PDA

View Full Version : SP Dismemberment Confusion


godless_hordes
04-25-2002, 11:31 PM
Ok, I know there's been a lot of talk about this subject already, but I'm experiencing something that for me at least seems unusual.

I'm aware of 3 ways to do dismemberment in the Single Player game. One method works for me, but the other two don't appear to work at all. The problem with method the method that works is that it allegedly makes the 'saber too powerful -- i.e., it's a genuine cheat and not just a visual option. I'd like to be able to slice and dice without making the game any easier than it is supposed to be. If an experienced person out there can tell me what I'm doing wrong with the other two methods I can't get to work, I'd appreciate it. I'm testing the effectiveness of the methods in the "Ladder" mod.

Method A (doesn't work): enyak_mutilate.pk3 mod, unzipped into the GameDate\Base\ directory.

Method B (doesn't work): use the console to set

g_dismemberment 3
g_dismembermentprobabilities 0

Method C (works, but may unbalance gameplay): use the console to set

helpusobi 1
g_saberRealisticCombat 1

Can anybody offer tips for methods A and B?

Grazie!

The Seeker
04-26-2002, 12:56 AM
Yeah, I don't use method 3 either cause I don't like cheats typically, but for #2, did you do the helpusobi 1 thing beforehand? Because #2 works perfectly for me.

Zek
04-26-2002, 01:22 AM
I'm not ashamed to have used SaberRealisticCombat in Jedi Master my second time through SP. It's a little easier, but it makes the saber feel so much more real; if you slash someone through the torso, they're going to be in two pieces, period. Makes the game much more enjoyable in my opinion.

PsiSilverthorn
04-26-2002, 01:50 AM
Originally posted by godless_hordes

Method A (doesn't work): enyak_mutilate.pk3 mod, unzipped into the GameDate\Base\ directory.

Grazie!

By unzipped do you mean you changed the .pk3 ending to .zip and then unzipped it? If that's what you did then you you did it wrong. All you have to do is place the enyak_mutilate.pk3 file in GameData\Base\ and play. That's all there is to it! Just make sure the .pk3 file is in the Base directory and not in some other subdirectory. If you have done this I don't know why it doesn't work. It works great for me.

godless_hordes
04-26-2002, 04:01 AM
Thanks for your replies! Quick update:

Method A seems to work, I think: after playing the ladder for a while I was able to lop off a couple of heads and a leg, a couple of hands (but those are standard). Not nearly as spectacular as the "division with every death" one gets from saberRealisticCombat, but better than nothing, and I think I can perceive that I have to do a little more work this way to win. I might go into bisection-withdrawal, though.

A question about method A...does the config file it substitutes into the game overwrite any AI adjustments made by setting the difficulty level of the game?

Method B still eludes me. A few hands, nothing more, and I'm pretty sure I got some good shots in.

Method C is still the winner for visceral thrills. I notice that with Methods A and B I don't see Kyle getting dismembered when I cock up. Is that typical? Half the fun of fighting Tavion is, when I fail, seeing Kyle's noggin' fly into space as that domi-saber-ix performs her leaping pirouette-decapitation move.

Maybe the thing to do is to create a mod that incorporates Method C with improvements to the aggression, accuracy, shields, and evasion of the NPC enemy bots. As long as you're fighting other saber-wielders the advantage it confers isn't so great...it's the ability to mow down troopers like the Grim Reaper that unbalances things. Hm....

PS - No, I wasn't unzipping the .pk3 itself. But to get the .pk3 I had to unzip the .zip containing the .pk3 ... you get the idea.

PsiSilverthorn
04-26-2002, 06:18 AM
No it doesn't alter the AI in ANY way...Al it does is change the chance you will dismember upon a kill. And no you will not get the same dismember every time that the "realistic saber" command gives you but you also don't get the change in damage computations either. Believe me you will see plenty of dismembers with the changed NPC.cfg file. It was more than enough to satisfy my more morbid desires :) I cut them in half plenty of times as well as other dismembers. Seeing heads roll, etc all the time would get pretty boring to me.

