PDA

View Full Version : Force Fields


Territo
05-13-2002, 08:25 PM
Anyone know how to make force fields that disappear and reappear after a time? Don't know where to start.

Pseudopath
05-14-2002, 04:39 PM
I have just done something like this in my first map, see if it helps:-

Make your brush, dont need to hollow it, to whatever dimensions you want.

with the brush selected right click in the grid window and choose func>func_door.

Press "n" to set the properties :-

Choose the angle/direction in which the door is to move.

Enter these :-

Key Value

targetname - forcefield1 (name :) )
wait - 70 (delay in secs)
lip - -8 (this makes sure none is visible)

now you need to select your forcefield texture.

next deselect everything with "Esc" and right click again in the grid window this time though choose func>func_timer.
Again press n to change the properties...

Key Value

target - forcefield1 (name of force field)
wait - 70 (delay in secs)

Job done!

I think that will work, I havent tried the time but the principle is correct. Please let me know if it did work :D

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 04:45 PM
Func_usables disappear immediately, unlike Doors which have to move to a hidden place...

Just thought I'd throw that in there... ;)

Pseudopath
05-14-2002, 04:56 PM
Good to know, thanks :D

Territo
05-14-2002, 09:00 PM
I'm trying to work it out, how do you make it so that you can see through the force field (transparent) if you didn't mention that already.

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 09:27 PM
It all depends on what shader you use.

Territo
05-14-2002, 10:50 PM
I'm sure they can't be that much different, give me an example of one.

Territo
05-15-2002, 12:01 AM
Nevermind, I found the forcefield texture which you can see through, all is dandy.