PDA

View Full Version : 3 stop elevator?


VEGETA2K1
05-11-2002, 07:55 PM
hi, i was just wondering is it possible to make an elevator with 3 stops? cuz i have a 3 floored stadium.. and i need an elavator to stop at each floor... instead of making 3 seperate ones... is this posible? and if soc an any1 tell me how i would do this? (starting form making the elevator as i havnt made one before..)
oh adn a simple step on elevator.. no buttons.. i havnt found nay tuts on elevators with out buttons... i hope some1 can help me, thaxn in advance.

VEGETA2K1
05-11-2002, 09:42 PM
any1 know how to do this???

Coyote399
05-12-2002, 12:20 AM
func_train

Manquesa
05-12-2002, 12:25 AM
it's not possible

Coyote399
05-12-2002, 12:27 AM
func_train willl work, but just not quite how he wants it

it will keep going up and down with pauses at the levels(corners key: wait, value: 5), but you cant have switches to trigger it

Manquesa
05-12-2002, 12:46 AM
yep, you,re right

VEGETA2K1
05-12-2002, 03:06 AM
i dont want switches or any thing.. i just need a normal elevator.. that goes up... then once reached floor2, it stops... then goes to floor3... then goes alll the way back down so stopping.... and how would ig et the func traint o work? i tried bubas tutorial, but.. i cant find textures it needs...?

Manquesa
05-12-2002, 12:44 PM
Originally posted by VEGETA2K1
.... and how would ig et the func traint o work?

first, make the brush that is gonna be your elevator. And then make another small brush placed in the middle of the elevator and texture it with the origin texture found in textures>system . Then while both brushes are selected make them a func_train. Place a path_corner entity at the center of the elevator just as you did the origin brush, that's where it will start. then continue placing however many path_corner entity's that you need for each stop of the elevator. Now, while nothing is selected, select the func_train and then the first path_corner entity and press cntrl+k to target the train to it. Then deselect everything and now selct the path_corner 1 and then path_corner 2 and press cntrl+k to connect the path_corner's. Repeat for all your path corner's. Set wait values for the path_corner's so it will stop for an x amount of time at each one. And that's it, you're done. Just be sure to link the last path_corner back to the first one or else if i'm not mistaken it will just stop at the last one and never move again, at least not untill you load the map again.

JeGGoR
05-12-2002, 10:24 PM
Good tutorial, thanks :)

I don't need any train right now but I'll keep this post in mind...
In fact, it would deserve to be copied in the FAQ, isn't it?

Manquesa
05-13-2002, 01:56 AM
Originally posted by JeGGoR
Good tutorial, thanks :)

I don't need any train right now but I'll keep this post in mind...
In fact, it would deserve to be copied in the FAQ, isn't it?

I'd test it out first, I don't know how accurate I was, been a while since I made a func_train in a map.

yrean
05-13-2002, 02:00 AM
if it works for you copy and post in in the FAQ post.

Manquesa
05-13-2002, 02:46 AM
Ok, I tested it, it works fine, i'll post in the faq thread.