PDA

View Full Version : Getting skins to work


Kingping
05-02-2002, 07:14 PM
None of the skins I've downloaded ever appear in multiplayer games - I only see the base skin (one of the original set). why is this and how can i correct it.

teleguy
05-02-2002, 07:16 PM
You have to join a server that has the skins too.

hyrit
05-02-2002, 07:16 PM
Ok, this is probably in the wrong forum, but I'll throw an answer anyway. :D

First, it's because you can only use whatever pk3 files the server has. If you try using something the server doesn't use, it just won't let you. Because of that, there's nothing *you* can do to fix it...it's a server issue. A lot of servers are now using other skins...though, seems the only one I ever see is like, the first Maul skin that came out the day after the game was released.

Unfortunately, I don't know one offhand that has them...but often you'll be able to see server names that say "latest skins here!" or some such...those servers tend to have lots of them enabled.

ed1371
05-02-2002, 09:18 PM
A couple darkside duel servers have skins.
The admin mentioned that he tries to get any and all available skins as well as maps. Made for a great change of pace to get to play on different levels on some VERY well made maps.

:atat: