PDA

View Full Version : Help!


ShadeShifter
05-30-2000, 06:05 PM
I'm having problems joining a JK game in the Zone. It keeps giving me a message that I failed to join the game. What are the exact steps that I need to do to join?

------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/ms2/timeslide/newsig2.jpg

Kurgan
05-30-2000, 07:53 PM
Could be any number of problems.

Are you able to play JK games in other places besides the Zone? (ie: on IP)

If not, then the problem could be with your ISP or ports.

Otherwise, make sure you have the latest MSN Gaming Zone cookies, plugin's, patches, etc installed.

Make sure you have a full install of JK with the CD in the drive when you join.

What color is the host? If they are black or red, that could be your problem.

Can you host your own game and others join?

Also, just for kicks, are you behind a firewall? What is your connection speed?

Also, try this: go to http://qtracker.stomped.com and download the latest version of Qtracker, and try using that to host/join games. If that doesn't work, let me know.

Kurgan

[This message has been edited by Kurgan (edited May 30, 2000).]

ShadeShifter
05-30-2000, 08:20 PM
I've got a T1 connection and I'm behind my schools firewall.

When join, after I choose my player, I get taken to the Single/Multiplayer/Quit screen and nothing happens after that.

I'll try Qtracker and let you know.

------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/ms2/timeslide/newsig2.jpg

ShadeShifter
05-30-2000, 11:25 PM
I'm still at a loss. I have no idea whats wrong.

------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/ms2/timeslide/newsig2.jpg

LDB_modeski
05-31-2000, 01:02 PM
Hmm, if you're behind a firewall then that *could* be the problem - make sure its configured properly.

Otherwise, other reasons might include:
latency;
checksum errors (is the host using a level that you dont have installed?);
and, well other stuff - refer to above posts http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/smile.gif


------------------
visit the Lucky Despot Boyz Jedi Knight Clan site www.ldb.org.uk (http://www.ldb.org.uk)

ShadeShifter
05-31-2000, 01:26 PM
I'm almost positive that the firewall is the problem because I tried to connect JK's multiplayer using an IP and it would not connect that way either.

Does anyone know how to get around a firewall?

------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/ms2/timeslide/newsig2.jpg

ShadeShifter
06-02-2000, 02:06 PM
Well, it's not the firewall. I was Qtracker to play Quake last night for about 2 hours. That's one possibility that's been eliminated.

To LDB_modeski:
At the Zone, how can you tell what level the host is playing. Most people use a lot of abbreviations that I'm unfamiliar with.

------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/ms2/timeslide/newsig2.jpg

LDB_Leeman
06-03-2000, 10:59 AM
Well, Modeski's offline for a bit, so I'll help you:

Some IGZ (Internet Gaming Zone) abbreviations are:
NH = No Hacks
NC = No Cheats
NF = No Force
FF = Full force
F1/F2/F3/F4/F5/F6/F7 = the respective force levels
NS = No Sabers
NG = No Guns
KH = Kicker Helper
CO/Canyon/Oasis = Canyon Oasis
NS/Nar = Nar Shaddaa
BoD = Blades of Death
BGJ = Battleground Jedi
VotJ = Valley of the Jedi Tower
Bespin = Bespin (Natch http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/smile.gif)
JHS = Jedi High School
ENC = Empire Night Club
BO2 = Big Oasis 2
BFP2/BFP2.1 = the abbreviations for the most widely used skinpacks, Big Fluffy Pack 2/2.1
SPORK = (Not strictly an abbreviation) Legacy of the Jedi - a saber fighting mod.

Some in game abbreviations:
Fists = peace
gs = good shot
gg = good game
gtg = gotta go
tnx/tx/thx = thanks

Hope that helps you.


------------------
www.thereckoning.co.uk (http://www.thereckoning.co.uk) - My Personal Starcruiser.

ShadeShifter
06-04-2000, 10:03 PM
Thanks

------------------
http://www.angelfire.com/ms2/timeslide/newsig2.jpg

Kurgan
06-05-2000, 12:28 AM
If the host was using a level you didn't have (checksum failure, data version does not match) then you would be already in the game by this time and see the error message, not simply "failed to launch/join" in the zone.

It sounds like the problem is with your connection.

JK uses specific ports and the Zone uses a ton of ports, and if those aren't open, the game won't function properly when hosting/joining. Again, I'm not sure your particular configuration, so you should find out from your ISP or whoever setup your internet. Maybe contact Ron Mercer of Qtracker if you have problems using his product (email on his webpage).

Kurgan