PDA

View Full Version : Huge Yellow Blocks! Help me *insert name here* you're my only hope!!


Obi Gon
07-27-2000, 02:10 PM
Okay, many people had the same problem with the game that I had, and last year no one could help us out. So I said, what the hell...maybe someone here NOW can help.

Here's the problem. I have an ATI Driver graphics card (I think) and in the game, several things are surrounded in yellow blocks. Everthing from the Pod Racers, to the spaces inbetween a droids hand. All the backround in some levels is like that too. Everythings incased.

I tried downloading the lastest drivers, but that only turned to boxes black..instead of yellow.

I also tried addative blending, and that didn't work either.

I have a Pentium 2 400 computer, so my PC is fairly new, and when I took it to my friends house, he only has a Pentium 300, and it was fast as hell on his, and all the graphics were fine...me...I have to turn all the details off so I can get a decent running speed...and it's still slow.

I know this is alot...but can anyone help me out? Any ideas..suggestions...whatever. Thanks.

Saesee Tom
07-27-2000, 03:46 PM
It might not help, but try fiddling around with the screen size or in-game effects.
Water warp, ect.

Get back to me soon.


------------------
http://www.sevaan.com/starwars/characters/images/tiin.jpg

Obi Gon
07-27-2000, 04:32 PM
No, they're always off anyway...

Zanzibar
07-27-2000, 07:11 PM
Oy, sounds bad. I think that your particular version of ATI card had a transparency issue that was basically unsolvable for our compatibility programmer. Suggestion? I hate to say it, but you may have to bite the bullet and go buy a new video card. My guess is that you'll wind up happier with a new card anyways - your machine should be plenty fast to run today's games; if games are running slow, it's almost definitely your video card is too old.

I tried looking around online for some cheap Voodoo1 or Voodoo2 add-in cards that I'd give you pointers to, but I can't find any http://www.jediknight.net/mboard/frown.gif If you can find a used Diamond Monster 1 or Monster 2 card somewhere, it's worth the money if it's less that 25-30 bucks or so. Jeez, I have 2 or 3 of them lying around here at the office.

My suggestion is to get an add-in card because that's the cheapest; you can find a really good Voodoo3 card for under a hundred bucks nowadays, but that would require replacing your card. Voodoo1 and 2 cards are simply added into your system, using your existing video card for windows, and the add-in card for games etc.

Obi Gon
07-28-2000, 12:19 AM
Sounds good Zanzibar...I'll look into that.

Most of my games do run pretty slow, so I think I will get a whole new card all together...I dunno, i'll see what happens.

Thanks for your help.

Matt Kenobi
07-28-2000, 01:55 AM
not that it matters but i have a ATI card and the same O.S. and mine runs real fast!

------------------
http://fan.starwars.com/Fishsticks/files/ObiWan2.jpg

Visit My Cool Site Matt Kenobi's Everything Star Wars (http://fan.starwars.com/MattKenobi6/everythingstarwars.html)

Zanzibar
07-28-2000, 07:58 PM
There's actually quite a few ATI cards, and some of them were released about the same time the 3dfx cards were, so they have some but not all of the comparable features. I think the problem is that this particular ATI card uses a different transparency flag than what TPM expects, so polygons that should have transparency bits set show up as solid instead of transparent.

Some of the later ATI cards have no troubles with TPM, but some early models have fits with it.