PDA

View Full Version : Thing's I've found


Olin Valden
05-14-2002, 04:07 AM
----Engines----
Q3 = Bad Engine for Q3 good other games
Half-life = Great Engine hardly used favoured
UT = Awesome Engine great uses never used

---Mapping for engines----
Q3 = Horriable
Half-life = Extermally easy
UT = A breeze on a hot sunny day

Olin Valden
05-14-2002, 04:19 AM
Admin Plz Delete this Thread also
Thank you


And sorry about the Clutter

volrathxp
05-14-2002, 04:20 AM
Originally posted by Olin Valden
----Engines----
Q3 = Bad Engine for Q3 good other games
Half-life = Great Engine hardly used favoured
UT = Awesome Engine great uses never used

---Mapping for engines----
Q3 = Horriable
Half-life = Extermally easy
UT = A breeze on a hot sunny day

actually ut mapping can be fairly complex. granted it is easier than using Radiant but you still have the same basic principles of mapping being used in both. Radiant is fairly much more powerful than UnrealED though. It is a real pro tool used by game companies to develop games that are in the q3 engine. the ut engine has its advantages. It's a great engine no lie, but the q3 engine always has been a great engine too. and check out http://www.planetquake.com/bubba for some quake 3 maps that take full advantage of the engine. enjoy. peace!

volrath

btw: Half-Life still kicks ass though... but the engine does need some updating. Glad they're doing that for the second one :D

Crack 6K
05-14-2002, 04:23 AM
Anyone here use MaxEd (Max Payne Editor)? That kicks more ass than all of the 3 editors (Radiant, UnrealEd, WorldCraft) put together. Basically, there is no top, side, and front views, the whole thing is in 3D and you snap a grid onto a surface to make brushes. Also you don't have a set square brush to work with, you connect them by using vertices. Radiant pisses me off so much I think I'm growing some white hairs.

MessiahErebus
05-14-2002, 04:41 AM
way easier to use radiant that max paynes editor... just like doing models in 3dsmax, it is very rarely beneficial to be working in just one view...

Olin Valden
05-14-2002, 04:41 AM
Theres a lot of problems with that system, I'm an Architect and we still use good ole 2d veiws to place objects and AutoCAD isn't going to change


And good night people