PDA

View Full Version : firewall


tsunamis13
04-29-2002, 10:42 PM
Ok, here's my problem... I have a Gateway Laptop with a linksys D-link that connects wirelessly to my router downstairs. I usally get a good link quality. I was going to play Galctic BattleGrounds on Zone.com. So I got into a game on the zone and put in all my info and then it said that there was an error, and someone said that "I had a firewall. So I decided to play another game. I got in again and the same thing happened and they also said that I had a firewall. So what I want to know is, what is the problem, if its a firewall what is a firewall, and how do I fix it.
Just ask for any other info.
Thanks

Duke Straykker
04-30-2002, 12:16 AM
A firewall is a program on your computer, or the router, that stops hackers accessing your computer. It does this by monitoring all incoming/outgoing data (stopping sign up) and restricts suspicious signals) You have to either look for "firewall" in the search on your computer, or call up and ask about your router's firewall, depending if your computer has it of the router.

Hope that helps :)

tsunamis13
04-30-2002, 07:48 AM
Should I delete the firewall if I find it?

Duke Straykker
04-30-2002, 08:57 AM
Not really. If you find it, try to figure out how to turn it on and off, or to like put it on standby etc...

Paragon_Leon
04-30-2002, 12:16 PM
...hope you don't mind me putting this in the proper forum...

Duke Straykker
04-30-2002, 09:30 PM
Yes, of course I mind! Put it back you vile man!

;)

j/ks

Its fine here, probably better anyways...

You found anyting about it yet dude?

tsunamis13
04-30-2002, 11:44 PM
I have not had any time but I think I'll try tomorrow morning.

tsunamis13
05-01-2002, 10:38 AM
I have one more question. From all that I told you do you think that it's a firewall?

wiseduck
05-23-2002, 01:28 AM
ok not to be offensive or anything but that is a bad description "duke" //EDIT: misspelled duke. ekk.
quote
"A firewall is a program on your computer, or the router, that stops hackers accessing your computer. It does this by monitoring all incoming/outgoing data (stopping sign up) and restricts suspicious signals) You have to either look for "firewall" in the search on your computer, or call up and ask about your router's firewall, depending if your computer has it of the router. "

your correct bout what it does but you cannnot usualy "look for "firewall" in the search on your computer", that comment makes me laugh quiet loud.

My suggestion.
Basicly find some manual that came with your router figure out how to enable ports, its quiet easy, linux or firmware is generaly well thought out and user friendly.

Grey_Leader11
06-16-2002, 01:29 PM
its more of a hassel than a help...hackers can still get thro...id just delete it