PDA

View Full Version : Brush just appeared out of no where!


fabrikashon
05-07-2002, 05:26 AM
"The Extordinary"

How does this:

http://riseupperth.com/images_temp/radiant.jpg

Become this:

http://riseupperth.com/images_temp/render.jpg

And how do I solve it?

I had a little brush work made out to create a light of some sort, and when I rendered it, this is what the outcome was. Although I deleted the light brush completly to see if that was the problem, and as the picture demonstrates - it wasn't. Yet some how, in its creation formed this invisible beast that has become the first major error in the map.

Things I have done to try remove it:

1) Deleted the brushwork that created it.
2) Covered the area with one brush and "carved" in hopes to remove any minor brush that is causing it.
3) Shift+H to unhide any brush I may of accidently hidden.

What else can I do? It's a major depressant!

UniKorn
05-07-2002, 05:35 AM
Send your mapfile to wrld_unikorn@hotmail.com

I'll have a look at it, but it might take me a while, got a lot of stuff to do.

fabrikashon
05-07-2002, 05:39 AM
Ok I fixed it :)

I don't know if there is a shorter way, but incase someone else has a similar problem you can do it this way:

Hover your mouse roughly over where the brush appears once the map has been rendered. Write down the Y and X co-ordinates down the bottom in the status bar.

Load up your .map file in notepad and do a search for the X co-ordinate. If it doesn't appear, try rounding it down or up to the nearest 5. Once one is found, take a look at both co-ordinates and make sure it is roughly around the same area as what you wrote down. Now compare the textures and see if they are the ones that are appearing on the brush.

If everything matches (roughly), then select everything from:

'//brush #' to the last '}' bracket. Now cut it out, and save it. Load your map back into radiant and render it out. If it is the brush that was invisible, well done - it is gone. If not, go back into notepad and paste the content you cut, back in. It's good to remember the brush number, as you can do a search for the brush number just before that and have the correct spot to paste it back into.

fabrikashon
05-07-2002, 06:54 AM
Thanks for the offer UniKorn, I'll keep it in mind if I ever crop up against another error I can't figure out :) If that is ok.