PDA

View Full Version : Archdoor and texture alignment


JeGGoR
05-11-2002, 11:36 AM
Using the Bubba's tutorial...
http://planetquake.com/bubba/arch2.html
... I've made an archdoor.

It's ok except for the texture. The Ctrl+N explained by Bubba doesn't seem to make anything good!

That really makes an ugly archdoor :/
Does someone know well this topic?

VIO
05-11-2002, 12:22 PM
i have the same prob bubba ya failed me

Coyote399
05-11-2002, 01:30 PM
i believe this will do the same thing:

select the arch

hit s

hit natural

EDIT: YEAH, IM A PIT DROID :rolleyes:

JeGGoR
05-11-2002, 08:07 PM
Thanks, but sadly that is not enough :/

...

My archdoor is still ugly :D
no other ideas?

Tigris
05-11-2002, 08:25 PM
Tried how it would look like in Cap??

Try it out- hope it improves the looks a bit.

Markana
05-12-2002, 06:03 AM
I have the same problem...even using natural setting it still looks awful. The only thing I can do is subdue the lighting so it isn't so noticable. Any other suggestions out there?

FunClown
05-16-2002, 02:45 AM
Bump!

I'm having the same problem with the lighting. I'm making a hall with an arch above the two straight wall using a plain grey texture and the curve patch is texture is lighter than the normal straight brush.

Any one know how I would go about fixing this?

thx

UniKorn
05-16-2002, 06:38 AM
I made it in my raven contest map, and it mainly is playing with stretching and alignment.

volrathxp
05-16-2002, 09:54 AM
try the cap setting under the surface inspector for the capped part of the arch. this should flesh in your textures with the rest of your textures on the wall you want. Remember the texturing on each side of the actual end cap patch mesh is a cap so therefore one would use the Cap surface fit.

hope i helped.

volrath

p.s. I had some of the same problems in my duel map with my arches. I ended up hitting cap just to see what happened and it ended up working.