PDA

View Full Version : Having a lighting problem. =/


Adarin
04-27-2002, 10:56 PM
My level has too much lighting. I don't have ANY light sources(Except maybe some textures), and, well, it's all lit up. Allllll of it. I put in a light source, and it doesn't seem to do anything. What is going on?

mapmaker
04-27-2002, 10:59 PM
Are you compiling it in FullVis mode? other then that, I don't know what could be wrong, sorry.

Adarin
04-27-2002, 11:13 PM
Oh. Duh. That was the problem. Thanks!

mapmaker
04-27-2002, 11:42 PM
No problem :)

Adarin
04-27-2002, 11:56 PM
Which BSP option SHOULD I be using?

mapmaker
04-28-2002, 12:40 AM
When your map is all ready for release (if you plan on releasing it of course) or you just think it's finished, FullVis is the way to go. I use FullVis all the time though, for testing, as long as the map isn't too big.
The other options are there mainly because if you have a huge map you want to just test out, compiling it in FullVis would take a heck of a long time usually. Fastvis is nice for testing, but lighting isn't very good, among other things.

Adarin
04-28-2002, 12:55 PM
Thanks again. Now, I have another problem. I deleted ALL of my light sources, yet, something is giving off a really powerful light source that only lights up my character. Help?? o_x

FEXX
04-28-2002, 01:00 PM
Well I noticed that Kyle (my character) in 3rd person while testing one of my .maps was self-illuminated even if the room had no light; so maybe Kyle appears even if no lights are inserted (if in 3rd person view in game play).

Adarin
04-28-2002, 01:09 PM
http://www.angelfire.com/mi3/spiffy2/selflight.jpg
Does he appear like that? All extremely lighted up and stuff? Or is there something wrong with my map that I'm not seeing? Also, the further I get from my main room, the less light there seems to be, if that helps any.
*** EDIT ***
I figured it out! I made an elevator, and, the entities I used had light options attached too them. Hehehehe, oops. I feel dumb now.