11:00 PM
I really like how the cape waves back and forth, adds to the *realism* of jedi outcast. its pretty cool that it waves back and forth... I can't even make a model much less new animations but if I can get someone else to make models to work with then I'm happy. And just curious... are you going to make any different skins along these lines or other themes? :jawa :jedijawa: :crawler: :jaw2: :eets:

04-30-2002, 11:34 PM
NewBJedi . . . Superman could always fly dude . . . I don't think he did in the first comic though, but that was because he didn't quite have a hang of his powers. If you watch all 4 of the movies they are pretty acurate.

05-01-2002, 01:09 AM

I'll ignore the comment from zeek2304

yes i have been working on a batman, supergirl, buffy the vampire slayer, and robocop,

just been a bit busy with work
Will do some more over the weekend.


P.s Send me the skin m8 i'll take a look at it
I'll be happy to help.

05-01-2002, 01:11 AM

LOL that looks so funny seeing superman run around the massassi with a friggen SuperSaber in hand and a wavy cape.

Ahahaha what will they think of next.

But good job dude, looks great! Especially the "Super Saber!"

Does he come with a super flying ability, laser vision, cold breath, the ability to see through walls, and leap buildings in a single bound!? Well, the bounding part you can but you need Force Jump :)

05-01-2002, 01:26 AM


i'll get back to ya on that one JediGhost[SITH]


05-02-2002, 09:55 PM
Ignore my comment? I'll I'm suggesting is that if it isn't going to be out "tomorrow" don't say it will.

05-03-2002, 12:03 AM
looks cool i guess.,..

05-03-2002, 01:50 AM
Why does he have a footprint behind the head in the 1st pic?