PDA

View Full Version : a quick question...


andychip
05-07-2002, 03:45 AM
can you make a wall, diselect it, and then take out a chunk of it and put in a window?If so how?

help is appreciated

UniKorn
05-07-2002, 05:37 AM
Use the clipper tool. Create 2 points on the brush, you will see that it is divided in two. Press shift enter and the brush will be split in 2. Repeat the process till you got a window. Afterwards optimize it.

Manquesa
05-08-2002, 01:22 AM
use CSG Subtract for that. Make your wall, deselect it. then make another brush the size of the hole for the window and place it where you want the window to be. Make sure that the window sized brush overlaps the wall brush on both sides, and then while only the window brush is selected, select the CSG Subtract option. Then delete the window brush and you should be left with a hole in the wall for your window.

Cmdr. Antilles
05-08-2002, 01:30 AM
Uni's just telling him how the pros do it. ;) (j/k)

Manually clipping the brush gives you more control over it than CSG can. Of course, CSG is faster.

I personally just copy the brush to get it to the clipboard. Then, I drag it to one side, paste a copy , drag to the other side, etc. :)

Manquesa
05-08-2002, 02:04 AM
Pro? Uni? No comment. :lol:

Just posting another method, that's all.

For something that simple, I use CSG Subtract, otherwise I usually just build one wall at a time using your method Agent, uh Cmdr.

:duel:

Cmdr. Antilles
05-08-2002, 02:55 AM
Originally posted by Manquesa
using your method Agent, uh Cmdr.




Heheh... I thought I recognized your name. ;)

I wish I could find the punk that took my screen name here! :D

yrean
05-08-2002, 10:53 AM
it was me...i just took it and never use it so you cant...lol...just playing....why dont you PM him...make for an interesting story afterwards.