PDA

View Full Version : Isnt the DEMO a bit deceptive?


Halowse
05-10-2002, 03:21 AM
There are reflective surfaces in the DEMO, (and in the LucasArts screenshots), but there are none in the real game.

There are TONS of things that blow up or can be cut with your lightsabre in the DEMO, but almost none in the real game.

There are PATROLLING stormtroopers in the DEMO, but they almost always are just standing around in the real game.

There are no illogical jumping puzzles in the DEMO, but they are featured heavily in the real game.

What is the deal?

Hateplow
05-10-2002, 03:38 AM
If the demo gets people to buy the game -- Mission Acomplished

Deetox187
05-10-2002, 03:43 AM
Isn't this an old level that they showed at E3? if so then obviously they decided to change a bunch of things, for better or for worse i dunno. I can sorta understand why they left out the reflective surfaces cause that REALLY bogs down the framerate, i could only imagine how bad it would get if you had to fight 20 stormtroopers in a reflective room. Although i still think they could have worked it into the game in a few spots just for show, oh well.

Scarlet Widow
05-10-2002, 04:17 AM
umm..could someone tell me where i can find the demo? :(

Pedantic
05-10-2002, 04:20 AM
Well, that is a very good question.

Deetox187
05-10-2002, 04:25 AM
http://64.152.59.21/Q0042500000001068L2/download.htm

Patrickj64_ak
05-10-2002, 04:34 AM
well heck.....isn't there a reflective floor in the new patch...i played the one map were you are in a bay with a bunch of boxes and the floor was done very good. so now i would assume that if it is in a new map, that you could use same floor for making otheres....

seanconnery
05-10-2002, 04:40 AM
THERE ARE REFLECTIVE SURFACES IN THE GAME!

Just check out the new duel map.

Patrickj64_ak
05-10-2002, 04:48 AM
ya,, what he said... the new duel maps....

waxdart
05-10-2002, 04:53 AM
Just finished the demo.

Short level, but sweet. The duel at the end was a nostalgic treat -- I'd forgotten how much I'd enjoyed SP saber battles (which still feels a bit more finessed than the post-patch MP stuff, but that's for another thread). It's silly, but that reflective floor really makes for some pretty fighting.

When it was over, I figured I'd keep playing the room with the standard npc spawn commands. Try them -- they're fairly funny. Spawning Tavion launches what appears to be the Tavion AI (red saber included) but in a stormtrooper model/skin. Pretty funny seeing "Hey! You there!" doing the butterfly/cartwheel.

Scarlet Widow
05-10-2002, 04:53 AM
Deetox187, i'd like to know where everyone else is getting it from...wouldn't it be on a LucasArts server? i don't really have the nerve to test it as it could very well be a virus....

seanconnery
05-10-2002, 05:03 AM
Things that can be cut up/blown up - crate in the first level, the statues and pillars on the last level, anyone?

Deetox187
05-10-2002, 06:01 AM
Originally posted by Scarlet Widow
Deetox187, i'd like to know where everyone else is getting it from...wouldn't it be on a LucasArts server? i don't really have the nerve to test it as it could very well be a virus....

Well i got it from that link and it's the demo, just played through it. I wouldn't have posted a link to a virus, but even if it was what are you worried about? don't you have an antivirus program? if you do then theres no need to be so paranoid.

NerfYoda
05-10-2002, 06:40 AM
On the topic of the lack of reflective surface in the game: IIRC I heard a Raven fellah saying it was one of those eye candy things that caused a huge performance drop, that's possibly why we see it in a smaller duel level only.

Oh yeah and there is such a thing as never bieng too paranoid on the unfriendly ol' Internet. :)

Leagle
05-10-2002, 07:19 AM
There are plenty stormies patrolling. There are also many guarding things.

There are plenty breakable things -wave your saber around a bit next time. (Saber throw goes through some things you usually couldn't standing. Try pulling glass.)

