PDA

View Full Version : Bespin Lighting


RichDiesal
05-07-2002, 11:23 PM
I'm basically trying to recreate Bespin lighting... in other words, a constant blackness below all platforms that you can fall into and a constant uniform daylight on top.

Any hints as to how to do this?

I've tried setting an ambient light by putting both "ambient/300" and "light/300" in worldspawn but neither has worked... I do need to have other lights in addition to the daylight, as I have indoor areas.

Help, please. :)

OCF
05-08-2002, 01:31 AM
don't use ambient light

In theory - Use a sky shader and light entities. You'll get a decent brightness for the upside, and the bottom will fade into darkness (interior will be dark as well but you can light it)

RichDiesal
05-08-2002, 02:07 AM
That's what I was trying to do, but where would I place the light entities since I need fully even lighting across large areas? If I place individual light entities all over the skyline (keeping in mind that I want to use the stock bespin sky shader), that creates splotchy lighting (with an overall unclean look).

Or should I just place a single light entity of extremely high radius in the center of the top of each outdoor area?

Proxy
05-08-2002, 02:51 AM
Well, if you're talking about the lighting in the Bespin CTF map, they use a white fog (yavin) at the roof of the shaft and a black fog at the pit of the shaft to create that "fade to black" look. I did the same thing in my map, except that I used black on the top and bottom.

Screenshots:
http://www8.brinkster.com/cybervine/proxy/bespinvoid.html

Download:
http://www.jediknightii.net/jediknight2/jediknight2/maps/duel/duel_bespin-void1-1.zip

RichDiesal
05-08-2002, 03:17 AM
Well, I understand that I'll need the fog to get the fade to black effect at the bottom... but I need to know what/where to place light entities to get an even lighting scheme on the top half of entire room.

The Truthful Liar
05-08-2002, 07:44 AM
Bespin and Yavin do not give off the light for "real-time" shadows to appear in a map.

What you should do is.. use the shader that says "LIGHT" at the end of the name.

example use: 'kejim_light' instead of the yavin or bespin shader.

No, I don't think that Bespin can give off real time lighting unless you edit the shader.

Hope that works, any other questions? :)

[Edit: **Note, this is only if you are going to have some sky in your level and you want to have 'cast' shadows with nice lighting.]

Proxy
05-08-2002, 02:02 PM
Well, for the outdoor areas, the sky shader will take care of it, right? I remember in Quake 3 mapping that the daytime sky shaders cast a uniform Global light across the whole map (like sunshine). Correct me if I'm wrong.

Oz
05-08-2002, 02:45 PM
For the Bespin streets map in the single-player game, I used a sky shader for all the exterior lighting. There should be two Bespin sky shaders available that have different surfacelight parms because I needed a different value for the level where you fight Tavion. For the bottomless pits I used negative lights. If you use a negative value instead of a positive one for lights, you'll create an area of blackness. You can also use black fog, and there should be an appropriate shader available for use, but I decided to go with negative lights.

Hope this helps!

Proxy
05-08-2002, 05:18 PM
In all the tutorials for Q3a mapping, I've never seen them talk about negative light. I'll have give it a try. Thanks for the tip!
-Proxy

RichDiesal
05-08-2002, 09:26 PM
My question warranted a response from Raven themselves... I feel privledged. :D

And yes, Oz, that was perfect! Exactly the effect I was looking for...

And for all the laymen out there attempting to use Bespin textures, this is the breakdown...

skies/bespin - No-light texture, good for indoor rooms that can see out into the Bespin skyline
bespin/sky - Full-light texture, good for bright outdoor areas
bespin/sky_platform - Low-light texture, good for low-lit outdoor areas (maybe bespin at night?)

Hope this helps someone. :D

Oz
05-09-2002, 03:14 AM
Well negative light was something I believe we added for Elite Force and carried over for JKII because they're handy and stuff, so I'm not surprised if they don't turn up in Q3A tutorials much. They're quite useful.