PDA

View Full Version : weird bsp error


volrathxp
05-06-2002, 10:10 PM
weird bsp error here. it told me this

Exceeded MAX_MAP_LIGHTGRID_ARRAY (1317888 >= 1048576)

anyone know what that means? thanks in advance

volrath

volrathxp
05-07-2002, 01:24 AM
ok this is preventing me from bsping at fullvis or fullvis extra i need to get this guy resolved.

UniKorn
05-07-2002, 05:41 AM
I think you got too many lights.

volrathxp
05-10-2002, 05:39 PM
i don't have any lights whatsoever though

VIO
05-10-2002, 07:28 PM
yeah i got that too i also wrote a thread but no one helped but (i fixed mine) in my map i had fog slime and sky no lights too think it has something to do with the slime or fog shaders because i made my slime brush thinner ie: not as thick and recompiled and it went away so im not really sure what causes it but i know what fixed mine try brushes that have special effects like fog or slime as i did or maybe any shader that can't have more then one visible side ie:fog/slime
also the only effect that i can see from this error is that the level is really bright

Drakewl
05-10-2002, 07:35 PM
hi

look at this thread, i have the same problem (its no problem, but more a restriction)

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=52573

the errormessage means that all of your rooms (inclusive: skybox) are too large together to be processed by the light compiler. Easiest solution: you have to decrease the scale of your rooms for some hundred grid units on all axes in your radiant editor.

at the moment im messing with Gizmo2ks proposal to change the grid size values within the worldspawn entity of a map.

volrathxp
05-10-2002, 08:03 PM
well, i'm not gonna mess much with it. the map looks rather slick bsped under nolight anyways. i'm just keep with it there. thanks!

volrath

VIO
05-10-2002, 08:18 PM
hey good an explaination im going to past that on the resource thread