PDA

View Full Version : "GameSpeed"


Stormtrooper
08-27-2001, 06:25 PM
On regarding the game speed, I here it will be faster, but will there be something to adjust the speed to slow it down if its to fast???....I'm alittle slow(hehe) and need time to think(LOL)...but i'm sure once i figure out what to build it might not be that bad.:cool: :trooper: :snow: :trooper:

Gamma732
08-27-2001, 06:30 PM
Every RTS game I've played has had a speed control thing in the options menu of the game. I don't doubt that it will be the same with GB.

Admiral Odin
08-27-2001, 06:45 PM
besides if they lock gamespeed then faster computers will run it faster and slower ect. (if you get a fast enough comp you won't be able to play)

Gamma732
08-27-2001, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by Admiral Odin
besides if they lock gamespeed then faster computers will run it faster and slower ect. (if you get a fast enough comp you won't be able to play)

What do you mean about the fast enough comp part?

Paragon_Leon
08-28-2001, 07:25 AM
well, if you ever tried to play DOS-Pong on a Pentium III, you'll know what he meant.. :D :D :D

The gamespeed is just a tad faster than AOK, but what they mean with 'greater' gamespeed, is that the game is designed to advance faster. So you'll be doing battle faster instead of building your base the first 15 minutes.

Admiral Odin
08-28-2001, 03:16 PM
Originally posted by Gamma732


What do you mean about the fast enough comp part?

I'll try to clarify. when a game speed cannot be changed, then a computer that is faster then originally tended to run the game will run it at a faster rate.

For an example. a person made a game for an old 286, they lock gamespeed. and a unit will walk at regular rate.

Now you install that game on the newest comp out there. the unit will speed across the map extremly fast. and you might find that you will not be able to play the game.

That is what I meant, you have a powerful enough processor then the game is just a blur of animation, unless you can slow it down.

Tie Guy
08-28-2001, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by Paragon_Leon
The gamespeed is just a tad faster than AOK, but what they mean with 'greater' gamespeed, is that the game is designed to advance faster. So you'll be doing battle faster instead of building your base the first 15 minutes.

I hope it is more than just that. I hope that the actual speed of units and the speed of battle is a good bit faster. Of course, i hope you can build and train units faster too, that helps alot as well. I hate really slow games most of the time.

Stormtrooper
08-28-2001, 05:42 PM
So, if SWGB is set on the slowest speed setting it will still be faster than AoK? or will there be a slider bar to adjust it?? I just hope its not too fast or it will be a clickfest.:atat: :snow: :trooper:

Mitth'raw'nuruodo
08-28-2001, 05:46 PM
Yeah, clickfests are really dumb. I think that the speed should be like in SC or RA2. They both have settings. :D

Gamma732
08-28-2001, 06:34 PM
I get it now. Thanks for clarifying the faster pc thing, admiral

Lord JayVizIon
08-28-2001, 06:52 PM
yes leon is rite. supposedly this game is going to be faster than AoK on your typical computer, one that can run both AoK and swgb. another thing too is that scouting will be faster according to gaber so you can pretty much have a better idea of resource location and enemy planning faster than scouts in AoK....

Gamma732
08-28-2001, 06:58 PM
Thats good to hear. At times in AOK scouting was painfully slow. I hope its not so fast that everyone can get their scout through the enemy base with ease.

Admiral Odin
08-28-2001, 09:51 PM
your welcome gamma

I'm pretty sure that scouting will be a little faster but not so much you can zip across the entire map in a matter of a minute.

Gamma732
08-28-2001, 09:56 PM
Yeah, that'd pretty much eliminate the purpose of the fog of war and a blank map. They should speed up unit production/tech research , not just the game speed if they want to promote faster games.