PDA

View Full Version : Hang at Intro :(


InfernalBritish
05-13-2002, 09:06 PM
Hi mates, a friend of mine told me how great JK2 was so after days of him talking about force powers, I finally got it. :)
But, after I installed it, what should I find but technical problems abound! :(
The main problem I have is a freezing intro movie. The thing loads fine up to the main menu and when I start a new game it seems to be loading correctly but when it starts with that theme movie where the Star Wars logo is moving away from you and playing the star wars theme, It hangs! Each time I try it, It crashes in a different place, sometimes the logo will get to go off pretty far in the distance before it crashes, but most of the time all I get to see or hear is a huge star wars logo on my screen and a blip of music! :(
It's a hard lock BTW, the only way to get my machine back is to hit the restart button!
I have an ATI Rage pro 128 card and an Athlon t-bird 1.333 ghz.
I'm pretty sure it's not my OpenGL, as all my other Q3 engine-based games (and Q3 itself) works fine!
Please help!

***EDIT: As of 2 minutes ago I have confirmed that it does EXACTLY the same thing with the 1.03 patch as it did before, just so ya know.***

teleguy
05-14-2002, 01:39 PM
I don't know what to do against the crashing but you can skip the intro by pressing space.

bar-bar mandrel
05-14-2002, 01:52 PM
You might want to try this at the console while in the menus, but BEFORE starting a new game:

s_initsound 0

This will disable sound (set it to 1 to re-enable it).

This way if it manages to play through, you'll know it's sound related.

Dime
05-14-2002, 05:02 PM
I too have that problem (only mine hangs right before th intro starts and I have a ATI Rage card. I have a feeling it's the card. :(

InfernalBritish
05-17-2002, 12:09 AM
Fabulous news! It works fine with the latest driver upgrade and 1.03 patch. ALL RAGE PRO USERS: get the latest drivers and the JK2 patch if u have this problem.