View Full Version : custom texturing

04-27-2002, 10:59 PM
ok i have a wood texture that i would like to use for a door. in radiant. the texture shows up fine, and i did include all the custom textures with the pk3 file. but in game it shows up as a bunch of little white and black boxes. anyone know what my problem might be? thanks in advance.


04-27-2002, 11:37 PM
i really need help on this if anyone knows let me know

04-28-2002, 12:08 AM
Make sure the paths to the texture is correct in your .pk3 file.

04-28-2002, 12:56 AM
they are that's what i'm saying... everything is correct i just don't get why it's not working

04-28-2002, 01:20 AM
also keeping in mind that the door is 20 times larger than a normal real life door, as the map itself is 20 times larger (think RATS).

04-28-2002, 01:43 AM
i think it might be a problem with the texturing itself.. i've tried another wood texture and that didn't work either. are there any wood textures in the default shaders? just curious.

04-28-2002, 02:37 AM
Have you edited shaderlist.txt?

04-28-2002, 10:58 AM
i did try creating a shader that included my textures and some of them would show up and some wouldn't. i ended up resaving a copy of the texture as standard compression and putting it on the door and it actually CRASHED jk2. i put another wood texture in. same problem as before. wouldn't show up. and i did edit shaderlist.txt and included the shader in my pk3 when i tried it after i made the shader. but funny thing is i went and i opened the shader again to edit it. and nothing was there. like i hadn't even saved it. grrr... i'm seriously gettin really mad at this thing. i need a good wood texture that won't crash the game and will at least show up. thanks in advance for any help.

04-28-2002, 11:53 AM
What size is your custom texture?
all textures must be in power of 2's
or any mix of the above sizes
say 32x256 for a trim ect ect ect

if its crashing radiant then it sounds to me like a size problem rather than a path problem
also if your not using it as a shader remove the enter from the shaderlist

hope this helps

04-28-2002, 01:09 PM
that may be it. gonna try it. btw it wasn
't crashing radiant. it was crashing the game.

04-28-2002, 09:43 PM
woohoo.. figgered it out. it was the length and width of the wood texture. i made it 1024x1024 and it works great. would 1600x1200 be an ok size for a texture? just curious.

04-29-2002, 11:47 AM
Errr no not really

most of JK2's textures are not more than 512x512 in size and these textures can take up a hell of a lot of video ram so id say keep your custom texture to this or smaller if your just using a repeating wood texture 256x256 should be more that detailed enought to get the job done

glad to hear you got it fixed btw :)

Cmdr. Antilles
04-29-2002, 03:33 PM
I was about to post that answer too... Took me a day to figure out that was the problem with some of my custom textures.

And 1024x1024 should be fine.

Raven uses some big textures.

In fact some of the skin are 1024x 512 or something.

Either way, while 1024x1024 should work, I'd avoid it if at all possible. It's really not that neccesary. I think a normal 512x512 texture would look fine even stretched. ;)