PDA

View Full Version : Prefabs


volrathxp
05-11-2002, 02:24 PM
Just curious about something.... how many of you are planning on releasing certain structures from your maps as prefabs when you release your maps? I was planning on releasing a couple things from my Imperial Space Port map (screenshots coming soon as i get all the hallways finished!). Things like computer stations and the like. I think it would be a good idea for like the mappers who definitely put the time and effort to create amazing model structures for their maps to release their best stuff as prefabs for the mapping community to have available for usage. Obviously, map authors would have to give credit to *such n such* for use of the prefabs, but its just an idea.

Also: i've talked to a couple people off of here (i.e. yrean,Coyote399) and I have mentioned the map i'm working on right now. It's an Imperial Space Port set out in the middle of space. The plan is to have 3 or 4 distinct areas of battle. Area 1) the outside space docks with docked tie fighters and if i can get a TIE interceptor model converted to md3 maybe one of those as well. Battles out here will be typical space map battles and push matches. Area 2) The inside hallways of the station. This is places like the areas of work for the station. Battles here will be fast-paced hall battles, running every which way to get either away from the battle or to it. Area 3) The Reactor room. Dueling room basically. Watch the glass around the reactor, break it and go near the reactor and get hurt. The reactor room has a top and a bottom, it has a small catwalk above that is accessible by jump pads. Area 4) The top of the station itself. Another place of dueling. There will be a secret entrance to here although it will be accessible by force jump (at level 3 that is :D). This map is already fairly large. It will be mainly targeted at lan party gaming and large group battles. after i release the ffa/team ffa versions, i will most likely convert the map to CTF and maybe redo the reactor room for a duel map. I should have some screenshots possibly tonight. Lataz and peace out.

volrath

volrathxp
05-11-2002, 11:22 PM
what no feedback? ;) :D :jawa :fett:

James
05-12-2002, 12:20 AM
If enough mappers decide to post prefabs I can see if Mod Central or even jkii.net will open a download section for mapper resources or something.

TUX
05-13-2002, 02:09 AM
Actually... www.jedioutcastmaps.com just posted a new 'prefab' section. I'm sure you could send things to them for hosting. I also think that this is a GREAT idea.

volrathxp
05-13-2002, 02:30 AM
i noticed as such... they even had a prefab i needed, (i.e. the gun tower). i guess if i can make something cool outta of my space port map i'll send it over to em for prefab purposes, most likely also be in the zip file for my map as well.

DannyJAllTheWay
05-13-2002, 02:30 AM
Yes they do. If you have any, send them to maps@gamingelite.com and they will put them up as soon as they can.

Zealot888
05-13-2002, 04:05 PM
We need prefabs like a nice AT-AT, or A-wing models, better stuff than just cheap chairs and doors.

Cmdr. Antilles
05-13-2002, 04:18 PM
I built an ATAT prefab. I emailed it to Danny, so it might be up on that site soon. :)

I'm also thinking of releasing my Skiff as a prefab... but only after I finish my Sarlacc map.

volrathxp
05-13-2002, 09:48 PM
which btw antilles looks really good

Cmdr. Antilles
05-13-2002, 10:35 PM
I'm not sure which one you're talking about, but thanks anyway. :)

See, my problem is that I'm not very good at getting things from my imagination into the game. But hand me a set of schematics and some source pics, and I can build detailed things... Kinda sad. ;)

volrathxp
05-14-2002, 12:38 AM
i think both of em look really good man.... i saw some shots of the sarlacc map, great lookin, and i do like the atat.... i just sent a simple bridge over to jedioutcastmaps.com that i'm using in a duel map.... *taking a break from the space port for tonight since its gonna take a little longer than i thought*. anyways that's all i have.. peace

volrath

volrathxp
05-14-2002, 02:36 AM
my bridge prefab

http://www.jedioutcastmaps.com/prefab.php?id=123


enjoy greatly

volrath

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 04:13 AM
Nice!

I got really far on Jabba's sail barge today...

Heheh... I've been using patch meshes so much. Like I said in another thread, it's gonna be beautiful, even if it only runs @ 4fps. :D

UniKorn
05-14-2002, 12:07 PM
:) I received a map from someone with 60k r_speeds. Still ran at 17fps :) So you still got some triangles left :)

volrathxp
05-14-2002, 12:11 PM
Originally posted by Cmdr. Antilles
Nice!

I got really far on Jabba's sail barge today...

Heheh... I've been using patch meshes so much. Like I said in another thread, it's gonna be beautiful, even if it only runs @ 4fps. :D

sweeett 4fps... nice.... :D

volrath

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 01:01 PM
LOL

Excellent...

I think I'm going to start a thread w/ WIP's of my map... It might help to get CONSTRUCTIVE citisim BEFORE I release the map. ;)

DarthCobra
05-14-2002, 01:13 PM
So I inserted that ATAT into that hoth skybox an it was takin forever to compile i decided not to wait my p3 500 is gettin pretty tired, but i wanted to ask about compile times with it.

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 01:16 PM
On my machine, a full-vis compile couldn't have taken more than... Dang, I can't remember. I know it wasn't more than 30 mins, though. Maybe like 15 mins.

My specs:

1.4ghz T-bird
256megs DDR (I need an upgrade. ;) )

How long is 'forever,' btw?

DarthCobra
05-14-2002, 01:23 PM
Ya i was at like 2 hours. I had a 4096x4096x4096 cube with the skybox and another floor tile with do not enter brushes blockin out some of the 4 sides with the atat and a player_star position an i was compiling with no light. I acutally have this problem quite often an its startin to bug me ... I usally just start over as im mainly just tryin to learn all these tools before i start on any releaseable maps.

BTW compile or not. This ATAT prefab rocks I look forward to using more of these prefabs ;)

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 01:27 PM
Hmm... That's strange... Well, glad you like it anyway. :)

DarthCobra
05-14-2002, 01:30 PM
I'll mess with it some more now that I know there isnt some insanly long compile times. Im sure it was just something stupid I overlooked. Thanks for the quick reply and again .. excellent work.

volrathxp
05-14-2002, 01:50 PM
nice system Antilles.. my own box is an amd.

1.2 GHz T-Bird
512 Mb DDR333
ASUS A7V333 board
2 hdds, 1 80gb and 1 60gb
16x dvd-rom
24x cd-rw
game theater xp soundcard
asus v7700 deluxe 32mb geforce 2 gts

:D

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 02:22 PM
Heheh... Looks like the only places I have you beat are my Proc and my Gfx card.

Geforce3 Ti 200

;)

I need more HD space too... I only have a 40 gig, and it's almost full! Doh!

volrathxp
05-14-2002, 05:44 PM
hehehehhehe about to overclock my proc to about 1.6 or so (it is possible thanks to some nice info on my proc from the Asus Probe Utility :D) as far as graphics cards go.... i dunno about that yet... i'm spending about 1 grand on guitar stuph (i.e. effects processor, new amp) and prolly not gonna have the cash to dish out for say, a geforce 4 ti4600 :D. still nice system man. very cool.

volrath