JNO_Blues
04-26-2002, 06:34 AM
I've been having problems with dismemberment in multiplayer. No matter what I set the values to the game exits telling me that some file is corrupted when someone's torso or head is supposed to fall off. I tried reinstalling, but that didn't work either.

godless_hordes
04-26-2002, 12:16 PM
Originally posted by JNO_Blues
I've been having problems with dismemberment in multiplayer. No matter what I set the values to the game exits telling me that some file is corrupted when someone's torso or head is supposed to fall off. I tried reinstalling, but that didn't work either.

Ah, well, now...that's a bug. Happens to pretty much everybody, if what I'm reading on the forums is accurate.

godless_hordes
04-26-2002, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by PsiSilverthorn
No it doesn't alter the AI in ANY way...Al it does is change the chance you will dismember upon a kill. And no you will not get the same dismember every time that the "realistic saber" command gives you but you also don't get the change in damage computations either. Believe me you will see plenty of dismembers with the changed NPC.cfg file. It was more than enough to satisfy my more morbid desires :) I cut them in half plenty of times as well as other dismembers. Seeing heads roll, etc all the time would get pretty boring to me.

I dunno...when I was playing with the realistic saber, I left a rivers of body parts in my wake, and all the time I thought, "Yessssss. THIS is what ROTJ should have looked like!"

<evil grin>

Usurper
04-26-2002, 02:26 PM
>Method B (doesn't work): use the console to set
>
>g_dismemberment 3
>g_dismembermentprobabilities 0

Hello!

What does not work about this method?
This is the setting that I use and recommend to others.

It does not decapitate/sever limbs ALL of the time, just more often than not. I think it provides a good, not over-done amount of dismemberment and also preserves the original lesser viciousness of the saber.

godless_hordes
04-26-2002, 05:35 PM
Hi Usurper! (I think I just asked you this question in the "Chopping Limbs" thread, but here goes...)

Maybe I'm just not being patient enough, but it seems to me that with this method nothing ever gets lopped off but the occasional hand. I'm guessing that in fifteen minutes of playing the Ladder there ought to be a bit more than that.

Am I entering the commands correctly? This is what I type:

~
HelpUsObi 1
g_dismemberment 3
g_dismemberprobabilities 0
~

Thanks!

Tain
04-26-2002, 10:57 PM
heres what i enter, and it works great for me

helpusobi 1

g_saberrealisticcombat 1

g_dismemberment 9

CM_Third
04-27-2002, 12:18 AM
Try

Helpusobi 1
g_saberealisticcombat 3
g_disembermentprobabilities 0

godless_hordes
04-27-2002, 12:41 AM
Wow! What a lot of combinations. g_saberRealistic 1 works great -- a bisection with every death -- but now I have that nagging feeling that the game's too easy when I use it. I've finally got Usurper's formula working, but now I have the nagging irritation of seeing my saber deliver fatal blows without bisecting anything much of the time, although it does deliver very nice dismemberments some of the time.

What a choice, what a choice.... :-)

Usurper
04-27-2002, 12:43 AM
No need to type helpusobi 1, as the other commands are not cheats.

After typing g_dismemberment 3,....
type g_dismemberment and it will tell you what it is set to

If you have them set to those settings that I explained, then you should be seeing dismemberment happening more frequently than before.

Also, you might want to make an autoexec.cfg file in your base directory that automaticaly loads those commands so you dont have to type them in each time you play.

If you need help with that, I can give you my file and you can edit it as you see fit.

[Usurper]

CM_Third
04-27-2002, 12:53 AM
you have to do helpusobi 1 if you use g_SaberRealisticCombat 3 if you try without the enable all cheats cheat then it doesnt work, says g_SaberRealisticCombat is cheat protected.