PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try Yavin grass textures yet?


Proxy
05-13-2002, 11:34 PM
Well, I got my terrain going. It's sweet looking - lots of rolling hills and such. But my problem is the Yavin grass texture (grassypatchy_sprite). Once my map is compiled, the texture looks like it's on full brightness. Does anyone know what can be causing this? Even the sprites coming off of the texture are on full bright. :(
Thanks,
-Proxy

UniKorn
05-14-2002, 01:30 PM
Nope, but I'd really like to know how you got terrain to work, it refuses to work for me.

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 01:59 PM
He's probably not talking about the 'alphamap & metashader' type of terrain. Probably just something he made in Gensurf. ;)

I could be wrong, and if so, I too would like to know how to get it to work. :D

Proxy
05-14-2002, 02:07 PM
I usually use JK2Radiant (it's faster) to do most of the editing on my maps but I use GTKRadiant to make the terrain. In GTK radiant, it's really easy to make some nice terrain. Just make a brush where you want the terrain, then in the menubar, select Plugins, then GTKGensurf, then ground surface. After that, I chose to do a fractal pattern, raised the roughness, turned on Bezier patches (they're a lot smoother) and I set up some fixed points so that I could have a flat spot in the center for my bunker.
Hit OK and, Tada! Insta-terrain! Hoped that helped.

UniKorn
05-14-2002, 02:15 PM
I do get there, but I can't use my alphamaps, and my terrain refuses to smoothen itself, even with a terrain texture applied to it.

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 02:32 PM
See... Told ya. :p (j/k)

When I tried to make a terrain map for EF w/ EasyGen, the terrain was invisble in-game, even though I could run over it, and it was solid. Doh!

TheDarkSide
05-14-2002, 03:55 PM
I've used the texture on flat large surfaces like a 3072 x 3072 room, and looks pretty good. I don't xperience any full bright problems, but one thing I noticed was a big mip-map thing going on. The grass would appear only when I was horizontally close to it, and had that bad effect of just "appearing" out of the ground. I dumbed my resolution down and still was having the probs. Any ideas (btw I run a PIII 900 rig with a GF3 Ultra, 512 MB mem) on how to fix or has anyone else seen this? Would this go away if it was on rolling terrain and had the faraway grass "blocked" by terrain?

TDS

Proxy
05-14-2002, 06:10 PM
TheDarkSide: I experience full bright only on the grassy sprite areas - everything else is normally lit. I used the texture on a bezier patch (the terrain that I made with GTKGenSurf).

I think the sprites *grow* when you get near for the sake of performance, because I noticed this in the Single Player missions as well. It would have been a nice option to see all the grass at once or have it appear, so that higher end computers can check out the eye candy, yet still accomodating the lower end computers.

UniKorn and Cmd. A.: Yeah, I tried EasyGen, but once I had the terrain in, I couldn't compile my map. So I used the GTKGenSurf that comes with GTKRadiant-v.JK2. Yeah, I can't use alpha maps, but at least I have a terrain!

Question to all: Is it just me, or is JK2Radiant unable to add models? GTKRadiant adds the models fine, but is slow as heck! So, I end up using both because they each make up for each other's deficiencies. Another question: Anyone know of the yavin sky that casts a global light like sunlight? If not, I'll just make my own sunshine shader. ;)

Cmdr. Antilles
05-14-2002, 06:42 PM
JK2R should handle models just fine. What problem are you having w/ it?

yrean
05-15-2002, 06:29 PM
you need to delete everything in the link line from before models/
then add models...space to copy...etc.. then restart editor and they all show for ya...
as for the grass i use the yavin grass on my terrain and the brighter i make my map the more sprite plants grom on the ground...the darker i make the map...the less they grow,...but they only grow in areas that get more light..lol i also noticed that when it is brighter and there are alot of sprites around your FPS drop.

B0rG
05-16-2002, 10:37 AM
I too would like an answer to the alphamap/metashader issues. I've got a whopping Hoth terrain CTF map ready to go (that I've put quite a few months on), but cannot texture the terrain properly. This is damned frustrating too, because running around in this map its easy to see that wellthought out large terran maps could take JK CTF/CTY to new heights.

I won't release this map if I can;t get terrain shaders to work properly (sof2map seems to dislike it) I'll probably convert the map at a later date to a q3a engine game that will allow me to do it.

Raven, if there's any clues you could give us in this department, I'm sure I wouldn't be the only one to appreciate it