Reflective surfaces... Yeah, there is about 1 in the whole game. Unfortunate, as my computer can handle things like that now...:(

Zindell
05-10-2002, 08:08 AM
haha the demo even explains why the stormtroopers can't hit anything.

GSA_Mitth_
05-10-2002, 09:11 AM
maybe the Demo is a way to 1.04 ???

i wouldnt mind though ... i was hoping for some massive lightsaber battles on reflecting floors ...

Leagle
05-10-2002, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by Zindell
haha the demo even explains why the stormtroopers can't hit anything.

Like the 1st bit of cairn bay, the stormie pair patrolling says that they will receive new weapons, and their happy because theirs are rather unreliable.

Also another conversation goes somewhere along the lines of "my blasters rubbish it won't hit anything" "you're just crap".;)

Flaming_Saber
05-10-2002, 04:41 PM
Originally posted by Scarlet Widow
Deetox187, i'd like to know where everyone else is getting it from...wouldn't it be on a LucasArts server? i don't really have the nerve to test it as it could very well be a virus....


I downloaded it from an email sent by lucasarts it uses the GIGEX download. I use Nortons anti-virus which scans the file while downloading and I also scanned the finished file not a trace of a virus just make sure you download it from either lucasarts or anyone of the servers they recommend. If you use a P2P application (morpheus or Kazaa) then you might have to worry since you don't know who your getting that file from but again if you have an Anti-virus program with an updated definition file you should not have to worry.

B0MBER II
05-10-2002, 07:13 PM
If you spawn Luke or Desann in the demo, they will look like their holding light sabers but they aren't plus their both Stormtroopers, Desann being a tad bigger of the two...

Demolisher
05-10-2002, 07:20 PM
The demo is so easy!!!!!!! This is how Jedi Knight II should be :D

Leagle
05-10-2002, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by B0MBER II
a tad


"A tad!!" he's bloody huge!

Works with tavion too.

EnforcerSG
05-10-2002, 07:51 PM
Um, spiloers
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.Um, idiots, have you played the single player game to the end. Remember the last level when you go into that hallway and there is a mirror there? Desan appears behind you and taunts you?!?! Ring a bell to anyone?!?!?

Brodieman
05-10-2002, 07:54 PM
Originally posted by Leagle


Like the 1st bit of cairn bay, the stormie pair patrolling says that they will receive new weapons, and their happy because theirs are rather unreliable.

Also another conversation goes somewhere along the lines of "my blasters rubbish it won't hit anything" "you're just crap".;)

I totally love that conversation! "hey we're getting some new blasters!"
"What for?"
"What are you kiddin' me you can't hit anything with these, look the shots just go everywhere!"

Ah it's all gold, the stormtrooper conversations in this game are awesome

Jedi Legend
05-10-2002, 07:58 PM
No, because all I saw was a blank wall. *Kicks geForce2 mx*

Directed to Enforcer.

Leagle
05-10-2002, 07:59 PM
In fact, the one in the demo is in the game.
I also like the one by a lift somewhere, where a stirmie commander asks if the newest member to his squad has shot anyone before: "Damn rookies! No wonder we're losing our empire!" (I almost expected him to say "n00bs");P

EnforcerSG
05-10-2002, 11:19 PM
Bummer Jedi Ledgend

But the rest of you. Well, i can sort of understand. I know many of us locked ourselves in our rooms and played the SP game non stop and probably beat it at 4 in the morning, not remembering much.

SPY_jmr1
05-10-2002, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by Jedi Legend
No, because all I saw was a blank wall. *Kicks geForce2 mx*

Directed to Enforcer.

umm dude? its just you.... dont go knocking gf2mx cards.... my mx400 does them just fine.... you want SS? fine, just dont knock somthing thats not true:rolleyes:

Nill the Mean
05-10-2002, 11:36 PM
Heh, even my GeForce 2 MX 200 32MB works them just fine. Keep your system clean and your drivers updated. Best advice ever for the PC user.