PDA

View Full Version : Proxy-server problem


She'ba Katana
05-16-2002, 12:15 PM
Hi,

I want to play JK-Outcast via Internet.
But I can't find any servers.
I guess it has to do with the proxy-server I'm using.

Does anyone know what I can do ?
- I use a DSL-connection
- I don't use a firewall

Sutek
05-16-2002, 03:20 PM
Have you tried changing/removing the proxy server? Some connections don't require one.

Also, you might want to check with your providers TS guys to see if they have any ideas. I suspect it's probably do with the settings they have used (possibly blocking required ports, etc)

Other than that, no idea mate.

She'ba Katana
05-16-2002, 04:12 PM
I use the biggest provider in germany, so I don't think this is the problem.
The proxy I meant is my own one.

I plugged in two Ethernet cards. One is the connection to the www the otherone links the proxy to my LAN.

I use the freeware proxy-server:
Proxy Plus.
Surfing and using ICQ or filesharing programms is no problem, as long as I
type in the proxys IP and port number.

Some games find the connection, but Jedi Knight seems to have problems with it. And there is no option where I could type in the proxy seetings in JK.

Of course I could make a direct connection to the www, but that means cable-war in my rooms. *g*
Any ideas ?

Aziraphale
05-16-2002, 07:23 PM
Seems everyone on a LAN has this problem, including me. If you're on a LAN, and it works fine - drop a line and tell us some of your settings :jawa