PDA

View Full Version : I am creating an acurately designed Duel of the Fates map


DigitalVapor
05-10-2002, 03:02 AM
Thats right, I am making the DotF map the way it was layed out in the movie. The room is a half circle, it would be too complicated to explain in words how it is set up but in short, if you look at it from above, it resembles a spider web. I just need to figure out how to make the energy beams and the time activated energy doors. Once I get that right its just a matter of getting the proper textures.

Andy867
05-10-2002, 03:15 AM
so the count is now up to 5 versions of Duel Of the Fates, and I all ready have one copy... (well, beta testing it anyways..)

Robzilla
05-10-2002, 03:17 AM
funny..

just last night I drew a diagram of the Generator Complex....

I drewed from watch ing the particular scene like 20-40 times as well as looking at the model in the Beginning Making of Ep 1 on the DVD. Laterly I've been just doing test sizes on the catwalks.
I'd like to see the map when its done XD
I'd like to see everyone's map when they're done.

Pogwaffle
05-10-2002, 10:52 AM
My DOTF level is going to be extremly accurate. I have got the energy beams in the generator complex pretty much exact as they are in the movie and the shape(all platforms are curves), size and "feel" is pretty good. I have studied the DOTF scene for hours on end and studied other sources (like DVD, pics). Ive just got to do the finer details and proper textures.

Ko'or Oragahn
05-10-2002, 01:17 PM
I hope you have Episode I Locations book. It shows the generator and is filled with details.

DigitalVapor
05-10-2002, 04:07 PM
Well there are a couple minor details that I will have to leave out. Number one is the catwalks that connect the energy beams are curved to follow the shape of the room, I am making them straight because I refuse to fight with radiant over these GOD AWFUL curve tools. I am using as few curves and patch meshes as humanly possible because they DO NOT WORK RIGHT AND CONSTANTLY CRASH RADIANT. Besides, you cant do a csg subtract with curves and that just destroys the whole point of using them for any REAL structural work. Also, I am stull working on the texturing so my first revision may not be visualy acurate.

VIO
05-10-2002, 07:33 PM
sounds like your going to make it really cool but i just want to warn you that like 10 diff ppl are making the same map

FEXX
05-10-2002, 08:46 PM
Do I have to set my entities for JK2Radiant for a MP map before I create it? I have SP_entities now, but fear that I cannot change a SP map in the construction process to a MP map; or must one set this up first before any JK2 map is created?

As some may know, I am working on a MP Theed Generator Complex map too. I find though I am playing MP games more than I should--got to control that addiction.

Here is a JPG I made of some Theed Generator Complex images I took from my Insider's Ep. I CD I own. It may help you all if you want some slight references.

This URL should work (most of the time); its speed will range from 5KB/s to 90KB/s - JPG image is 387KB
http://www2.applesolutions.com/other/tpm_n174.jpg

VIO
05-10-2002, 09:12 PM
hey i can't get my custom txtures to show up in the game i but them in the test folder in the textures folder in my base folder they show up in radiant but not in the game why not?

sights0d
05-11-2002, 03:59 AM
I think that in order to get custom textures to show up, they have to be available in a pk3 file pointing to where you have them virtually on your own drive. Give it a go. You'd have to add those files to the actual pk3 map file. But I'm something of a newbie.

pud1
05-11-2002, 05:09 AM
gee sure wish you guys can give us some screenies of your dotf maps
be nice to compare and drool over them :D

Gizmo2k
05-11-2002, 11:23 AM
Originally posted by VIO
hey i can't get my custom txtures to show up in the game i but them in the test folder in the textures folder in my base folder they show up in radiant but not in the game why not?



i bet its because your still running in pure mode so the game engine wont load any textures or shaders or models that are'nt PK3'ed
to get around this you'll need to type

sv_pure 0

before loading your map

hope this helps
gizmo

VIO
05-11-2002, 12:54 PM
i run my map from a short cut ei +sv_pure 0 +map bob does that work well i'll trty it manually anyway though

Cmdr. Antilles
05-11-2002, 06:00 PM
1. Patch meshes are great for structural work, CSG can cause a lot of problems, so most mappers don't use it. Have you even bothered w/ the vetex editing mode? (press V when you have a patch mesh selected) I've NEVER crashed w/ that.

2. Make sure your custom textures' dimensions are in powers of 2. IE 128x128, 256x512, etc. Otherwise, JK2 will not load them, even though they work fine in JK2R.

DigitalVapor
06-02-2002, 10:04 AM
Well I am scrapping my Duel Of The Fates map since the EXACT map I was making (I mean IDENTICAL!) was already released. I have it and I must say its almost PERFECT.