PDA

View Full Version : This forum seems useless... :-(


technodrill
04-26-2002, 05:46 PM
This forum seems useless since many people need help and cant find it here.
Neither Raven nor Lucasarts is suppoorting the Editor. :-(
There isn't even a manual for JK2Radiant's differences from GtkRadiant.
I guess there just arent enough mappers. Questions would be answered more quickly.
Respect to the few people who do help. ;-)
I have a lot of problems with compiling my map right now. lots of errors and stuff... (MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY exceeded,...)
I have NO IDEA where to find info that can help me.
I tried getting some here... but no... threads are viewed but not answered. :-(
This is a shame because I was so thrilled that there finally was a new game that I could make maps for... (sigh)
I guess I'll just wait until Halo, Unreal Tournament 2003 or SOF2 arrives.
And somebody tell me why qeradiant.com doenst seem to get updated anymore.
I mean It's been a few days now that JK2Radiant has been released and they still say this:
"The level editing tools for Jedi Knight II have not been officially released yet."
I wish they would take full support for JK2Radiant. It would be grat if they would make a version of GtkRadiant that supports JK2.

mapmaker
04-26-2002, 10:34 PM
I'm not sure, but I think that error hasto do with your sky shaders and ground brush not lining up properly. I could be wrong though, I'm just a newbie :)

mapmaker
04-26-2002, 10:36 PM
I also noticed in your other post that it looks like you are using the 'fastvis' bsp compiling command, try using 'fullvis' instead.

Eudaimic
04-27-2002, 07:38 AM
Seeing as JK2 is a Q3 engine game, why don't you just go and ask in Q3 related forums. Most people there are fairly glad to help, and they know their **** well.

I agree however, these forums seem to be inhabitet mainly by the "DOTH1SLEVEL!"-people... And we all know where they can go...

Try these links, they're the best in the business:
http://www.map-center.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi
http://www.quake3world.com/cgi-bin/Ultimate.cgi?action=intro&BypassCookie=true

technodrill
04-27-2002, 01:43 PM
Thanks for the links.

btw I already fixed my problem yesterday after I wrote this thread. It was indeed a weird skytextured wall that was intersecting with a floor. I'll explain how I fixed this so other people know what to do when they get the same problem (MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY ecxeeded).
For GtkRadiant: Press Plugins/Bobtoolz/Brush Cleanup
When I did this... invisible skytextured walls appeared and they seemed to be part of visible brushgroups. Very strange. I don't even understand how these invisible skytextured walls got there.
So I don't even know how to prevent this problem from happening in the future. :-(