PDA

View Full Version : Showcasing my map.....


Elijah
05-01-2002, 07:15 PM
well i didnt think this went in the Editing place becuse iam just Showcasing...

Anyways heres a level about 2 days into the makings (iam new with JK2R) I am thinking if i should enter it into the JKII level Torny...

The ScreenShots:
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0000.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0001.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0002.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0003.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0004.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0005.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0006.jpg
http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0007.jpg

Flames? Comments? Praise?

Elijah
05-01-2002, 07:17 PM
BTW this is still pritty bugy so if you see anything in the Shots lemme know.

Also, if anyone would wanna Beta this for me leave your E-mail adress or E-mail me at zdawg@jmoj.net

SPY_jmr1
05-01-2002, 07:27 PM
looks cool, z!

i'd beta test it, sure ;) SPY_jmr1@hotmail.com how big is it?

looks like tatooine.... maybe?

Elijah
05-01-2002, 07:35 PM
I Have no idea where it should be LOL...... Maby Yavin :D

the PK3 is like 1-1.5 Megs without the music.

SPY_jmr1
05-01-2002, 08:20 PM
hey z sounds cool... i PM you a addy for it the hotmail one wont like that.

what music are you doing?

Darthtoast
05-01-2002, 08:23 PM
Looking good, if you can, please don't add a ton of little extra things, it rapes people's FPS (those with lower end machines). A good example is the canyon_oasis remake, there're a ton of little extra random things that look nice, but rape people's FPS and don't really need to be there

Elijah
05-01-2002, 08:44 PM
Originally posted by Darthtoast
Looking good, if you can, please don't add a ton of little extra things, it rapes people's FPS (those with lower end machines). A good example is the canyon_oasis remake, there're a ton of little extra random things that look nice, but rape people's FPS and don't really need to be there
I agree, I have noticed with the more glass i put into the level the lower the FPS gets... ill remove abit of it.

Also, what do you guys think, Should i enter it into the JKII Torny?


Oh and the Music.... well i might have have a Starwarsish one but for now i have 1000FT Krutch - "puppet" but i wont be keeping that in there :D
is there somthing about it being illegal to put copyrighted MP3s into a level?

Ascari
05-01-2002, 08:54 PM
No offense, but change the ground!!!!


imho it looks ugly :)

Btw. Could u maybe make a small passage with a trap in it?


In duel_castle, in the middle u have a floor that opens when u push a button ( and I mean force push the button )

Maybe u can incorperate in the map that if u pull a button,
deadly sticks come out of the wall and kill the person that is walking into the passage.


Ow and dont forget to make a big open center in the map. Dont put down health/armour thingies in that open center, since this is where people will fight.


just my 2 cents


good luck!



greetz,

Ascari

Elijah
05-02-2002, 03:23 AM
Traps are in the makings :D And i have a big glass duel area for Saber battles. i will be making a big Arena (sircular) sort of area with benches going down where you can Gun it out wit' joo homeys if you ketch my drift :D

and yea the floor.....

SPY_jmr1
05-02-2002, 03:35 AM
/me bows to z's maping skills....


silly me still trying to make my box....

note:DotF is NOT repeat NOT a good first map...:D

toolboi
05-02-2002, 03:37 AM
Shadows... SHADOWS! Right now it looks rather like a doom map without the ID "touch". The arcitecture is nice, but it seems... basic... like youve spent a lot of time on the shape of the level in Radiant, but not in JO. Also vary your textures more, it looks really repetitive.

Other than that, it seems to be going along well, keep it up.

Elijah
05-02-2002, 04:05 AM
Yea i am re-texturing alot of the area..... i figured i wore the Brick Texture out in the first room :D

Elijah
05-02-2002, 04:12 AM
My "Bigger" Duel area....

http://jmoj.net/showcase/shot0008.jpg

dkc4C
05-02-2002, 04:22 AM
Layout and idea look nice, but the "Wow" factor isn't really up there. Try varying the way the map looks - instead of square, rectangular walls and rooms, trying something different!

Ascari
05-02-2002, 09:39 AM
ow and dont forget to put benches up for people to watch the dueling!

NK_Zephorath
05-02-2002, 09:46 AM
I like the map itself, but pleeeeeaaaaaaaaase change some of the textures! Not every wall has to look the same.

ShadowCell
05-02-2002, 12:27 PM
I like the map, but you should probably change the textures, as everyone else is saying. And, as someone else said, not everything has to be square and rectangular. You can make domes and circular rooms and stuff like that in your map too. Otherwise, it looks great. Can't wait for it to come out.

The Truthful Liar
05-02-2002, 12:46 PM
Looks better now :thumbsup:

Elijah
05-02-2002, 12:56 PM
/Bows To Legion

:D

UniKorn
05-02-2002, 12:59 PM
Shot 1:
There is actually no real indication that there is a door there, you should trim it with some brushes with a different texture
Shot 2:
Your curve is messed up. Look at some tutorials on how to get it right.
Shot 3:
You did trim the door, but the texture you used should't be used like it is now. As you can see there is a middle line in it, which actually has no reason for being there.
Last shot:
The way down and up seems a bit too steep. In ffa people will have trouble going up and down at reasonable speed.
Overall:
The map seems quite big, and the flow appears (on screenshots that is) pretty ok.
Lighting is I think non existant. I think you only changed the ambiend and the _color flag in your worldspawn, which explains why it appears so "plain and boring". If you wan't your map to "live" you must add lights to it, and only use a low value of ambient. It will take you a lot of time, but your map will look a thousand times better. Try to avoid "spots" on the texture, we actually don't want the player to know that there exists something like a light entity ;)
For the architecture, try to get rid of the boxyness of your map, add more detail to it. And as said in previous threads, your textures are quite repetitive. Keep working on it, there is so much more you can do with the design you are using.

Elijah
05-02-2002, 01:29 PM
Thank you thank you! yea iv been working hard to UNBOXATIZE if you will, alot of the areas.... the Lighting i havent got around to yet so that explains it :D. and ill probly have a freind help me tweak all the textures before i release it.

NewBJedi
05-02-2002, 01:36 PM
Actually .. high quality ground textures is what kills FPS in the Q3 engine.

You have to either used very well optimized ones or really ugly ones.

One of the reasons the game MOH:AA has such low fps in areas is due to the badly applied ground textures.