PDA

View Full Version : model kyle/fpls2


bad seed
04-27-2002, 11:13 PM
I'm sure many of u already know about this.

But I thought I'd make it very public.

this is of course a model that makes you invisible (except for your arms and weapon)

enjoy!

(hopefully they'll fix it witha patch)

Tarus
04-28-2002, 12:58 AM
thanks. Unless im mistaken I should be able to go into my pak file piles and delete this model, copy and rename the kyle model to this one, and then run the game fine. Then when people use this it will just appear as kyle.

Has anyone tried this, does it work?

andywebs
04-28-2002, 02:39 AM
go for it, if you don't want to be able to join any pure servers. Did you really think that would work??? Part of pure means, the pk3 files must be EXACTLY the same as the one on the server. Change it if you want, but you'll then be forced to only join non pure servers where you face much stiffer cheating than the one you can fix by forcing models.

later

Skidrowpunk
04-28-2002, 03:21 AM
Hmm, it should work though if he copirs the kyle model and renames it to teh fpls2 one? no? ah well i'm a dumbass.

Waspie
04-28-2002, 03:31 AM
The size of the pack would change.

Whatever the case, if you're really THAT worried about it, just play with forced models.

Krazx
04-28-2002, 05:15 PM
This is what I did:

Extract the kyle/default model to you harddrive, then zip it into a .pk3 file called "invisskinfix.pk3". Make the path to the file kyle/fpls2. Stick the .pk3 file you made into your \GameData\base directory. Now, anytime someone uses the invisible skin, they will appear as regular kyle.

Please note that this trick only works on non-pure servers, but it allows you to play on pure servers because you haven't modified your assets0.pk3 file.

The only way to permanently get rid of this is is Ravensoft patches the assets0.pk3 file. However, that skin is actually used when you're using the lightsaber in first person view... so I'm not sure what is going to happen.

zenroth
04-28-2002, 05:35 PM
nice fix
does anyone even fight with 1st person lightsaber? Seems it would be awfully akward.

Krazx
04-28-2002, 06:26 PM
Originally posted by zenroth
nice fix
does anyone even fight with 1st person lightsaber? Seems it would be awfully akward.

You can't in MP mode. Only SP mode.

Kurgan
04-29-2002, 01:02 AM
I'm going to post that file tomorrow if I get a chance, since people keep bringing it up (as if it's not posted yet). I was sent this a week or so ago.

Great fix (until Raven patches it).