View Full Version : I wonder if I'll see improvement in JK2 . . .

05-15-2002, 08:33 PM
I have the upgrade bug.

I have a IWill K266, 1.5 gig Athlon, GF-3 (original), SB Audigy, 512mb Mushkin PC 133 (2-2-2).

The rest will stay the same except, I'm upgrading to:

Asus P4B266, P4 2.4 gig, 1 gig DDR Mushkin (2-2-2).

Will I see much of an improvement in the game?

If so, what kind?

05-15-2002, 08:50 PM
How about the obvious one - Framerate
It will go up, but not noticably unless you either have a terrible system, or you turn the frame counter on.

Another way to tell how the framerate has changed would be to spawn loads of lukes and Dessans with your old setup, so that the framerate drops or skips, then do the same with the new setup, it should take more npc activity.

05-15-2002, 10:22 PM
You'd probably have a much better time in the Yavin Swamp. :)

05-16-2002, 12:38 AM
I just wonder how much the game is cpu bottlenecked.

I doubt a GF4 would help - as most tests suggest - unless I went AA and super high res.